Reviews Of What Is In Theaters Now

Recent blog posts

Posted by on in Movie Reviews

MAMMA MIA: HERE WE GO AGAIN

Rated: PG-13

Release Date: July 20, 2018

Director: Ol Parker

Stars: Lily James, Amanda Seyfried, Pierce Brosnan, Meryl Streep

Plot: The crew returns to the same Greek island to celebrate the grand re-opening of the hotel, but it stirs up a lot of old memories

Trailer

 

Clint Says: Wait until after opening weekend, but see this in theaters

 

 

Yes, here we go again...

 

Only this time it is much better than the first one! 

 

If you loved the first MAMMA MIA film then this is a must-see for you. For those of you that didn't really care for the auditory talent in the first film. (*Everyone stops to stare at Pierce Brosnan.*) Never fear, because this flick is filled with a ton of people who can really sing.

 

Even the story is better this time around. It's a lot more fun and carefree than the first.  We get into some more great songs from ABBA and even a few deep cuts that you haven't heard in 40 years...or ever.

 

Lily James is an outstanding addition to the cast. She brings so much joy and wonderment that you almost feel like you are on the island with them. As far as I'm concerned, she should be cast in everything for the next 50 years or so.

 

The Cher character is the only one that doesn't ring true. (Assuming you are okay with the whole premise of a musical on a Greek isle as truth.) It feels really forced and wedged into the story just so they could sing a specific song. Also, her scenes are so heavily filtered it feels like the movie goes out of focus every time she is on screen. 

 

If you were excited about the release of this film the first time you heard that they were making a MAMMA MIA 2 then stay excited. Warm up your singing voice and get yourself to a theater as soon as you can.

Posted by on in Movie Reviews

THE EQUALIZER 2

Rated: R

Release Date: July 20, 2018

Director: Antoine Fuqua

Stars: Denzel Washington, Melissa Leo, Pedro Pascal, Ashton Sanders

Plot: Robert finds himself entrenched in a life or death battle with dangerous people that know his skill set

Trailer

 

Clint Says: Wait for the digital release

 

Here is the key to making this a good movie. When you watch it, just have fun. Don't think about what is happening or why it is happening. Just let it happen. Then, by all means, do NOT think about the plot of this movie after you leave the theater. If you start to poke at it at all the entire story comes crashing down. So, enjoy the pretty house of cards and don't breathe near it.

 

Now, for those of you that actually like to think about the films you see, you are much better off staying away from this one. There are way too many plot holes, but the biggest issue of all is that we never find out why everything is happening. 

 

Yes, you read that right. The movie never gives us the reason why. In all of my years of going to the movies and seeing thousands of films, this could possibly be the first ever wide release film I've seen that didn't bother to tell us the "why" behind the actions.

 

Without the "why", why are we supposed to care about any of it? Why are we even wasting our time if we are only getting a tiny portion of the story? And why was it decided that it was okay to leave out the biggest plot point of all?

 

The other major issue with this movie is that the big reveal happens about halfway through the movie. From that point on there is nothing left to discover. It's just waiting for an hour to see how Denzel is going to take care of the bad guys. Sure, the action is fun, but there is zero suspense.

 

This movie could have easily been a lot better, unfortunately it isn't.

Posted by on in Movie Reviews

UNFRIENDED: DARK WEB

Rated: R

Release Date: July 20, 2018

Director: Stephen Susco

Stars: Colin Woodell, Stephanie Nogueras, Andrew Lees, Betty Gabriel

Plot: Friends in a chat room find themselves in grave danger when a computer one of them stole contains illegal information

Trailer

 

Clint Says: Don't even bother

 

 

I feel dumber for having witnessed this useless piece of trash. The first film in this franchise had a bunch of young people screaming and crying in a chat room for 90 minutes. So does this one. There are few things more annoying than watching people yell at each other in a chat room.

 

The one thing that I will give this movie over the previous one is that it has a fairly decent twist. However, by the time it got to the twist I was so over the movie I just wanted everyone in the film to die...now.

 

I was also annoyed because they had a deaf character in the movie. Typically, this would be a good thing. However, in this case her lack of hearing was used simply as a tool for the bad guy to move around and get close to her without her knowing. What should have happened is she should have been the "ace in the hole" for the hero so they could "speak" without the bad guy realizing what was happening. Instead of it being empowering it was exploiting.

 

And as far as horror flicks go, this one gets a zero for scares. There were barely any scary moments at all, and the ones that were in the movie were barely scary.

 

There are so many horror flicks out that are so much better than this one. Just pretend this one exists only on the dark web and don't ever go there to see it.

 

Posted by on in Movie Reviews

SORRY TO BOTHER YOU

Rated: R

Release Date: July 13, 2018

Director: Boots Riley

Stars: Lakeith Stanfield, Tessa Thompson, Steven Yeun, Armie Hammer

Plot: A telemarketer finds himself stuck between his unionizing co-workers, his girlfriend, and a huge promotion that comes with unwanted issues

Trailer

 

Clint Says: Wait for the digital release

 

 

I tried so hard to like this movie. There is something about it that is great. Unfortunately, it plays out in an amateurish way and loses the essence of everything that is great about it. This movie would do well to have a person standing at the exit door saying "Sorry you had to watch that," as you leave.

 

There are way too many useless moments throughout the film. I'm sure they were a lot of fun to shoot, but this film needed a better editor to make sure those moments didn't make the final cut. All they do is slow down the pace of the movie and confuse the person watching the film.

 

This movie clocks in at an hour and 45 minutes, but it feels so much longer. At one point I looked at the time and was shocked that only 30 minutes had passed. This is one of the slowest films I have ever witnessed.

 

There are also several choices made in the telling of the story that make no sense. I'm sure there is some deep and meaningful reason why one of the bosses has a name that is bleeped out every time it is said, but for the normal movie goer this is nothing more than a confusing annoyance.

 

This is the kind of movie that many movie critics will rave about because they want you to think that they know so much more than you when it comes to the art of movies. The reality is, this is a long, boring flick with a twist that is way too weird for it's own good.

 

I was sitting next to a guy I didn't know and when the film was over I turned to him and asked him if that was weird. He said, "Yeah, man. That was way too weird. My girlfriend picked this movie. She owes me now. I'm picking the next three." 

 

That's pretty mush all you need to know. 

HOTEL TRANSYLVANIA 3: SUMMER VACATION

Rated: PG

Release Date: July 13, 2018

Director: Genndy Tartakovsky

Stars: Adam Sandler, Selena Gomez, Kathryn Hahn, Andy Samberg

Plot: Dracula and his family go on a cruise, but danger is lurking on the ship

Trailer

 

Clint Says: Save some money and see a matinee

 

 

 

The third installment of this franchise does a good job of progressing the overall story. It has some fun and funny moments with a lot of physical comedy thrown in for good measure.

 

The downside to this film is that, once again, too much of the film was revealed in the trailers, so the twist is just another plot point by the time you see the full movie. It is also pretty intense over the last 20 minutes or so. My six year old is probably a bit too sensitive, but she was really scared during the climactic scenes. I would recommend seeing it first before taking young kids to see it.

 

We also don't get enough of the bit players in this movie. They are the ones that made the first two films so funny. Sure, they are around and add a little bit of spice to the flick, but not enough.

 

Out of the three films, this one is easily the third place movie. It isn't bad, it just doesn't quite match the fun and magic of the first two films. If you haven't taken your kids to see INCREDIBLES 2 yet, I would recommend doing that before this one. However, if your little rugrats are driving you crazy and you just want to get out of the house for a couple of hours, this film will accomplish that desire.

 

If you decide to wait for the digital release you won't miss anything. It'll be the same movie on your TV as it is in the theaters.

Posted by on in Movie Reviews

SKYSCRAPER

Rated: PG-13

Release Date: July 13, 2018

Director: Rawson Marshall Thurber

Stars: Dwayne Johnson, Chin Han, Neve Campbell, Roland Moller

Plot: A former FBI Agent must do everything he can to foil a gang's criminal activities while trying to save his family

Trailer

 

Clint Says: Wait until after opening weekend, but see this in theaters

 

 

This is an action flick in every sense of the term. It is jam-packed with action, but the rest of the movie is filled with ridiculous dialogue, one-dimensional characters, and huge plot holes and moments of convenience.

 

The acting is passable at best, and in some cases it is downright terrible, the effects look and feel pretty low-budget, but the action and suspense carry this movie all the way through to it's triumphant end.

 

If you are in the mood for a no-brainer popcorn flick that will have you holding your breath with suspense one second then rolling your eyes at how dumb the bad guy is the next second, then you will have a blast watching SKYSCRAPER.

 

This is not the kind of movie that will be anyone's favorite. In fact, a couple of months from now you'll probably forget you even saw it. But it is worth seeing just for the escape from our ridiculous lives into a world that is even more ridiculous.

Posted by on in Movie Reviews

ANT-MAN AND THE WASP

Rated: PG-13

Release Date: July 6, 2018

Director: Peyton Reed

Stars: Paul Rudd, Evangeline Lilly, Michael Douglas, Michael Pena

Plot: Scott and Hope team up to try to bring back her mom, but an evil force has other plans for their tech

Trailer

 

Clint Says: Save some money and see a matinee

 

 

I am dealing with a bevy of emotions as I am writing this review. On the one hand, this is a fantastically fun movie that will have you laughing throughout. It is exciting. It is full of action and incredible CGI work. 

 

On the other hand, I really think that I am starting to get Marvel Fatigue. Yes, this film is all of those great things, but so is almost every other Marvel movie. I need something different, something new. And I'm not talking about a new character on a new quest, I mean a shift from the formula. 

 

I know that is a lot of big talk from someone not having to write the checks or worry about box office numbers, but I also wonder if I am not alone in this thinking. Is it possible that we are at a moment where Marvel movies may not get to $300 or $400 million? Could one actually lose money sooner rather than later? I don't have that answer, but I do know that I want to see something new and exciting like we all felt the first time IRON MAN hit the big screen.

 

ANT-MAN AND THE WASP is great, but it also offers us very little that we haven't seen before. We've all experienced the effects and action hundreds of times over on the big screen, so maybe this is one where you finally just wait for the digital release. 

 

Is it worth the money to see it in theaters? Sure! Especially if you are a huge Marvel fan. It's 2 hours of exciting fun. Is it necessary to see it in theaters? No. You'll get the same experience with your home entertainment system as you would on the big screen.

Posted by on in Movie Reviews

THE FIRST PURGE

Rated: R

Release Date: July 4, 2018

Director: Gerard McMurray

Stars: Lex Scott Davis, Y'Lan Noel, Joivan Wade, Patch Darragh

Plot: The origin of The Purge begins as a political experiment on Staten Island, but all is not real with reality TV

Trailer

 

Clint Says: Save some money and see a matinee

 

 

There is an old saying, "what goes up must come down." Sure, it's a gravity-based proverb, but it also applies to the PURGE franchise.

 

This is the fourth film in the franchise, but it is the first in the timeline. It's the origin story of the Purge. 

 

And it is almost great.

 

The first film was terrible. It was nothing more than a basic slasher flick. The second one had a very interesting twist that made it much more believable and relevant. The third film was downright amazing with its biting social commentary and how it dealt with race and economic issues.

 

The main problem with the fourth film is that it deals with the same issues that the third film already covered. There is one incredible theme that is new and shocking, but it was revealed to us in the trailer. Maybe if that reveal had been left out of the trailer I would have thought that this was a much better movie. Instead, it just feels like a repackaged version of the third film. 

 

This movie has some good moments with high suspense and scares, but it also has a ridiculous, over-the-top villain that is more comical that scary. Aside from him though there are very few eye-rolling moments. 

 

If you've been a fan of the PURGE franchise up to now, keep on going. You won't be disappointed. If you are new to the franchise, this is a great starting point. It might even make the first movie better if you see this one first.

 

Posted by on in Movie Reviews

UNCLE DREW

Rated: PG-13

Release Date: June 29, 2018

Director: Charles Stone III

Stars: Kyrie Irving, Lil Rey Howery, Shaquille O'Neal, Tiffany Haddish

Plot: A man at the end of his rope puts together a basketball team of former greats to see if they can win one more time

Trailer

 

Clint Says: Wait until after opening weekend, but see this in theaters

 

 

When I saw the trailer for this film it made me hate most of my life choices leading me to see it. But, as with all films, I go in with an open mind hoping that it will be the best movie of the year. While UNCLE DREW is far from great, it is a lot of fun and will make for a good night out with your friends.

 

It is formulaic and predictable, but that isn't necessarily a bad thing with this movie. It's a sports comedy that doesn't try to be anything else. It does what it came to do and leaves all of the frivolous stuff to the side.

 

I want to give kudos to the makers of this film because one of my biggest pet peeves with sports movies is that the sports are not played in the proper way, or at a high level. This film is filled with incredible basketball. It's like a 100 minute highlight reel.

 

The other fun thing of note is, if you are a basketball fan, be on the lookout for several Easter eggs and funny moments that most of the audience isn't going to notice. They make the movie so much better.

 

Another nice feature of this flick is that it is almost completely family-friendly. There are only a couple of bad words, and one scene where we see a guy's backside in a hospital gown, but other than that it's a good film for the whole family.

 

If you are wanting a fun night out with plenty of laughs, UNCLE DREW should satisfy.

Posted by on in Movie Reviews

SICARIO: DAY OF THE SOLDADO

Rated: R

Release Date: June 29, 2018

Director: Stefano Sollima

Stars: Benecio Del Toro, Josh Brolin, Isabela Moner

Plot: The US government uses dark agents to try to start a war between the Mexican drug cartels

Trailer

 

Clint Says: Save some money and see a matinee

 

 

I will give this to the SICARIO franchise, they know how to set a dark mood. Just like the first film, DAY OF THE SOLDADO has exactly zero happy moments. It is filled with despair, horrible people, and decisions that have to be made that have no positive outcome.

 

One of the things that gives this movie some power is the methodical, mechanical way the characters go about doing their jobs. There is very little emotion, and when emotion is interjected it is quickly dispatched. Because of this there are many times where the film feels slow. I wasn't clock watching, but I did feel like the movie wasn't getting anywhere.

 

If you like movies that have a tidy wrap up and ending, this is not the film for you. It's open-ended and leaves a lot of questions unanswered. It feels like this movie was nothing more than a setup for the third film in the franchise. I don't always mind it when a franchise does that, but in this case the second film isn't strong enough to stand on it's own.

 

Hopefully, the next film will tie everything together.

 

If you saw the first film in this franchise you know that you need to be in a special mood to see and enjoy these films. This isn't a popcorn action flick. It is dark and difficult all the way through. If you liked the first one you will most likely enjoy this one as well, but it isn't as good as the first.

Posted by on in Movie Reviews

JURASSIC WORLD: FALLEN KINGDOM

Rated: PG-13

Release Date: June 22, 2018

Director: T.A. Bayona

Stars: Chris Pratt, Bryce Dallas Howard, Rafe Spall, Isabella Sermon

Plot: A small group of people are trying to save the dinosaurs from a cataclysmic event

Trailer

 

Clint Says: Save some money and see a matinee

 

 

I can still remember 25 years ago, sitting in the theater, staring at the screen in awe, and watching what looked to be real dinosaurs walking with humans. I remember how fun and terrifying JURASSIC PARK was. I also remember how smart it was. It made us have to think about the consequences of our actions, and how even the most noble missions can have unintended and disastrous consequences.

 

Now, it's 25 years and 5 movies later and I'm still watching the same story. Sure, the dinosaurs look even more realistic now, but other than that the only thing that has changed is that the movies have become less about the consequences for humanity and more about watching the big, bad reptiles tear each other limb from limb. (And occasionally watching a big, bad reptile do the same thing to a little, bad man).

 

With one small, but completely predictable exception, JURASSIC WORLD FALLEN KINGDOM is the exact same movie as JURASSIC WORLD, with a few moments from the earlier films thrown in for good measure. Same dinosaurs, same people, bad guys we've seen before, scientific debates that never progress, and way too many shots of things reflected in car side view mirrors.

 

Is it a good monster movie? Yes. The packed crowd we saw it with seemed to enjoy themselves. They even cheered at two or three key moments. If you are going because you want to see big lizards duke it out like MMA gone wild then you will thoroughly enjoy your experience.

 

Critically speaking, this film is terrible. It does nothing to advance the overall story line. (Except that the Jeff Goldblum speech makes it feel like this movie could have been skipped completely and we should all just move on to the next installment). It barely advances the JURASSIC PARK world, and the way that it is advanced is incredibly predictable, lazy, and convenient. If you need your Sci-Fi films to be smart and make you think about issues and consequences then you need to skip this movie. It will shrivel your brain with its overwhelming amount of dumb.

 

I love a good monster movie, but this one is so much of the same, and so poorly written that I almost got dizzy from my eyes rolling. At one point I got so bored I almost walked out of the theater just to walk around outside for a few minutes in the clear air. I didn't, but if I had I wouldn't have missed anything. This flick is nothing more than a summer blockbuster cash grab. It's all effects and no content.

 

Hopefully, the next one will get back to what made the original a classic.

Posted by on in Movie Reviews

INCREDIBLES 2

Rated: PG

Release Date: June 15, 2018

Director: Brad Bird

Stars: Holly Hunter, Craig T. Nelson, Bob Odenkirk, Catherine Keener

Plot: The Parr family gets a chance to prove that Superheros shouldn't be outlawed

Trailer

 

Clint: Drop everything and go see this movie now

 

 

 

It's been 14 long years since we were blessed with the awesomeness of the Parr family and their superhero alter-egos. It was worth the wait. INCREDIBLES 2 is fantastic.

 

I took my 8 year old daughter to the early screening of this film. She is a much tougher critic than I am and she loved it. She even told me she wants to see it again. I don't think she has ever asked to see a movie a second time.  I mean, this is the girl who didn't like FROZEN! (I told you she's tough).

 

The story is great, the action is exciting, the animation is stat-of-the-art, and the dialogue is funny and smart. I was engaged from the opening credits through the final scene. It's a super-hero movie that gives you what you want, but also stays away from many of the things that have become boring and cliche about super-hero movies.

 

This is a fun, unique, outstanding film that is great for the whole family. (There are a couple of scenes that may be too scary for the little kids, but for the most part it is fine for everyone). I highly recommend taking the time and money to see this one as a family in the theater.

Posted by on in Movie Reviews

TAG

Rated: R

Release Date: June 15, 2018

Director: Jeff Tomsic

Stars: Jeremy Renner, Ed Helms, Jon Hamm, Hannibal Burress

Plot: A group of friends plot to finally tag their buddy who has never been "it" in a game of tag that they have played for decades

Trailer

 

Clint Says: Wait until after opening weekend, but see this in theaters

 

 

This may be the sleeper hit of the summer. I was hoping it would be funny and exciting, but I got so much more than I expected. This is a spectacular film that runs the gamut of emotions.

 

It is fun and funny. You will be fully entertained and laughing hard throughout the whole film. The pacing is perfect. It never feels like it is dragging or skipping over things. The acting is well done, and the chemistry the leads have is some of the best I've ever seen on screen.

 

The best part of this film is that it takes some twists and turns you won't see coming, but also ones you wouldn't expect in a film like this. You really care about these silly, grown men, playing a child's game.

 

This is a great date movie, it's a great guys night out movie, heck, it's a great girl's night out movie. Grab some popcorn and enjoy the fun. But beware, you may end up in a spontaneous game of tag with your friends when it's all over.

Posted by on in Movie Reviews

SUPERFLY

Rated: R

Release Date: June 13, 2018

Director: Director X

Stars: Trevor Jackson, Jason Mitchell, Big Bank Black, Lex Scott Davis

Plot: A smart drug dealer tries to get out of the game with one final, huge score

Trailer

 

Clint Says: Wait for the digital release and make someone else rent it

 

 

 

I'm sure it was no accident that this film was released on the 35th anniversary of the release of SCARFACE. It's obvious the director was hoping to make a SCARFACE for a new generation.

 

So, if you want to know what this movie is all about, just imagine SCARFACE. Now imagine SCARFACE being a terrible flick with some really bad acting, embarrassingly bad dialogue, and a ridiculous plot with one-dimensional bad guys. Now you have SUPERFLY.

 

The good news is that if you see this poor attempt at a drug lord movie, you'll get to see some really cool cars, amazing mansions, sexy yachts, and incredible clothes. Plus the lead's hair is fantastic. Aside from that. There is nothing worth seeing in this 115 minute movie that feels like three hours.

Posted by on in Movie Reviews

WON'T YOU BE MY NEIGHBOR

Rated: PG-13

Release Date: June 15, 2018

Director: Morgan Neville

Stars: Fred Rogers, Joanne Rogers, Francois Scarborough Clemmons, Yo-Yo Ma

Plot: A documentary on the life of Fred Rogers and Mr. Rogers' Neighborhood

Trailer

 

Clint Says: Drop everything and go see this movie now

 

 

 

If you grew up watching Mr. Rogers' Neighborhood this is a must-see documentary. It will bring back a flood of memories and give you new insight into the show and the man that was a true friend to millions of children.

 

It is a beautiful, powerful, and emotional film that will have you laughing until your jaw hurts and crying until the tears are all gone.

 

In a time in our world where so many devices are begging for our attention and people are so easily divided over issues and politics, the simplicity and kindness of Fred Rogers is a welcome breath of fresh air.

Posted by on in Movie Reviews

OCEAN'S 8

Rated: PG-13

Release Date: June, 8, 2018

Director: Gary Ross

Stars: Sandra Bullock, Cate Blanchett, Anne Hathaway

Plot: A group of criminals devise a plan to steal a $150 Million necklace during the Met Gala

Trailer

 

Clint Says: Save some money and see a matinee

 

 

One of the main things that has made the OCEAN'S franchise great to this point is that all of the characters bring something unique to the story. Even if they are only on screen for a few minutes, they make a mark and they make you care about them. Unfortunately, that dynamic did not translate to this film.

 

While the acting is great and the story is a lot of fun, the characters seem to fall flat. With the exception of Anne Hathaway and Helena Bonham Carter, I never felt any connection to the other characters.

 

The heist is interesting, the twists are great, and the call backs to the earlier OCEAN'S films are fun. It's definitely a film that is worth seeing once, but I don't think it is going to become an iconic movie played constantly on basic cable like its predecessors.

 

You'll have fun watching it, just don't expect this one to become your go to heist flick.

Posted by on in Movie Reviews

HEREDITARY

Rated: R

Release Date: June 8, 2018

Director: Ari Aster

Stars: Toni Collette, Milly Shapiro, Alex Wolff, Ann Dowd

Plot: Strange events begin to happen to a family after their mother/grandmother dies

Trailer

 

Clint Says: Wait until after opening weekend, but see this in theaters

 

 

This is, straight up, the creepiest movie I have ever seen. As I watched it the hair on my arms and neck stood up. I felt chills several times. Basically, I was completely freaked out.

 

While this is a horror film, it isn't a scary movie per se. Yes, you will jump a couple of times, but that is the extent of the scares. This is much more along the lines of the true horror genre. It makes you think one thing and then it takes your brain, squeezes it in a vice, then gives it back to you all used up.

 

I try hard to keep my reviews from using morality as a compass since people all over the world view things in such different ways. It's much easier to simply give a critical review and let the public sort out the morality or immorality of a film's content for themselves. In this case though I feel like I need to point out that this film has many Satanic elements. I don't want to spoil the film, so I will only say that this is not your typical demon-possession horror flick. There is a depth to the evil I have not witnessed before in a movie.

 

Now, critically speaking, this film is incredible. The acting is nearly award-worthy, especially by Toni Colette. The story pulls you in, the pacing is perfect, and the creep factor is through the roof.

 

If you are a fan of horror movies, this one may become on of your all-time favorites. Or, you may think that it is way over the top and spend the next several days trying to scrub it out of your head. Either way, HEREDITARY will mess with your mind.

Posted by on in Movie Reviews

HOTEL ARTEMIS

Rated: R

Release Date: June 8, 2018

Director: Drew Pearce

Stars: Jodie Foster, Sterling K. Brown, Sofia Boutella, Jeff Goldblum

Plot: Several events converge at a secret hospital for criminals causing a situation where everyone is in danger

Trailer

 

Clint Says: Wait for the digital release and make someone else rent it

 

 

Every story has already been told.

 

We've heard that so many times it has become cliche. And while it may be true on a basic story-telling level, it doesn't give people the authority to write stories in worlds created by other people. Imagine if someone wrote a story about sisters and one had the ability to freeze things, or a bunch of magical kids all go to school together near London. We would be yelling at the screen saying, "you stole that idea!"

 

HOTEL ARTEMIS is about as close as you can get to a straight ripoff of the JOHN WICK world. It's a hotel hospital where criminals can rest without fear of retribution from the other criminals because there are rules in place like no killing, no weapons, pay your monthly dues or no admittance, etc. They also use old school ways like land line phones, the rooms have hotel keys that look like they are from the 1960's, but all of the important stuff is state of the art. Sound familiar? It should, because it is the JOHN WICK world almost to a tee.

 

There is even a scene near the end of the film where the big confrontation takes place and it looks almost exactly like the lobby of the Continental Hotel in JOHN WICK.

 

I'm embarrassed for them that they couldn't come up with something more creative. And I'm completely shocked that nobody with any authority ever stopped and said, hey does this all seem a little too familiar to anyone?

 

When you throw on top of that a story that is filled with some of the biggest plot holes I've ever seen, two complete story lines that are absolutely useless to the plot, and a ridiculous convergence of events, you get a thoroughly unenjoyable eye-roller.

 

The only thing good about this movie is that some of the acting is pretty good. Sofia Boutella does a great job with the steaming pile of junk with which she had to work. Foster, Brown and Bautista also give performances that make the film somewhat tolerable.

 

If the premise of this film intrigues you watch JOHN WICK instead. It is a hundred times better than this mess.

Posted by on in Movie Reviews

FIRST REFORMED

Rated: R

Release Date: June 8, 2018

Director: Paul Schrader

Stars: Ethan Hawke, Amanda Seyfried, Cedric The Entertainer

Plot: A priest tries to help a young woman dealing with a tragedy while he struggles with his own issues

Trailer

 

Clint Says: Wait for the digital release

 

 

FIRST REFORMED clocks in at about 110 minutes. For the first 80 minutes I was intrigued, I was entertained, and I was ready for a fascinating finale. Then the last 30 minutes happened and I still have no clue what the heck happened to this film. It was compelling and emotional and then it went so far off the rails that it was impossible for me to go with it.

 

One of the things I really liked about this film is that it deals with the issue of the destruction of our planet via human pollution in a balanced manner. The religious side is not mocked for its biblical approach, and the environmental side isn't held up as the gold standard of righteousness. Arguments are made on both sides that have legitimate and proper reasoning behind them. 

 

There are many powerful moments as we watch these tormented souls struggle with their new realities and with their lifelong beliefs. If it had stayed on that track this may have been one of my favorite films of the year. Instead, it goes to a place that is weird, out of character, and ridiculous.

 

I spent the last 30 minutes of the film sighing loudly and rolling my eyes. 

 

It's really too bad that a terrible third act ruined what could have been something special.

Posted by on in Movie Reviews

ACTION POINT

Rated: R

Release Date: June 1, 2018

Director: Tim Kirkby

Stars: Johnny Knoxville, Eleanor Worthington-Cox, Chris Pontius, Dan Bakkedahl

Plot: A man tries to build a good relationship with his teenage daughter while running a dangerous amusement park

Trailer

 

Clint Says: Don't even bother

 

 

When I went to see this movie I was totally in the mood for stupid humor and wild antics. I walked out 90-something minutes later completely disappointed. This film is so bland, boring, and lame I could have taken my grandma to see it and she would have thought it was somewhat adorable. I want a Johnny Knoxville flick to give her a heart attack, not make her want to pinch his cute little cheeks.

 

First of all, there are very few "Jackass" style moments in this movie. Maybe six or seven good ones. And of those, almost all of them were in the trailer, so we've already seen them. Second, the movie tries to be something that nobody going to a Johnny Knoxville film wants to see. It tries to be a heartwarming story between a father and daughter. Not only is that completely out of his style, but the way it was done wasn't any good anyway.

 

The only thing that makes this movie even somewhat interesting is that it is loosely based on a real park in New Jersey called Action Park. If you have the time, look up some of the YouTube documentaries about that park. They are way better than this pile of junk.

 

I heard one person laugh one time while in the theater for this movie, and that was during a trailer for another film. If you want to see another JACKASS movie, go watch one of those. This isn't even close to anything you can consider watchable.