Reviews Of What Is In Theaters Now

Recent blog posts

Posted by on in Movie Reviews

THE HOUSE WITH A CLOCK IN ITS WALLS

Rated: PG

Release Date: September 21, 2018

Director: Eli Roth

Stars: Jack Black, Cate Blanchett, Owen Vaccaro

Plot: A young boy goes to live with his magical uncle, but there are evil happenings in their house

Trailer

 

Clint Says: Save some money and see a matinee

 

 

If you have a child that is in the 8 - 10 year old range and they are wanting to dip their toe into movies that are more mature than the films they watched as younger kids, this is a great movie for them to see. 

 

It offers up some suspense, a few creepy-crawlies, a couple of minor scares, and a lot of laughs. It has an interesting story that is simple enough for kids to follow along, but still compelling enough to keep adults engaged in the film. 

 

Jack Black and Cate Blanchett have great chemistry that keeps the laughs coming. This is also a toned down Jack Black, so if you are someone who isn't a fan of his overacting, you be glad to know he doesn't go there too often.

 

The downside to this film is that they obviously cut out some plot points to keep the movie under two hours. There are a few things that happen that never get resolved. I took my eight year old and she walked out with several of the same questions I had.

 

I asked my daughter what she thought of the film and she said it was fun, a little bit creepy, not too scary, (except for the weird dolls), and she liked it. In that case, I say it does a pretty good job of making its target audience happy.

 

No parent wants their child to grow up faster than it is already happening, but if your kid is ready for the next level of film, this one is worth the theater dollars. Plus you'll get to spend a fun night on the town with your child.

Posted by on in Movie Reviews

LIFE ITSELF

Rated: R

Release Date: September 21, 2018

Director: Dan Fogelman

Stars: Olivia Wilde, Oscar Isaac, Olivia Cooke, Antonio Banderas

Plot: Several lives cross during a single event

Trailer

 

Clint Says: Wait for the digital release

 

 

Have you ever heard the old joke that action movies are a bunch of people dying really fast, while a romance is about one person dying really slow? This may be the movie that bucks the trend. It's an ensemble cast film filled with ensemble death. (And just about as many f-bombs as a hardcore action flick).

 

The film has some very nice and moving moments, it also has some scenes that will take you far out of your comfort zone. But for the most part it's pretty boring until they finally "land the plane." By that I mean that there is a ton of boring set up that takes up most of the movie before we get to the interesting stuff that actually matters.

 

The whole crux of this movie is based on improbability as well. That is a plot device that drives me crazy. I'm willing to suspend disbelief all day long and go along with the impossible if you give me a good reason, but when something happens that is so far-fetched that it borders on the impossible without any explanation or reason, I lose all interest.

 

About the only thing good in this movie is the acting. I just wish the actors had a better story. Instead, it just tries to trick you with sappy music, shocking scenes, breaking the fourth wall, and the action movie version of Samuel L. Jackson.

 

If you like ensemble cast films then you may like this one, too, but you are also going to have to be okay with a ton of horrible language and a couple of very R-rated violent scenes. If you are thinking this might be a slightly sadder version of your typical ensemble rom-com, this may not be the film for you.

 

There is nothing about this movie that makes it necessary to see in theaters. You will get the same experience watching it on your couch. And at least then, you can turn it off if you don't like it.

Posted by on in Movie Reviews

THE PREDATOR

Rated: R

Release Date: September 14, 2018

Director: Shane Black

Stars: Boyd Holbrook, Jacob Tremblay, Olivia Munn, Sterling K. Brown

Plot: Predators have returned to earth and a rag-tag team of misfits have to try to figure out why they are here and how to get rid of them

Trailer

 

Clint Says: Don't even bother

 

 

There is a high probability that this movie is going to end up on my 10 Worst Films of the Year list. It's going to take several real stinkers to knock this one off of the list.

 

Director Shane Back should be embarrassed that he made such a terrible movie, and the producers should be ashamed that they didn't secure enough funding to make this thing look better than a bad made-for-television film from the mid-80's. 

 

The effects are so bad they are literally laugh-out-loud funny. The acting is terrible to the point where I was cringing every time I heard a cheesy line. The editing is amateur and makes the movie look like a bad episode of POWER RANGERS rather than a big-budget action flick. And the music is so weird and out of place it actually pulled me out of the story several times.

 

This travesty is full of massive plot holes, horrific writing, and terrible chemistry. I am shocked that this film is getting a wide release. It looks like it's a video-on-demand flick.

 

Do not waste your time. Even if you use a free coupon to see this, you are going to be disappointed.

Posted by on in Movie Reviews

A SIMPLE FAVOR

Rated: R

Release Date: September 14, 2018

Director: Paul Feig

Stars: Anna Kendrick, Blake Lively, Henry Golding

Plot: When a woman goes missing her best friend begins to realize that she knows very little about her

Trailer

 

Clint Says: Wait until after opening weekend, but see this in theaters

 

 

A SIMPLE FAVOR is simply fantastic! 

 

This is one of the best dark comedies of all time. I would even go so far as to put this on the same level as FARGO. There are very few movies that can pull off a sick and twisted plot but still have you laughing hard every few minutes. This one does it nearly flawlessly.

 

Anna Kendrick is a beast and this is Blake Lively's best role of her career. I was worried that Kendrick might be a bit too nice to pull off her role, but she crushes it. Her character is fascinating. Lively's character is equal parts strong, insecure, magnetic, and repulsive. And it all works together in perfect harmony...and wonderful cacophony.

 

In fact, all of the characters are fun to watch. Each has their own strong presence that simultaneously meshes and conflicts with every other character. This is most obviously seen in the main detective character played by Bashir Salahuddin. Typically a cop character is there to move the plot along and sometimes help save the day. Here, he is a hysterical thorn in the side of everyone and manages to steal every scene he is in.

 

After the screening, all I heard from the audience were rave reviews. The only negative comment that a couple of people made was that there were too many twists. Personally, I found all of the twists to be a lot of fun. It made the comedy part of the story even stronger.

 

Don't get me wrong, this isn't just a fun and funny film. It is very dark. There are several scenes that are twisted and disturbing. Not quite FARGO wood-chipper disturbing, but really close. The way the dark scenes and the comedy work together is wonderful. It will make you feel uncomfortable because you'll be laughing at things you know you shouldn't laugh at. 

 

This film is amazing on many levels. If you like dark comedies this is a must see.

Posted by on in Movie Reviews

WHITE BOY RICK

Rated: R

Release Date: September 14, 2018

Director: Yann Demange

Stars: Richie Merritt, Matthew McConaughey, Bel Powley, Jennifer Jason Leigh

Plot: A teen boy becomes a major player in the Detroit drug world, but he is also an FBI informant

Trailer

 

Clint Says: Wait for the digital release

 

 

While this film is based on a fascinating true story, it feels like it never really gets going. The whole movie is a slow burn. Even the climax is barely exciting.

 

It is a film worth seeing for the interesting story and the great acting, but this one would be a lot easier to watch if you can pause it every once in a while and do something else.

 

It is relentlessly sad and depressing. There are very few moments of joy and even fewer moments of redemption. Most of it is desperate people making poor decisions. Then when it finally feels like things are taking a turn for the good it all gets slammed to the ground again.

 

I wish the film was as good as the story. It could have been very powerful. It does enough to keep the audience interested throughout, but it never gets to the point where you feel like it is exciting or you are being entertained.

 

If you like true crime dramas, you'll most likely enjoy this movie. If you are hoping for an action-packed, high-stakes, criminal-enterprise flick where they bad guys are elegant and always trying to stay one step ahead of the law, this is not the film for you.

 

Posted by on in Movie Reviews

THE NUN

Rated: R

Release Date: September 7, 2018

Director: Corin Hardy

Stars: Demian Bichir, Taissa Farmiga, Binnie Aarons, Jonas Bloquet

Plot: A priest and a novitiate go to Romania to investigate the evils happening at an Abbey.

Trailer

 

Clint Says: Wait for the digital release

 

 

This is another film in the world of the CONJURING movies. While it is scary in several places the story is weak. It is a far cry from the terrifying films before it. 

 

As I watched the CONJURING movies I was disturbed and chilled by them. With this one I was bored most of the time, and when it neared the climax it turned into some sort of weird zombie flick instead of a demonic presence.

 

The good news for horror fans is that this movie does offer a lot of scares of the creepy sort rather than the lame jump scares. (Although we do get our fair share of those as well). If you are going just to be scared this movie will satisfy.

 

If you are looking for something a little deeper than primal fear, well you are out of luck. The story is simplistic, slow, and nothing more than a way to move us all along to the next scare. Because of that, this one isn't worth the time or money. Just wait for the digital release and watch one of the CONJURING films instead. 

 

FUN FACT: If you do see this movie, the girl that plays the lead role is the real life younger sister of Vera Farmiga. Vera stars in the other CONJURING films and has a cameo at the end of this movie.

Posted by on in Movie Reviews

PEPPERMINT

Rated: R

Release Date: September 7, 2018

Director: Pierre Morel

Stars: Jennifer Garner, John Gallagher Jr. John Ortiz, Juan Pablo Raba

Plot: A woman gets revenge on an unjust system after her family is murdered

Trailer

 

Clint Says: Wait until after opening weekend, but see this in theaters

 

 

Hell hath no fury like a woman scorned. And Jennifer Garner's character is a massive fist of fury ready to knock out anything and everything in her path.

 

If you are a fan of ALIAS you have to see this movie now. In many ways it feels like the return of Sidney Bristow. If you like movies like JOHN WICK you need to see this movie now. I would love to see a battle royal between Jennifer and Keanu. It would be two hours of the best MMA fight you've ever seen.

 

For those of you thinking that this is the movie mom Jennifer Garner character with a chip on her shoulder, be warned. This movie is a hard R. The violence is brutal and constant. There are several scenes that are not suitable for people with weak stomachs.

 

The good news is that this isn't just a shallow action flick. The story is interesting, it's fast-paced, and there are some good twists that will keep you guessing. There are even a couple of moments where you may find yourself cheering out loud when certain people get their paybacks.

 

There are a couple of moments that I wish were in the movie, instead we were just told those things happened. It would have been much better to see them. Then there is a scene or two that are unrealistic or too convenient, but overall those are minor grievances.

 

If you can handle the violence, this is a film worth your movie-going dollars. It is a lot of fun, it is suspenseful, it is enjoyable, and it is satisfying.

 

Posted by on in Movie Reviews

SEARCHING

Rated: PG-13

Release Date: August 31, 2018

Director: Aneesh Chaganty

Stars: John Cho, Debra Messing, Michelle La

Plot: A father realizes he knows very little about his daughter when she goes missing

Trailer

 

Clint Says: Wait until after opening weekend, but see this in theaters

 

 

This is an interesting film. It's almost a "found-footage" style movie, but it takes it a step further by incorporating texts, chats, and more. And even though the director decided to use webcams, phone video, and news coverage, he still treats it like everything was shot through a movie camera. So instead of us seeing a video chat in the same flat way, he uses closeups and camera movement to evoke emotion and suspense. The technique strays away from the "rules" of found footage films, but it makes the movie much more entertaining.

 

The story is told well and is full of suspense. The mystery is complex, but we are given all the clues to solve it ourselves. You just won't realize it until the big reveal. There are a lot of red herrings and twists and turns that keep everything exciting.

 

The movie does have a few moments of convenience and a couple of plot points that stretch the boundaries of plausibility a bit too far, but for the most part it feels like everything that is happening is legitimate.

 

While this isn't a movie that you have to see, it is one that is worth your entertainment dollars. It's fast-paced, suspenseful, and entertaining. There have been a lot of really bad movies in theaters lately, this one gives you a reason to head back to the movies.

Posted by on in Movie Reviews

KIN

Rated: PG-13

Release Date: August 31, 2018

Director: Jonathan Baker, Josh Baker

Stars: Myles Truitt, James Franco, Jack Reynor, Zoe Kravitz

Plot: Two brothers find a futuristic weapon and find themselves on the run from people that want them dead

Trailer

 

Clint Says: Wait for the digital release

 

 

I wasn't sure what to make of this movie when I saw the first trailer. Now that I've seen the movie, I'm still not sure what to make of it. It feels like a pet project for Michael B. Jordan. He is the Executive Producer and he has a small role in it. But it is also an origin story for a much bigger plot. I'm sure that if this movie makes money we will see a sequel in a couple of years. 

 

It's an odd film because it has Sci-Fi elements to it, but 95% of the movie is just normal, action movie stuff. That last 5% however turns the whole story on it's head and it becomes fully Sci-Fi, setting up a 100% Sci-Fi sequel.

 

The acting is pretty good, but the story has several eye-rolling moments. There are a few plot points that don't make any sense, and others that are so ridiculous that nobody would ever actually do what the characters are doing.

 

This is not a movie you have to see on the big screen. In fact, if you are paying for more than one ticket, you'll probably be upset that you shelled out hard-earned money on this one. Just wait for the digital release and enjoy it from the comfort of your own couch. Maybe the sequel will be worth seeing in theaters.

Posted by on in Movie Reviews

OPERATION FINALE

Rated: PG-13

Release Date: August 29, 2018

Director: Chris Weitz

Stars: Oscar Isaac, Ben Kingsley, Nick Kroll, Melanie Laurent

Plot: Based on the true story of the capture of one of the most notorious Nazis of all time

Trailer

 

Clint Says: Drop everything and go see this in theaters now

 

 

I know it is way too early in the year to start throwing around award nominations, and I'm sure this film doesn't have the staying power to be considered by the different voting groups when the time comes, but this is an incredible and award-worthy film.

 

Ben Kingsley and Oscar Isaac deserve all of the accolades for their portrayals in this film. Kingsley, in particular, becomes Adolf Eichmann. Even down to the facial movements. He is able to switch from family man to abhorrent monster in the blink of an eye. There are moments where you loathe him and then there are other moments where you will be mad at yourself for thinking he is anything less than evil.

 

The story itself is fascinating and suspenseful. There were several times where I caught myself holding my breath or holding onto the popcorn bucket too tight. I was riveted the entire time. There wasn't a single moment that felt false, or forced, or where the pacing fell off.

 

There are very few movies that I want to see a second time. This is a movie that I would love to see again. It is a master class in acting and story-telling. It is also a wonderful tribute to some very heroic people that brought the Holocaust to light in a way that the world did not already know.

 

I would highly encourage parents of teenagers to take them to see this movie. It will allow for some interesting discussion topics. And you will all get to see a great movie in the process.

Posted by on in Movie Reviews

THE HAPPYTIME MURDERS

Rated: R

Release Date: August 24, 2018

Director: Brian Henson

Stars: Melissa McCarthy, Bill Barretta, Elizabeth Banks, Maya Rudolph

Plot: Two former police partners are forced back together to find out why someone is killing all of the stars of an old puppet show

Trailer

 

Clint Says: Don't even bother

 

 

Every so often we get the joy of seeing a new and unique film that breaks the mold and gives us all hope that there is still some creativity left in Hollywood.

 

This is not that film.

 

This is a horrible waste of your time and everybody else's time that had the displeasure of working on this movie. It is barely funny because it spends most of the movie trying to be a somewhat serious murder mystery. It's a basic mystery movie at best because when it should be giving us twists we don't see coming it gives us stupid adult jokes told by puppets. I guess that is supposed to make it funnier, but it doesn't work.

 

There are so many movies out that are significantly better than this one. Even if you think you are in the mood for a raunchy comedy, stay away. It's not any good. Go rent a Jason Bateman flick  and consider yourself lucky for having avoided wasting your hard-earned money on a terrible film.

 

They should have cut the strings on this puppet a long time ago. 

Posted by on in Movie Reviews

A-X-L

Rated: PG

Release Date: August 24, 2018

Director: Oliver Daly

Stars: Alex Neustaedter, Becky G., Alex MacNicoll

Plot: A couple of teens find a military-grade robot-dog, but there are a lot of people desperate to get the weapon back

Trailer

 

Clint Says: Wait for the digital release and make someone else rent it

 

 

 

 

This is essentially the exact same movie as MONSTER TRUCKS, MAX STEEL, CHAPPIE, and every other corny flick where a couple of slackers manage to beat the government at their own game by accidentally figuring out the hidden powers of the newly found object. The only difference is that this one is much worse than those other films.

 

The story never really goes anywhere, the effects are okay at best, the action in laughable, and the bad guys are an embarrassment to bad guys everywhere. There were several moments where I found myself looking at my watch, playing with the reclining seat, and losing interest in the movie completely. It is an entirely forgettable and boring film.

 

It is PG, so it should be suitable for most kids, but there are a couple of scenes that are pretty scary and intense. You may want to check it out first before taking your young ones. But if that means having to see this movie twice, I truly pity you.

 

There are some interesting looking films that your kids may really enjoy coming out soon. It's better to save your money by not seeing this one.

Posted by on in Movie Reviews

MILE 22

Rated: R

Release Date: August 17, 2018

Director: Peter Berg

Stars: Mark Wahlberg, Lauren Cohen, Iko Uwais, John Malkovich

Plot: An undercover, elite, tactical force must deliver a man to a safe zone, but there are many powerful people that want him dead

Trailer

 

Clint Says: Wait for the digital release

 

 

Peter Berg and Mark Wahlberg have teamed up for some very interesting and good action movies. This film is by far the worst of that bunch.

 

The opening scene should be one that is full of suspense and precise action. Instead it falls flat to the point of almost being boring. Even when the action starts the excitement level never really gets going.

 

Once into the meat of the movie it becomes quickly apparent that there are very few characters, if any, to root for. Everyone is a jerk, or evil, or an evil jerk. Throw on top of that some incredibly bad dialogue, jokes that don't hit, and confusing fight scenes where you can't tell who is who, and you have a movie that is almost a complete waste of time.

 

It's pretty shocking that an actor/director team of this caliber made a 95 minute action flick that feels boring and slow, but somehow they managed to do it. If this isn't made by Berg and Wahlberg my guess is that it would have gone straight to digital release.

Posted by on in Movie Reviews

ALPHA

Rated: PG-13

Release Date: August 17, 2018

Director: Albert Hughes

Stars: Kodi Smit-McPhee, Johannes Haukur Johannesson, Natassia Malthe

Plot: A young man gets stranded in the wild and develops a life-saving friendship with a wolf

Trailer

 

Clint Says: Save some money and see a matinee

 

 

If they gave an Academy Award for location scouting, ALPHA would surely win it. This film is filled with beautiful and amazing scenery. Unfortunately, that is where all of the awards talk would end. The rest of the movie is okay at best.

 

This is one of those films that I'm not really sure how it got made. It really doesn't have an audience. This is evidenced by the change of tone in the trailers over the last several months. At the beginning of the year this movie had a trailer that was dark, ominous, and filled with suspense. By July the tone of the trailers had changed to something almost resembling DisneyNature. The music was happy-go-lucky, the journey was now filled with fun and play, and even the bad stuff didn't seem so bad.

 

In the end, it is way too adult for my eight year old, but it is too childish for my teenage boys. I have a feeling that this movie is going to get lost in the shuffle and people are going to miss out on a decent film. It's not great by any stretch of the imagination, but it is good.

 

This film is about 95 minutes long, but that is about 20 minutes too long. There are several points where you just want to yell at the screen, "it's a long journey...we get it"! It also bogs down a couple of times making it feel really slow.

 

If you are thinking about taking your younger ones to see this movie based on the new trailer, I would suggest checking it out yourself first. There are several moments in the film that are much darker than the trailer lets on.

 

The good news is that this dog movie is significantly better than dog days, so if you are in need of a dog movie in your life, this one should satisfy.

Posted by on in Movie Reviews

CRAZY RICH ASIANS

Rated: PG-13

Release Date: August 15, 2018

Director: Jon M. Chu

Stars: Constance Wu, Henry Golding, Michelle Yeoh, Awkwafina

Plot: A young professor at NYU finds out she is dating a guy from one of the most powerful families in China, and must try to navigate all of the haters while they attend the wedding of the century

Trailer

 

Clint Says: Wait until after opening weekend, but see this in theaters

 

 

This is one of the best romantic comedies I've seen in a very long time. It is a film to which everyone that has ever dealt with someone else's family can relate.

 

This movie is filled with beautiful scenery, a compelling story, and wonderful acting. The leads, Constance Wu and Henry Golding, are great and you'll fall in love with both of them, but Awkwafina steals the show. She is hilarious, magnetic, and crazy awesome fun. We got a little bit of her personality in OCEAN'S 8, but it really shines through in this film. She is going to be a big star.

 

It is a funny movie, but it also has some emotional depth to it. You will feel lots of emotions while watching this movie.

 

The movie is a bit too long, clocking in at two hours, and it is formulaic, but it never overly feels like it is running too long, and there are enough twists to keep you on your toes even though we all know how things are going to turn out.

 

For those of you that have studied Asian culture or lived in an Asian culture this film hits all of the high points. There are several moments where you will find yourself laughing out loud at something the people around you are not getting.

 

If you like Rom-Coms this one needs to be on your list of must-see movies. It will be a fan favorite for many years.

Posted by on in Movie Reviews

THE MEG

Rated: PG-13

Release Date: August 10, 2018

Director: Jon Turteltaub

Stars: Jason Statham, Li Bingbing, Rainn Wilson, Ruby Rose

Plot: Scientists accidentally discover and release a massive shark into the ocean and must stop it before it destroys everything in its path

Trailer

 

Clint Says: Save some money and see a matinee

 

 

There isn't much to say about THE MEG other than it is stupid, ridiculously awesome fun. That breaks down to about 20% fun, 10% awesome, 20% ridiculous, and 50% stupid.

 

I don't say this often, but this is a movie that was begging to have an R rating, but they pulled their punches and made a PG-13 flick. It's okay as a PG-13, but it could have been so much better worse more if it were rated R. At least then we would have been able to see some more shark action.

 

Obviously, this is not a thinking person's movie. Just go to the concession stand, trade your brain for a massive bucket of popcorn, a big bag of candy, and a drink (alcoholic in nature is completely appropriate and recommended). It will make the film so much more enjoyable if you spend the time stuffing your face and not concentrating on things like plot.

 

If you are into monster movies you'll enjoy this one. It won't be anyone's favorite, but it will give you a few good moments of suspense and a few laughs.

Posted by on in Movie Reviews

SLENDER MAN

Rated: PG-13

Release Date: August 10, 2018

Director: Sylvain White

Stars: Joey King, Julia Goldani Telles, Javier Botet

Plot: Four girls summon Slender Man, but then they must suffer the consequences

Trailer

 

Clint Says: Don't even bother.

 

 

The whole Slender Man phenomenon was a huge deal about 6 or 7 years ago. Why they decided to wait until now to release a movie about him is a question that will probably never get answered.

 

The good news is, this movie is so bad that we won't have to worry about it in about two weeks when it finishes its theatrical run.

 

This is easily one of the slowest horror flicks I've ever had the misfortune of enduring. It's about 90 minutes long, but it feels so much longer. Then, on top of that, we are forced to listen to amateur dialogue, tolerate terrible acting, and fight back boredom with every new scene.

 

If they took out all of the lame filler junk this movie would probably clock in at about 60 minutes. Even then it would still be too long.

 

Even bad horror flicks usually have something that makes it somewhat interesting. Not this one. There are no twists, no mystery, and no redemption. It's essentially a movie where we all sit around for 90 minutes waiting on the four girls all to die. At about the 30 minute mark I was begging for it to just go ahead and happen so we could all go home.

 

Save your money on this one. There will be other horror flicks coming out soon that will be much more worth it than this one.

Posted by on in Movie Reviews

BLACKKKLANSMAN

Rated: R

Release Date: August 10, 2018

Director: Spike Lee

Stars: John David Washington, Adam Driver, Laura Harrier, Topher Grace

Plot: A black cop teams up with a white cop to go under cover and infiltrate the Ku Klux Klan

Trailer

 

Clint Says: Wait until after opening weekend, but see this in theaters

 

 

Spike Lee is at it again with another piercing film  that will make you think while you laugh and cringe. And this time it is based on a true story. 

 

This movie is filled with incredible acting, amazing writing, great suspense, biting comedy, and so many moments that will make you squirm in your seat. It is powerful and meaningful, but it doesn't take itself too seriously. (Until the end, but we will get to that in a minute).

 

The film is perfectly cast and all of the actors make it feel like you are really witnessing reality. That, along with the unique direction of Spike Lee gives this film a fresh look at race issues in America. 

 

The only problem I had with this movie is that it gets way too political. I hate it when movies push a political agenda on either side. And with a movie about racism it shouldn't be a political issue, it should be an issue for all of humanity. 

 

The last four or five minutes of the movie are not even a part of the movie. It switches from narrative to documentary. And while it is discussing racial issues it just didn't feel like it needed to be a part of the movie. The film was great before it got political. It didn't need to go there. We, the viewing public are smart enough to draw our own parallels between film and reality, we don't need to be punched in the face with it to get it.

 

The good news is the movie is great enough to push through the political junk and give us all something exciting and powerful that is worth your theater dollars.

Posted by on in Movie Reviews

DOG DAYS

Rated: PG

Release Date: August 8, 2018

Director: Ken Marino

Stars: Nina Dobrev, Vanessa Hudgens, Eva Longoria, John Bass

Plot: Several lives intersect through their mutual interest in dogs

Trailer

 

Clint Says: Don't even bother.

 

 

Oh. My. Goodness.

 

Do you say congratulations to a film that is very much in the running for one of the worst movies of the year? If so, congratulations, DOG DAYS, you're a terrible waste of time!

 

I don't care how much you love dogs, I don't care how much you love ensemble cast movies, none of that matters anymore. There is nothing that can save this movie from being the dumpster fire that it is.

 

Here are the only good things about this movie: 1. Vanessa Hudgens and John Bass are adorable. 2. There are two good scenes in the movie. (But one of them is only 45 seconds long).

 

That's it.

 

That's all that is good about this flick. 

 

The rest is junk. 

 

It is dreadfully slow, it's almost 2 hours long, most of the cast is entirely unlikable, and the script is horrible.

 

Perhaps the most incredible thing about this film is the fact that the makers of this movie managed to do the impossible. It's a dog movie, basically all you need to do to win audiences over is to have a dog walk onto the screen. But these film makers couldn't even get that right. There wasn't a single moment where I heard the audience give a collective "awwww" over one of the dogs. It's almost like they were trying to make a bad movie.

 

Seriously, I know you want to see this movie because it has a big, fun cast and a ton of dogs, but I'm telling you it's not worth it. You are going to be disappointed. This movie is a bad dog.

Posted by on in Movie Reviews

THE DARKEST MINDS

Rated: PG-13

Release Date: August 3, 2018

Director: Jennifer Yuh Nelson

Stars: Amandla Stenberg, Mandy Moore, Harris Dickinson

Plot: Children begin to develop supernatural abilities and the adults are trying to stop it from happening

Trailer

 

Clint Says: Wait for the digital release

 

 

There is no doubt that Amandla Stenberg has become one of the best young actors in Hollywood today. Unfortunately, this movie leaves a her in a position to have to carry the whole thing. She does a great job, but there is only so much she could do to save a mediocre script and story.

 

The whole thing feels like a poor man's version of DIVERGENT. The kids are separated by talent, it's distopian, a girl and a small group of friends buck the system and try to start a revolution. Sound familiar?

 

This is a movie that could have easily been so much better if they had pushed on the story to find the flimsy points and plot holes. Many of them could be fixed with minimal effort, but that didn't happen so we end up with a sub-par film.

 

This movie is not worth your theater dollars. Wait until it hits Netflix or some other streaming service. At least then you'll feel like you didn't spend too much to see it.