Reviews Of What Is In Theaters Now

Recent blog posts

Posted by on in Movie Reviews

TRANSFORMERS: THE LAST KNIGHT

Rated: PG-13

Release Date: June 21, 2017

Director: Michael Bay

Stars: Mark Wahlberg, Laura Haddock, Isabella Moner, Anthony Hopkins

Plot: Humans must work with the Autobots to find the item that has the power to destroy them all before the Decepticons get to it first

Trailer

 

Clint Says: Don't even bother

 

 

If there is one interesting thing about this movie it is that I keep on assuming that the next TRANSFORMERS film can't possibly be as bad as the one before it, and yet I continue to be wrong. Michael Bay has sunk to a level of such horrible story telling and entertainment that, I'm guessing, even Hollywood executives are starting to have second thoughts as to whether they should give him a $250 million budget and a green light on his next venture. (Nah, I'm just kidding. Hollywood execs will always throw stupid amounts of money at Bay).

 

Literally, the only good thing about this movie are the effects. The story is almost non-existent, and what story that is there is ridiculous. The acting is terrible. (It pains me to say this, but Sir Anthony Hopkins needs to hang it up. His last two roles have been astonishingly bad). The writing is cringe-worthy. And the movie is 2 1/2 hours long. Thankfully it only feels like 4 hours long.

 

Even 14 year old boys are going to walk out of this movie saying it was just okay. And we all know that the average 14 year old boy has a negative brain cell count. 

 

I really hate the fact that this film will, most likely, be nominated for an effects Oscar. Michael Bay and his cronies have no business even being mentioned with the likes of the writers and directors that make all-around good films. This guy takes a $250 million budget and spends about $240 million of it on the effects, and spends the other $10 million campaigning for an Oscar. (This is a completely false statement, but you get my point). To Bay, things like plot holes, bad acting, or stupid writing are no big deal as long as the explosions are huge and the effects look incredible. 

 

To sum up this craptastic tragedy in one line: GREAT BIG AMAZING EFFECTS, itty-bitty plot.

 

Also, stop teasing us by using words like "last" or "final" in the title then setting up yet another sequel at the end of the movie. It may be more disappointing to know that another one of these might be coming, than having just sat through one. (Yes, there is another one coming in 2018...it's the story of Bumblebee). 

 

Posted by on in Movie Reviews

ALL EYEZ ON ME

Rated: R

Release Date: June 16, 2017

Director: Benny Boom

Stars: Demetrius Shipp Jr., Jamal Woolard, Kat Graham, Dominic L. Santana

Plot: The story of Tupac Shakur

Trailer

 

Clint Says: Wait for the DVD and make someone else rent it

 

 

The life story of Tupac Shakur is fascinating. It is beautiful, ugly, saint-like, evil, wonderful, and terrible. Unfortunately, the writers and director decided to give us a cleaned up, sugary sweet version of him. Sure, we see the shooting in the park, and we see the shooting in Atlanta, but the first makes 'Pac look like he's trying to diffuse the situation and the second makes it seem like he was a savior. 

 

This would have been a much better movie if it had been based on reality. 

 

Aside from the story, the story telling is confusing and directionless. The first 2/3 of the movie is done in a kind of documentary interview with narrative flashbacks way, while the last third is done in typical narrative fashion. The story is really choppy because the flashbacks aren't connected. It feels like we are watching a series of vignettes rather than seeing a biopic.

 

The movie is nearly 2 1/2 hours long, and you feel every minute. By the time the movie had ended I was exhausted. It felt like I had been there all day.

 

Those closest to Tupac in his life, like Jada Pinkette-Smith, are slamming this film saying it doesn't represent reality. They would know better than anyone.

 

I will say that the acting is incredible. I hope the leads in this movie get many other great roles so we can see them perform at this high of a level in something worth seeing. 

Posted by on in Movie Reviews

CARS 3

Rated: G

Release Date: June 16, 2017

Director: Brian Fee

Stars: Owen Wilson, Christela Alonzo, Armie Hammer, Larry The Cable Guy

Plot: Lightning McQueen must learn to race smarter now that a newer and faster race car is on the scene

Trailer


Clint Says: Save some money and see a matinee

 

 

The CARS franchise has made a triumphant return to greatness with this new film. While this isn't the classic the first film is, it is still significantly better than CARS 2.

 

One of the great things about this franchise is that all of the movies have been family-friendly, and this one, like the first, is a film that kids will find to be both suspenseful and compelling. They will also enjoy the fun, new characters introduced into the story.

 

As for the parents, you will find this to be moderately amusing and entertaining. It is rated G, so there is only so much suspense and intensity that can happen. But with a big bucket of popcorn, you'll be able to enjoy this 90-minute joy-ride.

 

The animation is groundbreaking once again, the story is interesting, and the journey is thought-provoking. If your child is a fan of the first film I recommend taking them to see this one.

 

NOTE: Make sure you stay all the way through the credits.

Posted by on in Movie Reviews

ROUGH NIGHT

Rated: R

Release Date: June 16, 2017

Director: Lucia Aniello

Stars: Scarlett Johnansson, Jillian Bell, Kate McKinnon, Zoe Kravitz

Plot: Friends from gather for a bachelorette party, but things turn for the worse when they accidentally kill the stripper

Trailer

 

Clint Says: Save some money and see a matinee

 

 

This is a moderately humorous comedy. It isn't a movie that will become an always-on-tv-classic, but seeing it once isn't a bad thing.

 

Scarlett Johansson does a surprisingly good job in her first lead role in a raunchy comedy. In fact, there isn't a sour note with any of the casting choices. But, as usual, Kate McKinnon steals the show.

 

The trailers make this movie look like a fairly simplistic and formulaic comedy, but the full story is actually much more complex and interesting. It is filled with twists (although they are super-easy to spot), and out-of-the-ordinary moments that make this film better than your average party flick.

 

If you are looking for a comedy that will have you rolling on the floor with laughter you may want to look elsewhere, but this film will give you several chuckles. If you're hanging out with your girlfriends this weekend and are looking for something to do, give this one a shot.

 

NOTE: Make sure you stay through all of the credits.

Posted by on in Movie Reviews

47 METERS DOWN

Rated: PG-13

Release Date: June 16, 2017

Director: Johannes Roberts

Stars: Mandy Moore, Claire Holt, Matthew Modine

Plot: Two girls get trapped in a shark cage on the bottom of the ocean, and the 47 meters to the surface is full of great white sharks

Trailer

 

Clint Says: Save some money and see a matinee

 

 

This is an interesting film. It's not great by any stretch of the imagination, but it has moments of brilliance. It also has moments of eye-rolling stupidity. 

 

One of those moments is the last five minutes of the movie. Some people are going to think the end of the movie is outstanding, others are going to hate it with the burning passion of a thousand suns. The good news is, either way you're going to feel something. 

 

This film is full of great suspense. There were several times where I caught myself holding my breath or trying to control my breathing so I wouldn't run out of air along with them. There were also times when I was wishing for my own demise at the bottom of the ocean because the on-screen antics were so ridiculous. Typically, these moments were given to us by the sharks that seemed to act more like cartoon sharks than the real things.

 

This movie is significantly better than THE SHALLOWS, but it isn't anywhere near one of the best films of the summer. Sure, you'll get a few chills and jumps out of it, but this isn't a film that is going to stay with you for days. 

 

Posted by on in Movie Reviews

MEGAN LEAVEY

Rated: PG-13

Release Date: June 9, 2017

Director: Gabriela Cowperthwaite

Stars: Kate Mara, Tom Felton

Plot: A Marine builds a strong bond with the dog that saved her life

Trailer

 

Clint Says: Wait for the DVD

 

 

This is a really good film, however it feels like it is more of a Netflix thing than something you typically see on the big screen. It is a movie worth seeing, but not one you need to spend the money necessary to see it in the theater. 

 

Kate Mara does a fine job. In fact, this may be one of her better roles to date. She brings a level of emotion and heart to this film that you usually don't see in military movies. 

 

The story itself is highly compelling and suspenseful. It is also touching and powerful.

 

If you are looking for a really good movie to inspire you and pull at your emotions, MEGAN LEAVEY is a great choice. However, it will accomplish the same thing if you see it on DVD.

Posted by on in Movie Reviews

THE MUMMY

Rated: PG-13

Release Date: June 9, 2017

Director: Alex Kurtzman

Stars: Tom Cruise, Sofia Boutella, Annabelle Wallis, Russell Crowe

Plot: An evil Egyptian princess tries to take over the world after her tomb is uncovered

Trailer

 

Clint Says: Wait for the DVD

 

 

 

THE MUMMY has all of the makings of a summer blockbuster. Huge budget, the biggest Hollywood action stars, beautiful women, lots of things that blow up, and CGI zombies. The one thing it lacks? It's just not a very good movie. 

 

I'll use some "M" words in honor of the title to describe some of the thoughts that went through my head while watching this film: Mediocre, meh, moderately tolerable, and #MyWatchMustBeBroken. 

 

Don't get me wrong, this film is great summer fare. If you are looking to see an entertaining, action-packed, we've-got-to-save-the-world flick with very little in the way of substance this movie will be just fine. 

 

It's a lot of fun, it has some great suspense, and Tom Cruise plays a character that has some wonderfully awful flaws that I would never have thought he would allow in one of his characters. However,the film never really takes off in the way that it should. (I can't explain this in any further detail without spoiling parts of the movie). 

 

If you like big, summer action flicks like TRANSFORMERS and such, you will get a kick out of this one. For those of you that need more out of a movie than explosions and zombies, go see WONDER WOMAN again. 

Posted by on in Movie Reviews

IT COMES AT NIGHT

Rated: R

Release Date: June 9, 2017

Director: Trey Edward Shults

Stars: Joel Edgerton, Carmen Ejogo, Christopher Abbott, Riley Keough, Kelvin Harrison Jr.

Plot: Two families must try to trust one another after a massive sickness has returned the earth to the dark ages

Trailer

 

Clint Says: Wait for the DVD

 

 

This may be one of the worst titles films ever. Maybe it's just me...and there is always the possibility that I am too stupid to have figured it out...but, at no point in this film does "It" come at night. There are a couple of times something shows up at night, but I wouldn't consider either of those to be "it".

 

Aside from that I'm not really sure if I liked this movie or not. It is relentlessly depressing, has a slow-moving story, very little is ever revealed, and there is not a single moment of redemption. But, it also has incredible acting, high suspense, and sets a very ominous mood. 

 

I would liken this movie to THE WITCH if you happened to see that. It's a film that has some great moments, but on the whole it is an average movie.

 

If you are the kind of person that only sees a handful of films in theaters every year, skip this one. This is the kind of movie that is made for people that see dozens of films every year and can deal with something out of the ordinary. 

Posted by on in Movie Reviews

WONDER WOMAN

Rated: PG-13

Release Date: June 2, 2017

Director: Patty Jenkins

Stars: Gal Gadot, Chris Pine, David Thewlis

Plot: A young Amazon princess leaves her sheltered life to help save the outside world from war and destruction

Trailer

 

Clint Says: Drop everything and see this in theaters now

 

 

This film was going to be a turning point for DC one way or another. While the DC films have made money, nearly all of them have been poorly received by fans and critics alike. 

 

But this movie was different. 

 

This one needed to be good because DC has had plenty of time to figure out why their other films weren't well received. This one also needed to be good because it is the first time we've had a major comic book film with a female lead. And this film needed to be good because of the legions of fans that love and adore Wonder Woman.

 

It may have been a tough road back for DC if this movie failed.

 

It didn't. 

 

Congratulations DC, you finally nailed it! You hit this one out of the park! WONDER WOMAN is a spectacular film that is captivating from the opening scene until the end credits roll. 

 

Gal Gadot carries on the legacy of Diana Prince with dignity, charm, and strength. She isn't just something pretty to look at while the men figure out what to do and then she is able to help. She leads the way.

 

Chris Pine is wonderful as always. His chemistry with Gadot is so fun to watch, and his acting is spot on. (Just wait until you see him with the Lasso of Truth). 

 

The story is told in a compelling and exciting way that keeps the film moving forward. It's almost 2 1/2 hours long, but it doesn't feel like it. The action scenes and effects are incredible. In fact, there were only a couple of instances where the special effects were just sightly off.

 

My only complaint with this movie is that it has the one scene where the villain runs his mouth for a long time and explains to Wonder Woman exactly what she needs to do to defeat him. I hate scenes like that because they are lazy and could have easily been written around to give us the same information in a more realistic way. For a film that is so amazing, this one scene was highly disappointing.

 

That said, all you really need to know about this movie is this: My wife grew up a huge fan of Wonder Woman. She dressed like her, pretended to be her, and wanted to grow up to be her. She is now a New York Times bestselling author, so she knows a thing or two about great story-telling. She needed this movie to be amazing. She needed Wonder Woman to be true to the original and not disappoint her childhood memories or her adult story needs. 

 

As the credits rolled I looked at my wife and she was crying. I asked if she was okay, and she said, "It was perfect! I need to see this movie again right now!"

 

Good job, DC. 

CAPTAIN UNDERPANTS: THE FIRST EPIC MOVIE

Rated: PG

Release Date: June 2, 2017

Director: David Soren

Stars: Kevin Hart, Ed Helms, Thomas Middleditch, Nick Kroll

Plot: Two pranksters must help their principal take down the evil Professor Poopypants

Trailer

 

Clint Says: Wait for the DVD

 

 

 

If you are the parent or guardian of a boy between the ages of 7 and 12, don't even bother with reading this review or any others. Just throw your kid in the car and race to the theater as quickly as possible. They are going to think this it the greatest cinematic feat of all time. 

 

For the rest of the movie-going world this movie is okay. 

 

The story is fun and unique, but this isn't a movie that needs to be seen in theaters. However, if the kids are driving you crazy and you need to get out of the house for a little while, this movie will be a fun break that most people will enjoy. 

PIRATES OF THE CARIBBEAN: DEAD MEN TELL NO TALES

Rated: PG-13

Release Date: May 26, 2017

Director: Joachim Ronning, Espen Sandberg

Stars: Johnny Depp, Geoffrey Rush, Javier Bardem, Kaya Scodelario

Plot: Jack Sparrow and crew try to beat several other crews with bad intentions to the Trident of Poseidon, which has the power to remove all curses

Trailer


Clint Says: Save some money and see a matinee

 

 

 

 

Here's the good news. This episode of PIRATES is significantly better than the fourth movie in this series. The bad news? It's just okay. 

 

This film does give you lots of excitement and fun throughout. For that alone it is a movie worth seeing with a huge bucket of popcorn. The action scenes are exciting, the overarching story is interesting, and Captain Jack Sparrow is at his Sparrowiest.

 

The downside is that we are introduced to the spawn of Will Turner and Elizabeth Swan, which should be an exciting turn of events, but the reality is we couldn't care less. The same goes for his science-minded counterpart. Their presence in this film is barely necessary, and there isn't any chemistry between them.

 

Javier Bardem is excellent, as always. Geoffrey Rush expands the character of Barbosa to a new level that is intriguing, and Johnny Depp is so into the character of Jack Sparrow that I don't think the person of Johnny Depp existed for several months while this film was being shot. 

 

If you've enjoyed the other POTC films this one will entertain you as well, just don't expect it to be one of your favorites. 

 

NOTE: Stay until the end of the credits. There is a scene that could possible set up a return of several interesting characters.

Posted by on in Movie Reviews

BAYWATCH

Rated: R

Release Date: May 25, 2017

Director: Seth Gordon

Stars: Dwayne Johnson, Zac Efron, Alexandra Daddario, Priyanka Chopra

Plot: A team of lifeguards try to stop the criminal enterprise of a woman that wants to take over the bay

Trailer


Clint Says: Save some money and see a matinee

 

 

When I saw the Red Band trailer for this film I was convinced that this was going to be a raunchy, frat-boy, womanizing parody of the world's most watched television show in history.

 

Thankfully, the trailer didn't do the film justice. 

 

The film is raunchy, but not nearly to the level that the trailer made it seem. It does have it's frat-boy moments, but the story is actually fairly entertaining and almost a decent mystery. As for the womanizing, well there is that, but it's about 30% objectification of women and 70% objectification of men. 

 

This movie is fun and funny, but it also has a serious side to it as well. They don't joke around about the seriousness of their jobs nor do they make fun of the original series. (They poke fun at it, but not in a malicious way). 

 

In no way am I saying this is a great movie, but it is one that is worth seeing just for the fun of it. You won't learn anything or feel inspired, but you will laugh for 2 hours and leave feeling good.

Posted by on in Movie Reviews

THE LOVERS

Rated: R

Release Date: May 5, 2017

Director: Azazel Jacobs

Stars: Tracy Letts, Debra Winger, Aidan Gillen, Melora Walters

Plot: As a married couple grows apart they are drawn to other people, but when their own relationship sparks again their other relationships get complicated

Trailer


Clint Says: Don't even bother

 

 

This is a sad, terrible, depressing, boring, slow waste of time. There is nothing in this film that is redeeming, gratifying or even slightly pleasant. It also has one of the most untrue to real life moments I have ever seen in a movie. (If you are unlucky enough to see this, I'm talking about the scene where he is playing piano and the son walks out the door). 

 

The lead characters do a fine job of portraying a couple growing apart, but that is about the only positive thing I can say about this movie.

 

The two characters that are the other man and other woman are complete jerks. It might have been compelling if the couple was in a going-nowhere relationship and they both found something way better, but in both cases they were settling for much worse. At that point I lost all ability to care about any of the people involved. 

 

By the time the movie gets to the odd twist at the end I was so done I didn't care, and even looking back on it now the ending feels contrived and wrong. The only thing more boring than these people's lives is watching this movie about their lives. 

 

I have no idea who the market is for this film, but if it makes more than $2 or 3 Million  I'll be shocked. 

Posted by on in Movie Reviews

ALIEN: COVENANT

Rated: R

Release Date: May 19, 2017

Director: Ridley Scott

Stars: Michael Fassbender, Katherine Watterson, Billy Crudup, Danny McBride

Plot: Colonists find a planet they think might be suitable for human life, but it is full of dangerous secrets

Trailer

 

Clint Says: Save some money and see a matinee

 

 

 

 

If you are a Sci-Fi fan, you should absolutely see this movie in the theaters. It is exactly what you would want and expect out of a movie about humans coming into contact with superior beings that want to kill them. 

 

If you aren't a Sci-Fi fan, you might still enjoy this movie, but it will feel slow in several parts and jumpy in others. It takes a while for the action to get going, but once it does, buckle in because it is a non-stop rocket ride of action all the way to the end.  

 

Once the action starts the movie all but switches from a Sci-Fi flick to a monster/horror movie. There are a couple of references to sciency stuff, but for the most part it's just a big, deadly game of hide and seek between the humans and the aliens.

 

This film offers up a couple of very interesting twists, but it also has a few plot holes that will annoy most of the Sci-Fi fans in attendance. The acting is passable at best and the character development is almost non-existent.

 

There are some incredible scenes that make it worth seeing on the big screen, but if you don't get around to seeing it now, renting it later on will be just fine.


DIARY OF A WIMPY KID: THE LONG HAUL

Rated: PG

Release Date: May 19, 2017

Director: David Bowers

Stars: Jason Drucker, Charlie Wright, Alicia Silverstone, Tom Everett Scott

Plot: The Hefley family goes on a road trip and chaos follows

Trailer

 

Clint Says: Wait for the DVD

 

 

If you've seen the other films in this franchise you know what you are getting yourself into with this film. It's a fun, funny, kid-friendly flick that is totally worth your time and money if your kids are into the books. 

 

The new cast does a great job taking over where the last cast left off. (Although, I feel really old seeing Alicia Silverstone as a mom of a teenager). The only thing missing from this movie is Rowley. We only see him for a couple of minutes at the beginning of the film. 

 

Critically speaking, there is nothing new or innovative about this movie that makes it a must-see. It's just like the other DIARY movies. That said, there are very few movies that are good and also hit the 10 year old target. So if you have a kid around that age and they are DOAWK fans, you should treat them to a fun day at the movies. 

Posted by on in Movie Reviews

EVERYTHING, EVERYTHING

Rated: PG-13

Release Date: May 19, 2017

Director: Stella Meghie

Stars: Amandla Stenberg, Nick Robinson, Anika Noni Rose

Plot: A girl falls in love with the boy next door, but her immune disease makes it impossible for her to leave her house

Trailer


Clint Says: Drop everything and go see this movie now

 

 

I never thought we'd see another movie that could capture the essence and the feeling of young love like THE FAULT IN OUR STARS did.

 

I was wrong.

 

EVERYTHING, EVERYTHING is every bit as wonderful, emotional, and full of all the feels as TFIOS.

 

This is an extraordinary film that will have you laughing, crying, and falling in love. You'll be happy, sad, incredibly angry, and filled with joy. And all of that happens in about 100 minutes.

 

The pacing is perfect, the direction and artistic design are wonderfully imaginative, and the chemistry between the lead characters is truly special. The whole movie is entertaining and engaging. Not one time did it feel like this film hit a false note or tried to be manipulative.

 

Everything about this film is real, beautiful, powerful, and triumphant...everything.

KING ARTHUR: LEGEND OF THE SWORD

Rated: PG-13

Release Date: May 12, 2017

Director: Guy Ritchie

Stars: Charlie Hunnam, Astrid Berges-Frisbey, Jude Law, Eric Bana

Plot: The story of the legendary rise of King Arthur

Trailer

 

Clint Says: Wait until after opening weekend, but see this in theaters

 

 

Director Guy Ritchie has managed to make King Arthur entertaining. I'm not saying he made a great film, but he did make one that is enjoyable to watch. It is filmed in the traditional Guy Ritchie way, which means there is nothing traditional about the way this movie is filmed. You'll see scenes being rewinded, witty banter over dream scenes, and epic fight scenes with incredible slow-motion imagery.

 

Charlie Hunnam and Jude Law both give excellent performances. In fact, Law is terrifying as the villain. The rest of the cast of characters fill out the story well. (NOTE: Be on the lookout for a cameo by the soccer-great David Beckham. You see him during the scene where Arthur encounters the sword in the stone).

 

For those of you that are traditionalists when it comes to the King Arthur story, you should go ahead and cross this one off your list. There are several of the main characters in the legend that do not make an appearance in this story. Also, this is not a love story. It is an action flick about the rise of a good king and the fall of an evil one. There isn't much more to the story than that.

 

Even though the movie is just over two hours it doesn't feel long. It moves along well and gives us timely reveals throughout to keep the audience engaged and interested. There are a few plot holes, some jumpy timeline issues, and some shaky camera work that keep this movie from being amazing, but overall it is an entertaining escape from real life politics.

 

If you are in the mood for a fun action film then this will be money well spent. If you are looking for an historical and educational piece on British royalty you should look anywhere else but here.

Posted by on in Movie Reviews

SNATCHED

Rated: R

Release Date: May 12, 2017

Director: Jonathan Levine

Stars: Amy Schumer, Goldie Hawn, Wanda Sykes, Joan Cusack

Plot: A daughter takes her mother on a trip, but they soon end up kidnapped and trying to find their way back to safety

Trailer

 

Clint Says: Wait for the DVD and make someone else rent it

 

 

Oh, look, it's Amy Schumer playing the exact same character she plays in every single acting gig she's ever done. I feel bad for Goldie Hawn getting wrapped up in this junk and having to deal with such a terrible script.

 

The only reason this movie is even slightly watchable is Wanda Sykes. Without her this would have easily been one of the worst films of the year. Joan Cusack is also a refreshing change of pace from the incessant annoyance that is Amy Schumer. 

 

The main characters are obnoxious, self-centered, idiots that find themselves in a situation that should be pushing them to grow, but amazingly they manage to make it through the entire scenario barely growing at all. By the end of the movie I still didn't care about the main characters. All I wanted to have happen was Liam Neeson show up and kill everyone then roll the end credits. 

 

This flick is full of plot holes, moments of convenience, stupid actions, and completely unbelievable and unrealistic reactions to certain scenarios. It does have a couple of laughs, but nothing that makes it worth seeing in theaters.

 

Be nice to your mother this Mother's Day. Don't make her have to sit through this ridiculously horrible film.

Posted by on in Movie Reviews

NORMAN

Rated: R

Release Date: May 12, 2017

Director: Joseph Cedar

Stars: Richard Gere, Lior Ashkenazi, Steve Buscemi

Plot: A man that likes to connect people befriends a politician who eventually becomes a world leader, bringing fame and misery to Norman.

Trailer


Clint Says: Wait for the DVD

 

 

NORMAN is a slow burn. For the first 30 minutes I couldn't figure out what I was watching. The next hour was okay, but not as interesting as I wanted it to be. However, the last 30 minutes finish with quite a bang. Once everything comes together and the good and the bad collide head on it makes for a very interesting final act.

 

Maybe it needs the full 90 minutes of setup for the ending to be so powerful, but I really think it could have been about 30 minutes shorter and accomplished the same thing.

 

Richard Gere is outstanding in his role. He will make you feel slimy and awkward, happy and triumphant, and you'll also feel terrible for him.

 

It is an interesting film, but not one that you need to see in theaters. A DVD or digital rental will be perfectly fine.

Posted by on in Movie Reviews

GUARDIANS OF THE GALAXY: VOLUME 2

Rated: PG-13

Release Date: May 5, 2017

Director: James Gunn

Stars: Chris Pratt, Zoe Saldana, Kurt Russell, Michael Rooker

Plot: The gang of misfits continue their adventures across the galaxy while Peter tries to build a relationship with his father

Trailer

 

Clint Says: Drop everything and go see this movie now

 

 

My expectations were exceedingly high for this movie, and it met them! If you haven't seen the first GUARDIANS OF THE GALAXY, stop right now and go watch it.

 

The rest of us will wait.

 

Okay, now you understand what an incredibly awesome franchise this is. All other film companies should take notes while watching these two movies and title it, "How to make a great movie".

 

This film is full of great banter, fun action, a compelling story, and great music. It's 2 1/2 hours long, but it feels shorter than a lot of 90 minute movies. And Baby Groot may be the most adorable thing ever.

 

If you haven't seen the first GUARDIANS make sure you see that one before this one, otherwise you will be lost. However, if you've already seen the first one, get to a theater now and enjoy Star Lord in all of his awesomeness.