Reviews Of What Is In Theaters Now

Recent blog posts

Posted by on in Movie Reviews

CHARLIE'S ANGELS

Rated: PG-13

Release Date: November 15, 2019

Director: Elizabeth Banks

Stars: Kristen Stewart, Naomi Scott, Ella Balinska, Elizabeth Banks

Plot: The Angels must try to stop the sale of a technological device that can be weaponized

Trailer

 

Clint says: Wait for the digital release

 

 

I'm not really sure that in 2019 the world was clamoring for another CHARLIE'S ANGELS reboot, but we got one anyway. Thankfully, it isn't terrible.

 

This reboot is more "women power" than the previous iterations, but it still feels like it spends a lot of time objectifying women. Apparently the only way to fight crime is while wearing skin tight booty shorts.

 

The plot is one we've seen a thousand times in spy flicks. There is nothing new or special to make this movie worth your time. The acting is okay, but nothing special, and the dialogue is pretty cheesy.

 

There are a few exciting and somewhat suspenseful scenes, but it isn't like the whole movie is that way. In fact most of the film is pretty slow-paced. It does pick up a bit towards the end, but not enough to make up for the slow start.

 

The best part of the flick is the last few minutes where we get a ton of fun and funny cameos. That is about the only thing that makes this a movie worth watching.

 

If you like formulaic spy movies, then you may find this one tolerable, but it isn't one you are going to be overly excited about seeing.

 

Posted by on in Movie Reviews

FORD V. FERRARI

Rated: PG-13

Release Date: November 15, 2019

Director: James Mangold

Stars: Matt Damon, Christian Bale, Tracy Letts, Jon Bernthal

Plot: Two of the world's best car guys try to work within the confines of Ford to build a car fast enough to beat Ferrari at the 24 Hours of Le Mans

Trailer

 

Clint Says: Wait for the digital release

 

 

You would think that a film about the fastest cars in the world would be fast-paced. Well, not in this case. FORD V. FERRARI clocks in at nearly 2 1/2 hours, and I am not exaggerating when I say that they could have easily cut 50 minutes out of it. The first 90 minutes was so slow. I was thoroughly bored.

 

Thankfully the last hour picked up the pace and gave us some excitement and entertainment. If it hadn't been for that this film would have been a complete disaster.

 

The acting is good, but nothing award-worthy. I'm sure Damon and Bale did spot-on jobs portraying their real-life characters, but the men themselves weren't that dynamic. Therefore the acting falls flat and doesn't do a good job of carrying the story. 

 

If you are a gear head or any type of car junkie then you'll probably enjoy a good portion of this movie. There is a lot of technical talk that will keep you entertained. If you aren't a fan of cars and/or racing this is not the movie for you. It will be a very long 2 1/2 hours.

Posted by on in Movie Reviews

PARASITE

Rated: R

Release Date: November 8, 2019

Director: Joon-ho Bong

Stars: Kang-ho Song, Yeo-Jeong Jo, Woo-sik Choi, Kim Ki-jung

Plot: Two families from different classes have their lives intertwined

Trailer

 

Clint Says: Drop everything and see this in theaters now

 

 

This film is the perfect example of what a dark comedy should be. It is a fascinating story that starts off funny and quirky then goes dark incredibly fast.

 

Not only is the story great, but the acting is wonderful, too. Each member of the cast brings a powerful element to the film. Even the secondary characters have important roles in the way the story plays out.

 

From the opening scenes of the game all the way through to the wild ending, the whole film feels very Shakespearean. It is a crazy ride filled with colorful characters.

 

I highly recommend seeing this film. It may pull you out of your comfort zone a bit, but that is a good thing. This is one of the best films of the year. It is completely worth your time and money.

Posted by on in Movie Reviews

LAST CHRISTMAS

Rated: PG-13

Release Date: November 8, 2019

Director: Paul Feig

Stars: Emilia Clarke, Henry Golding

Plot: A woman who can't get her life together finally meets the man of her dreams, but there is more to him than she knows

Trailer

 

Clint Says: Wait for the digital release

 

 

Yes, Emilia Clarke is adorable. Yes, Henry Golding is dreamy. Yes, they are a perfect match for a Rom-com couple. 

 

No, this movie isn't very good. 

 

Oh, how I wish that these two could have starred in a movie with a better plot. The two of them made this film way better than it should be just because they are both so lovable. Without them this movie would be a terrible waste of time. 

 

The story follows most of the Rom-com formula, but it has a twist that a few people will find endearing, but most will see it as weird. When the big reveal happened I heard people around me saying things like, "What the heck?"

 

It feels like a slightly above average Hallmark channel Christmas in July original. It's the same movie you've seen a thousand times, just with better actors this time.

 

If you like Christmasy Rom-coms, then you might as well give this one a shot. You'll probably enjoy it to some degree. 

Posted by on in Movie Reviews

PLAYING WITH FIRE

Rated: PG

Release Date: November 8, 2019

Director: Andy Fickman

Stars: John Cena, Keegan-Michael Key, Brianna Hildebrand

Plot: A no-nonsense fire chief finds himself having to figure out how to handle three precocious children

Trailer

 

Clint Says: Save some money and see a matinee

 

 

John Cena has quickly become one of Hollywood's top choices for comedies. And rightfully so. He is outstanding as the straight guy that finds himself in ridiculous situations. What is surprising is how well he pulls off the heartwarming and lovable acting requirements. He made this movie much better than it would have been with someone less talented.

 

The film isn't great, but it is filled with laugh-out-loud moments and it is entertaining for the whole family. My seven year old laughed hard several times and one time she laughed for three minutes straight. I thought she was going to pass out from lack of air.

 

The story is simple, the editing is terrible, but that all can be forgiven since it is so funny and keeps the kids entertained all the way through the movie.

 

This isn't the kind of film that kids will want to see again and again, but it is one that they will be happy they saw.

 

If you are looking for something fun to do with the family this weekend, this movie would probably be a fun choice.

 

Posted by on in Movie Reviews

DOCTOR SLEEP

Rated: R

Release Date: November 8, 2019

Director: Mike Flanagan

Stars: Ewan McGregor, Rebecca Ferguson, Kyliegh Curran

Plot: Dan has tried to avoid his "shining" as he has grown up, but when he finds out evil is chasing down a young girl with her ow ability to shine, he must do what he can to save her

Trailer

 

Clint Says: Wait until after opening weekend, but see this in theaters

 

 

If you are a fan of the 1980 horror classic THE SHINING then you will want to see DOCTOR SLEEP. If for no other reason than to see what psychological damage was done to little Danny boy at the Overlook Hotel.

 

Aside from the curiosity factor though, this is a good movie. It is a horror flick, but it is more creepy than scary, just like the original. It does a good job of standing on its own while paying homage to its predecessor. There are several great call backs and Easter eggs for fans of THE SHINING.

 

The acting is very well done. Especially from newcomer Kyliegh Curran. She takes what is essentially a lead role and owns it. That's a tough job for anyone, much more so for a 13 year old just starting her film career.

 

My only issue with this movie is that I was expecting something different. The trailers make it seem like this is Danny's story, but it really isn't. Yes, we get a lot from him, but the main hero arc belongs to the young girl. He is there to support her. Once I accepted this as reality instead of Danny having the hero arc I found myself enjoying the movie more.

 

This movie is filled with creepy images, people, and of course the hotel. It was never terrifying, but I could feel a sense of dread throughout the entire film. As far as horror films go, this is one of the best of the year.

 

It may have been 39 years between the original and the sequel, but they got it right, and that is what really matters. 

Posted by on in Movie Reviews

MIDWAY

Rated: PG-13

Release Date: November 8, 2019

Director: Roland Emmerich

Stars: Ed Skrein, Patrick Wilson, Luke Evans, Woody Harrelson

Plot: US Naval forces try to out think the Japanese in order to turn the war in their favor

Trailer

 

Clint Says: Wait for the digital release

 

 

I'm a history buff. I love watching war flicks...especially movies about World War II. I find them fascinating because it was a time when bravery ruled the day. The stories of the heroes are many and compelling.

 

With MIDWAY the stories of the heroes were just about the only thing I found worthy of my time. And it was only in the last 3 minutes that we found out the real stories of the people in this film. The rest of the movie was pretty close to a total waste of time.

 

The effects are terrible, the dialogue is ridiculous, and there are scenes thrown in the middle that have very little if anything to do with the overall plot of the film. The pacing is all over the place, and the movie feels like it drags on forever. It's 2 hours and 18 minutes that feels more like 4.

 

I will say the action/war scenes were done well. It felt like you were right in the middle of the battle with them and with no way of escape. Unfortunately, these sequences were too few and there was too much fluff between them. This felt much more like a talk/debate movie than a war flick.

 

It feels like this movie didn't know what it wanted to be. It isn't a romance, because the love story(s) was never front and center. It isn't a war movie because there is too much other stuff. It feels like it is several different genres squeezed into one, and that never works well.

 

I wish this were a better film, but it isn't. Therefore I can't recommend seeing this one. Just wait for the digital release. It'll save you time and money.

Posted by on in Movie Reviews

JOJO RABBIT

Rated: R

Release Date: November 1, 2019

Director: Taika Waititi

Stars: Roman Griffin Davis, Thomasin McKenzie, Scarlett Johansson, Taika Waititi, Sam Rockwell

Plot: A young boy in the Hitler Youth program discovers his mom is hiding a Jew in their house

Trailer

 

Clint Says: Drop everything and see this in theaters now

 

 

While I'm sure we all have something in us that says it will always be too soon for a comedy with Adolf Hitler, there is the reality that this is a spectacular film in every way, and may end up being my favorite movie of the year. Be warned now, that if you run into me on the streets and we start talking movies, I will tell you that you absolutely HAVE to see this film.

 

This movie is one of the funniest I have seen in a long time, but it is also heartwarming, heartbreaking, and thoroughly compelling. I wanted to see it again as soon as the credits finished.

 

Not only is the writing near-perfect, but the acting is easily some of the best of the year. In particular, the three young actors Roman Griffin Davis, Thomasin McKenzie, and Archie Yates are amazing. They should win all sorts of young actor awards this year. Scarlett Johansson, Taika Waititi, and Sam Rockwell round out the cast with incredible talent and laugh-out-loud comedic ability.

 

Everything about this film is outstanding. The pacing is spot on, the plot is compelling, the moods and emotions change many times, but it never feels off, and the story will take you on a journey like you've never experienced before.

 

This may not be a highly publicized movie, but it is one that is worth seeing in theaters. It is unique, inventive, irreverent, and beautiful. It is very difficult to say that about anything coming out of Hollywood these days. Take the time to see this film. You won't be disappointed.

 

Posted by on in Movie Reviews

ARCTIC DOGS

Rated: PG

Release Date: November 1, 2019

Director: Aaron Woodley

Stars: Anjelica Huston, James Franco, Jeremy Renner

Plot: A small arctic fox dreams of becoming a sled dog, but his size isn't the only thing standing in his way

Trailer

 

Clint Says: Don't even bother

 

 

Somebody needs to check on the health and well-being of all of the actors that worked on this flick. The only reason I can figure out why they would agree to do this movie after reading the screenplay, is that they are either being blackmailed or held captive somewhere. (Okay, probably not, but still this movie is THAT bad).

 

This is the dictionary definition of a Hollywood cash grab. The studio decided they could put out an animated flick, no matter what the story was about, and make a couple of million bucks. There is no passion behind this project. It looks and feels like it was put together in a executive board room with zero considerations for anything other than the bottom line.

 

The story is astonishingly underwhelming. To the point that I kept waiting for some big twist to happen that never came. It just plays out in this slow and unbearable way. By 40 minutes into the screening literally every kid in the theater was bored. Half of them weren't even watching by then. The only person in the theater having any fun at all was the 5 year old that kept running away from his mom.

 

Also, note to Hollywood casting directors. Do not, under any circumstances, ever cast Heidi Klum to do voice work. Seriously, her character would have been better if it had been voiced by the new intern that has never been in a recording studio. (And cheaper, too). You could tell that she was reading her lines word for word. It was painful.

 

Throw on top of that a useless villain with no real reason for ding what he is doing and a bunch of super-preachy adult political crap and this one ends up on the bottom of the 2019 movie pile. I'm guessing this one has a really good shot at making my 10 worst list this year.

Posted by on in Movie Reviews

BLACK AND BLUE

Rated: R

Release Date: October 25, 2019

Director: Deon Taylor

Stars: Naomie Harris, Mike Colter, Frank Grillo, Tyrese Gibson

Plot: A rookie cop is witness to cops murdering someone and must come to terms with who she is and what she stands for, but other forces are trying to silence her

Trailer

 

Clint Says: Save some money and see a matinee

 

 

When it comes to police dramas it is all about the action and suspense. This movie has plenty of both. Plus it also has great acting by Naomie Harris. 

 

The film is filled with interesting twists and turns. It's impossible to know who s on who's side, so it really feels like Harris's character is all alone. She does a wonderful job of straddling the line between staying under control and completely freaking out.

 

Perhaps the best aspect of this movie is how real it is. It shows the struggle between the police and the black community in a way that is real and gritty, yet it is also understandable and filled with emotion. 

 

If you like police dramas and are a fan of being in suspense for 90% of the movie, then you should see BLACK AND BLUE. It is a well-done film that is worth seeing.

 

Posted by on in Movie Reviews

TERMINATOR: DARK FATE

Rated: R

Release Date: November 1, 2019

Director: Tim Miller

Stars: Arnold Schwarzenegger, Linda Hamilton, Mackenzie Davis, Natalia Reyes

Plot: A new and better terminator has come from the future to kill a girl that could destroy their future, but she has unexpected help

Trailer

 

Clint Says: Save some money and see a matinee

 

 

If you've seen one TERMINATOR flick you've seen them all. The plot of this one is about 95% the same as the original. It almost feels like they wanted to give the franchise a reboot, but also wanted to tie it into the original series somehow.

 

As with all of the other films in this franchise, you go for the action. If you are going for any other reason you will be left wanting more. The plot is regurgitated, the plot holes are massive, and the acting is average at best. The good news is this film is full of action, explosions, fighting, huge weapons, and cheesy one-liners. 

 

Thankfully, the studio spent money on making most of the special effects look right. There are a couple of scenes where the CGI doesn't work, but for the most part the effects are amazing. I just wish the same could be said for the rest of the movie. 

 

Yes, it is fun to see Linda Hamilton and Arnold Schwarzenegger in a movie together again, but it would be much more fun if the film were better.

 

If action flicks are your thing, this one will satisfy. If you need something to think about while watching a movie, think about seeing something else. 

Posted by on in Movie Reviews

HARRIET

Rated: PG-13

Release Date: November 1, 2019

Director: Kasi Lemmons

Stars: Cynthia Erivo, Leslie Odom Jr., Joe Alwyn

Plot: The story of the skill and bravery of Harriet Tubman to escape slavery and then help hundreds of other slaves to freedom

Trailer

 

Clint Says: Drop everything and go see this in theaters now

 

 

HARRIET has "Oscar contender" written all over it. From the screenplay, to the score, to the acting, and beyond, I can see this film getting six or seven nominations with ease. However, it is still very early in the awards season, and with some big, powerhouse films on the way, this one might not make the final cut. Even so, this is an amazing and powerful film worth seeing.

 

Cynthia Erivo gives a career-defining performance as Harriet Tubman. Her acting draws you in and makes you feel like you are right there with her. You feel the pain, anguish, joy, relief, and courage along with her.

 

This is not an easy movie to watch. There is a lot going on that is disturbing and uncomfortable, but that is what makes it such a powerful and moving film. I went to the screening of this movie with a black friend, and when it was over I could see that she was visibly moved by it all. She told me she loved it, but it was going to take her a few days to process all that she had just witnessed. I know that, since then, the film has stuck with me, and I'm sure the same is true for my friend.

 

If you are a fan of history this is a must-see film. But beyond that, this should be shown in Junior High History classes for the next 50 years. It is a film that needs to be seen. Harriet Tubman was a true hero, and this movie does a wonderful job in bringing her life and accomplishments to life more than 100 years after her death.

 

If you have teenage children. Take them to see this movie. You'll have plenty to talk about when it is over.

Posted by on in Movie Reviews

 

 

THE CURRENT WAR: DIRECTOR'S CUT

Rated: PG-13

Release Date: October 25, 2019

Director: Alfonso Gomez-Rejon

Stars: Benedict Cumberbatch, Nicholas Hoult, Michael Shannon, Tom Holland

Plot: The story of the battle between the men that wanted to bring electricity to the modern world

Trailer

 

Clint Says: Wait for the digital release

 

 

I've been excited about this movie for well over two years now. In fact, this film was marketed and scheduled for release near the end of 2017, but it was under a studio whose president got himself in a lot of trouble and eventually was kicked out of Hollywood. Finally, after two years, and I'm sure a lot of legal battles, we get to see this film. 

 

When you put the likes of Cumberbatch, Shannon, Holland, and Hoult in the same movie you know that the acting is going to be superb. And it is. I only wish the script had been a little better to match their acting abilities. I'm sure it can't be easy to make an exciting movie about powering cities with electricity, but it feels like they could have done a bit more to make it somewhat more thrilling. 

 

Because of the lack of excitement, the film feels like it drags along in some places. It does have moments of action and entertainment, but not enough to keep the movie moving forward. 

 

That said, the story is quite compelling if you are a history buff. There is a lot happening in the story that lets you know the high stakes game that was being played by a few wealthy geniuses. 

 

If you are a fan of great acting or historical dramas you should see this movie. It is well worth your time. If you are hoping for an exciting, action-packed, cut-throat race you should either lower your expectations or save your money for something else.

Posted by on in Movie Reviews

 

 

COUNTDOWN

Rated: PG-13

Release Date: October 25, 2019

Director: Justin Dec

Stars: Elizabeth Lail, Jordan Calloway, Talitha Bateman, Peter Facinelli

Plot: An app that tells people when they will die becomes all too true for the people that download it

Trailer

 

Clint Says: Save some money and see a matinee

 

 

Horror has had a difficult time moving into the 2010's. The genre has tried several times with movies like UNFRIENDED and ESCAPE ROOM to bring technology into the story line, but it has yet to be really successful.

 

This movie may be the best so far in mixing today's technology with creepy horror.

 

If you like going to horror flicks for all of the jumps and bumps, this movie is one of the best of the year. There are a ton of jump scares to keep you reaching for the hand of the person sitting next to you. It also has one of the creepiest looking bad guys ever.

 

The story is pretty decent, too. It's not anywhere near amazing, but for a horror flick they did a good job with keeping the flow moving and even making fun of a couple of the old, tired horror cliches. Yes, it is filled with mediocre/bad acting and eye-rolling moments, but it also knows what it is and where it is going and it never tries to take itself to seriously.

 

If you like horror flicks, go for it. It's not going to be one of your favorites, but it will get you into the Halloween mood. If you aren't a fan of being scared then stay away from this one.

 

Posted by on in Movie Reviews

 

 

THE LIGHTHOUSE

Rated: R

Release Date: October 25, 2019

Director: Robert Eggers

Stars: Willem Dafoe, Robert Pattinson

Plot: Two lighthouse attendants try to fix an aging lighthouse while keeping from going mad

Trailer

 

Clint Says: See this only if you love art-house films

 

 

When it comes to films that fall into the horror genre, THE LIGHTHOUSE may be the most beautiful of them all. Shot fully in black and white, the images and cinematography are stunning. It feels and looks like you are watching a Hitchcock film in high definition. Everything pops off of the screen in incredible detail.

 

Perhaps the most amazing thing about this film is that the sound is so well done, yet the whole film was recorded in mono. (Read: One track). The sound comes at you, relentlessly, from all sides, just like the sea around the small island they inhabit.

 

As for the story, the first hour of the film is interesting, but I wouldn't go so far as to say it is entertaining. After that it completely implodes into a weird mess of a film with no chance of anyone figuring out what is real and what are hallucinations from a completely untrustworthy narrator.

 

I'm sure there is some brilliant explanation for all of the happenings in the story, but for me, a film needs to give the viewer the keys to figuring everything out. If we aren't given the key then the story is nothing but a confusing mess. And frankly, if the writer and director don't care enough about the audience to help them understand the full story then I don't care enough to go online and research what it is all about.

 

This is very much an art-house film. If you only see a few movies a year, this is not the film for you. This is for people that like to think of themselves as movie snobs. It has moments of brilliance, but overall it is an average film at best.

 

Posted by on in Movie Reviews

MALEFICENT: MISTRESS OF EVIL

Rated: PG

Release Date: October 18, 2019

Director: Joachim Ronning

Stars: Angelina Jolie, Elle Fanning, Michelle Pfeiffer, Chiwetel Ejiofor

Plot: War between the human and creature world hangs in the balance as a grand wedding to unite their worlds draws near

Trailer

 

Clint Says: Wait until after opening weekend, but see this in theaters

 

 

Angelina Jolie returns to her magnificently evil ways in another beautiful and suspenseful chapter of the misunderstood life of Maleficent. As with the first film, this one is filled with spectacular imagery, near-perfect effects, and gorgeous scenery.

 

Last time MALEFICENT was nominated for a costume design Oscar. This time I think it stands a better chance of actually winning that award. The costumes are truly incredible. I've rarely been so taken in by the wardrobe choices as I was while watching this movie.

 

As for the plot, this film isn't quite as good as the first one, but it is still very well done. It is compelling, exciting, and filled with action. It is surprisingly comedic with lots of laughs throughout. And the climactic scenes are impressive in scale and content.

 

Jolie carries the story-line once again. It is so much fun to watch a master of acting at work. She brings so much to the movie that would not be there with a lessor actor.

 

If you are a fan of the first film this one has to be on your list to see as soon as possible. It is worth your time and money. If you didn't like the first one then this one won't change your mind, so go see something else.

Posted by on in Movie Reviews

ZOMBIELAND: DOUBLE TAP

Rated: R

Release Date: October 18, 2019

Director: Reuben Fleischer

Stars: Woody Harrelson, Emma Stone, Jesse Eisenberg, Abigail Breslin

Plot: Nine years after the zombie apocalypse began these four survivors continue to look for other humans while facing off against evolving zombies

Trailer

 

Clint Says: Drop everything and see this in theaters now

 

 

ZOMBIELAND is one of those flicks that, if I see it on TV while I'm searching for something to watch, I will stop and watch every single time. It is a cult classic bordering on legendary status. It has all of the markers of a long-living film: Compelling, funny, suspenseful, great dialogue, fantastic acting, and long-running gags. It is near-perfect and one-of-a-kind.

 

And then they made another one.

 

There were so many ways that this new venture could have gone wrong. They could have slapped it together knowing that most of us would pay to see it no matter what. They could have changed out the cast. They could have royally messed it up.

 

Thankfully, they didn't. This movie is awesome!

 

From the opening credits to the final after-credit scene, (stick around), this movie pulls you in and puts you in a Tallahassee choke hold. It is hilarious with dozens of laugh-out-loud moments, it is suspenseful with several moments where you are sure it's all over for the crew, and it has its own long-running gag that has nothing to do with Twinkies.

 

One of the things that made the first film so special was the cast. Arguably, one could say that ZOMBIELAND was the breakout role for 3/4 of the cast. They all had such amazing chemistry and everything worked together so well.

 

This new film adds several new characters to the bunch all of which bring their own style and fun to the movie. I was nervous that the story might lose something with the addition of new characters, but it actually helped make a better movie. Zoey Deutch is so funny and lovable, and Luke Wilson and Thomas Middleditch are pain-in-the-jaw-from-laughing-so-hard funny as the mirror images of Tallahassee and Columbus.

 

This is a must-see movie for anyone that likes zombie movies, comedies, great acting, or fun in general. It is too good to pass up.

Posted by on in Movie Reviews

GEMINI MAN

Rated: PG-13

Release Date: October 11, 2019

Director: Ang Lee

Stars: Will Smith, Mary Elizabeth Winstead, Clive Owen, Benedict Wong

Plot: The best assassin in the world must stay alive while his much younger and more agile clone is trying to kill him

Trailer

 

Clint Says: Wait for the digital release

 

 

 

Will Smith is one of the biggest stars in Hollywood history. Ang Lee is an Oscar-winning director. One would hope that a team like this would make an amazing film.

 

They didn't.

 

Yes, this movie does have some good suspense and an intriguing story line, but there is so much more about it that is below average.

 

First, the effects are just plain terrible. It looks like they pulled out the CGI software from 2005 and decided to give it another shot. The young Will Smith never looks right, to the point where every time he was on screen it pulled me out of the story. The action scenes are just as bad with the effects moving faster than reality. Your eye knows when it is seeing something moving faster than it should be, and in the case of this movie almost all of the effects move too fast.

 

As for the acting, Smith does a fine job. Benedict Wong steals the show with his funny one-liners. Unfortunately, the entire cast had to work with a horrible script. There are so many eye-rolling line delivered that it got to the point where the audience was laughing at lines that were never meant to be funny.

 

This is a film that will quickly be forgotten. There is nothing that makes it worth seeing in theaters, and there is no way anybody will call this a great film. It is mediocre at best, and well below average for a Will Smith movie.

 

We are getting to the part of the year where a lot of great films will be in theaters. Save your money and wait for one of those.

Posted by on in Movie Reviews

THE ADDAMS FAMILY

Rated: PG

Release Date: October 11, 2019

Director: Greg Tiernan, Conrad Vernon

Stars: Oscar Isaac, Charlize Theron, Chloe Grace Moretz, Finn Wolfhard

Plot: The Addams family have lived in solitude for years, but now they must deal with perky new neighbors

Trailer

 

Clint Says: Wait until after opening weekend, but see this in theaters

 

 

Get ready to snap twice for one of the best animated movies of the year. THE ADDAMS FAMILY is fantastic.

 

I took my 9 and 7 year old daughters and they both loved it. (Especially the 7 year old. Her favorite part was the song...which she now sings incessantly). The audience was filled with kids and their parents, and nobody seemed unhappy at the end. During the film there was a ton of laughter and excitement filling the room.

 

The story itself is pretty basic and formulaic, but it is a movie made for kids, so that isn't too much of a bad thing. The good news is that it is filled with funny dialogue, amazing physical comedy, and off-the-wall weirdness that makes the Addams family so special.

 

One thing that makes this movie go great is that there are many moments that are very dark and twisted if you are an adult, but they go right over the heads of the kids so they aren't too creeped out or scared. I was talking with another adult after the movie about how wonderfully demented the whole thing was for adults, and yet still an age-appropriate movie for young kids. This is the kind of film that is great for all ages.

 

If you are looking to give your little goblins a little bit of a scare this Halloween season, this film is perfect. The whole family will enjoy it. (And you'll also have a fun, new song to sing and snap to.)

 

Posted by on in Movie Reviews

JEXI

Rated: R

Release Date: October 11, 2019

Director: Jon Lucas, Scott Moore

Stars: Adam Devine, Rose Byrne, Alexandra Shipp

Plot: A lonely man has his life overtaken by the voice in his smart phone

Trailer

 

Clint Says: Wait for the digital release and make someone else rent it

 

 

If you saw the trailer for this movie and said to yourself that it didn't look like this had much of a plot, go ahead and give yourself a thumbs up for being right. Here is how thin this movie is. The total running time (including end credits) is only 84 minutes, and there are no less than three musical montages, (read "filler"), in the film. 

 

It is truly disappointing that the likes of Adam Devine and Alexandra Shipp had to waste their incredible talents on a screenplay as terrible as this one. They did their best to make this movie fun and likable, but despite their efforts it just comes across as cliche and obnoxious. 

 

I am happy to say there are a couple of good laughs, but a couple doesn't cut it in a raunchy comedy. The good ones make you leave with your face hurting from laughing so much. This film isn't even close to that standard. 

 

This is a completely forgettable and feeble attempt at comedy. There are so many better movies out now. Don't waste your money on this one.