Reviews Of What Is In Theaters Now

Recent blog posts

Posted by on in Movie Reviews

US

Rated: R

Release Date: March 22, 2019

Director: Jordan Peele

Stars: Lupita Nyong'o, Winston Duke, Shahadi Wright Joseph, Evan Alex

Plot: A family's life is put in jeopardy when dangerous people that look just like them begin to terrorize them

Trailer

 

Clint Says: Save some money and see a matinee

 

 

GET OUT was one of my favorite films from 2017. Because of that I was really looking forward to the second horror flick from Jordan Peele. Maybe I was looking forward to it a little too much. As the credits began rolling at the end of my screening of US, I sat in silence trying to figure out what I had just witnessed.

 

At first I thought it was just me. I thought I must have missed something. Then, slowly, I began to notice other people around me with the same puzzled look on their faces. Finally, one man spoke what I think most of us were feeling, "I am so confused. What the BLEEP was that!?"

 

After a few days of letting the film sink into my brain I've come to these conclusions:

 

1. I liked the movie. I didn't love it, but it was suspenseful and crazy enough to keep me interested and engaged even though I wasn't sure what was happening.

 

2. It's Jordan Peele's fault that we were confused, not the audience. At the end of GET OUT we all got it. All of the nuance and symbolism, all of the thematic elements and the overall plot made sense. A good writer makes sure you don't have to be the smartest person in the room in order to understand what the film is about. Peele failed to accomplish this task in US.

 

3. Lupita Nyong'o is one of the best actors in Hollywood today.

 

4. There is a lot more to this film than I got in one viewing. I have theories about the underlying themes of the movie, but I will need to see it again before I am willing to talk about those in public.

 

I wish I could be as excited about recommending this movie as I was for GET OUT, but it is too confusing, and therefore not as good as Peele's first film. If you are going to see this in theaters, try to pay matinee prices, otherwise you might feel like it wasn't worth it.

NANCY DREW AND THE HIDDEN STAIRCASE

Rated: PG

Release Date: March 15, 2019

Director: Katt Shea

Stars: Sophia Lillis, Zoe Renee, Mackenzie Graham, Sam Trammell

Plot: Nancy keeps on getting in trouble in her small town, but when she stumbles upon a mystery, it may lead to more trouble than she can handle

Trailer

 

Clint Says: Save some money and see a matinee

 

 

There are few franchises that are as popular and have lasted as long as Nancy Drew. It seems like every fourth grader for the last 75 years has spent countless hours reading the Nancy Drew mysteries. There have also been several iterations of the young sleuth on film and TV.

 

This reboot was meant to be a TV/streaming release, but they thought, why not give it a quick run in theaters. So, if you've never heard of this movie, you aren't alone. Even professional people in and around the film industry didn't know this movie was going to hit theaters until early in the week it was released. (Not exactly a recipe for success, but I don't think that was really the point).

 

As for the movie, it is adorable and fun. It has a little bit of suspense and intrigue, but it isn't too scary for younger children. It has a good mystery without being too complicated. And it is a lot of fun for people of all ages.

 

This isn't a critically excellent movie, but that is okay. It was never intended to be that. Instead, it is a solid film that does a great job of reaching its target audience. It doesn't try to pretend to be something it's not.

 

Sophia Lillis, as we already know from the horror film IT, is a fantastic actor. She plays Nancy Drew in a current, but true to the original way. She brings a joy to the film that is fun and refreshing.

 

If you have a chance to see this in theaters, it is well worth your time. It isn't a fantastic movie by critical standards, but it is a film that will bring a smile to your face and maybe even move you to break open that old box of Nancy Drew books you have in your attic.

Posted by on in Movie Reviews

WONDER PARK

Rated: PG

Release Date: March 15, 2019

Director: None (Dylan Brown was fired)

Stars: Sofia Mali, Jennifer Garner, Ken Hudson Campbell, Kenan Thompson

Plot: A young girl creates an imaginary park, but when she finds out it has become real she has to help the cast of characters living there save it

Trailer

 

Clint Says: Wait for the digital release

 

 

About 14 months before the release of this film the studio fired its director because of misconduct allegations. They never bothered to replace him.

 

Even with directors, there are so few movies worth paying the price to see in theaters. Now imagine trying to make a good movie without a captain. It's virtually impossible. Sure, they had a staff of high level executives working to make the decisions, but you need someone to break the ties and make the tough decisions. That is what a good director does.

 

Needless to say, this movie is pretty much a hot mess. Thankfully it is only 80 minutes long so you don't have to endure too much of it. The pacing is all over the place, there is a whole weird thing going on with the main character's mom that will probably need a lot of careful explanations to curious children, and the action in the park is limited to about 20 minutes. It almost feels like it's over before it starts, but then there is still another 20 minutes to go.

 

The bottom line though is will the kids like it? Probably. Is it going to become one of their favorites? No. Is it worth the price of several tickets and concessions? Definitely not.

 

There are a lot of kids' movies coming out in the next few months. Many of which will be better than this one. Save your money for things like DUMBO. And if your kids really want to see this one, rent it when it comes out digitally in a few months, but my guess is that everyone will have forgotten about it by then.

Posted by on in Movie Reviews

CAPTIVE STATE

Rated: PG-13

Release Date: March 15, 2019

Director: Rupert Wyatt

Stars: Ashton Sanders, John Goodman, Jonathan Majors

Plot: Aliens have taken over earth, but there are a few people with the courage to try to win back their freedom

Trailer

 

Clint Says: Wait for the digital release

 

 

This movie has so much potential. It is an interesting story with some compelling characters, but unfortunately, it wasn't written as captivating as it could have been. 

 

The movie is about 110 minutes long, and the first 105 minutes are constantly confusing. Every time I felt like I was starting to figure something out, something else would happen. If that form of storytelling is done well it can be a very effective way to surprise the viewer at the end with a huge reveal. This one isn't told in a way that makes it exciting, but rather frustrating.

 

Once it gets to the last five minutes and we finally get to understand the end game, everything starts to make sense, but that doesn't mean it is satisfying. It just felt good to know that this very confusing movie has a smart ending...but only if you are paying very close attention to the details. If you aren't fully aware of everything that is happening in the last couple of scenes then none of it will make any sense at all. That is also a mark of bad storytelling. At some point all viewers should be able to clue into what is happening, not just the ones that have managed to follow every detail along the way leading up to one pivotal moment.

 

Not only is this movie confusing, but we never get a chance to understand the enemy or discover their weakness. In fact, we only ever see them just a couple of times throughout the film, and in those cases, the lighting is really dark so we barely get to see anything anyway.

 

This is a completely forgettable and mediocre movie. It's not worth your time or money to see it in theaters.

Posted by on in Movie Reviews

FIVE FEET APART

Rated: PG-13

Release Date: March 15, 2019

Director: Justin Baldoni

Stars: Haley Lu Richardson, Cole Sprouse, Moises Arias, Kimberly Hebert Gregory

Plot: Two teens, hospitalized with cystic fibrosis, fall for each other, but their love is complicated by the fact that they are never allowed to get closer than six feet to each other.

Trailer

 

Clint Says: Drop everything and go see this in theaters now

 

 

Okay, I admit that I am a total sucker for first love stories. I'm sure most critics are going to hate this movie. They will call it simple, formulaic, and emotionally manipulative.

 

To them I stick out my tongue and say, "Ppbbbbbbtttttttttttt!!!!!"

 

This movie is amazing. Is it simple, formulaic, and emotionally manipulative? Of course.

 

Do I care? Not one bit.

 

The story is beautiful and heartbreaking. It is filled with joy, hope, life, and love. It is also filled with sadness, tragedy, fear and death. But the conflict between the emotions is so compelling that I was totally engrossed in the film within the first few minutes until the very end.

 

The main characters do a great job in their respective roles. There is one scene in particular that is so powerful, so intense, and incredibly beautiful, but no words are ever spoken. The actors are able to express all of the emotion with their body language.

 

If you like first love/forbidden love stories, this one is a must see. But I do have one word of caution. Bring a lot of tissues with you. You will be crying...a lot...while watching this movie. I'm talking THE FAULT IN OUR STARS crying. I mean full on ugly crying for a good 15 to 20 minutes. But it is so worth it.

Posted by on in Movie Reviews

GLORIA BELL

Rated: R

Release Date: March 15, 2019

Director: Sebastian Lelio

Stars: Julianne Moore, John Turturro, Michael Cera, Rita Wilson

Plot: A middle-aged woman goes through a mild mid-life crisis while trying to find out what is important to her

Trailer

 

Clint Says: Don't even bother

 

 

This is one of those films where I swear I saw a different movie than almost all of the other critics. Apparently, they saw something fantastic.

 

I saw a movie that is slow, the main character is just as boring as every one of us in our normal day-to-day lives, the conflict is childish, and the arc of the hero is minimal at best.

 

Essentially it is a story of old, white people dancing like old, white people and doing old, white people things. Then the main character has some form of a mild mid-life crisis in which she tries to party a couple of times like she was in college, have sex like in high school, and goes through relationship drama the way we did when we were in junior high.

 

The big, life-altering moment for the main character is really quite mundane. It also feels like the whole story was written to get to that one point in the story. It's 90 minutes of normalish, boring life leading up to 2 minutes of what an old person would think is exciting. It's a lot more annoying than it is empowering. The whole time I was watching this I wanted to yell at the main character, "Do something exciting"! I also wanted to act like a relationship counselor and tell everyone to grow up. 

 

If you are interested in seeing this movie, there is absolutely zero reason for spending the money to see it on the big screen. Watching it on your computer curled up in your bed will be just fine. That is also just about as exciting as the plot of the movie.

Posted by on in Movie Reviews

CLIMAX

Rated: R

Release Date: March 15, 2019

Director: Gaspar Noe

Stars: Sofia Boutella, Kiddy Smile

Plot: A dance troupe parties after a rehearsal, but chaos breaks out when it it discovered that the sangria is laced with LSD.

Trailer

 

Clint Says: Wait for the digital release and make someone else rent it

 

 

This is the kind of movie that is made for people that like strange movies. If you are the kind of person who sees three or four movies a year then this is a film you should skip.

 

For those of you that like the weird, odd, and totally insane flicks that hit theaters, this one takes crazy to an insane new level. Imagine your prom afterparty turning into a murderous, psychotic horror fest. That is exactly what you get with CLIMAX.

 

The film is directed in a way that makes you feel like you are tripping on acid along with the characters. There are scenes that go on way too long where you find yourself begging to get away, but you can't. The whole movie is set to an overly loud and driving techno beat that bores into your head. There are scenes shot in ways that are not naturally appealing so your brain works overtime to try to reconcile what it is seeing, but with no luck. By the time the film ends you, like all of the other characters are mentally, and in some ways, physically exhausted.

 

There is no way in could ever recommend this film to 98% of the people I know or that read my reviews. It's just too much, and also not enough when it comes to plot, to keep the average movie-goer engaged or entertained. Must people will be completely turned off by this work in less than 15 minutes.

 

For the 2% that crave the insanely weird, CLIMAX will give you what you want, but it may give you more than you bargained for.

 

Posted by on in Movie Reviews

CAPTAIN MARVEL

Rated: PG-13

Release Date: March 8, 2019

Directors: Anna Boden and Ryan Fleck

Stars: Brie Larson, Samuel L. Jackson, Ben Mendelsohn, Gemma Chan

Plot: A woman who can't remember her past must piece things together in order to figure out how to save an alien race from annihilation

Trailer

 

Clint Says: Wait until after opening weekend, but see this in theaters

 

 

I don't envy anyone who is tasked with writing or directing an origin story. It is incredibly difficult to get through all of the important, but tedious information, and get to the action without boring the audience. MARVEL, for the most part, has done a great job at making its origin stories informative and exciting. This film is no exception. In fact, I would put this one up on the level of the IRON MAN origin story.

 

CAPTAIN MARVEL takes us back to the early 1990's. It is a blast to see all of the throwbacks, hear the music, and enjoy a world where most people didn't know what the internet was. It's also a lot of fun for MARVEL fans to see the beginnings of some of their favorite characters.

 

The story is told well and it has great pacing. This is one of the shorter MARVEL films clocking in at just over two hours. The good news is that it doesn't feel long at all. There is enough excitement, action, and mystery throughout to keep the audience engaged the whole time.

 

Brie Larson is fantastic as Captain Marvel, she straddles the lines between superhero, military pilot, and an alien with no long term memories seamlessly. The rest of the cast around her is just as good. There is great chemistry between most of the characters, and the dialogue is fun and funny.

 

If you are a MARVEL fan, this film is a must-see. It's not the best of the bunch, but it it really good. There are a ton of Easter eggs throughout the movie of things we already know thanks to all of the other films that have been made. There are also several references to events we have yet to see play out on the big screen.

 

If you've never seen a MARVEL comic book movie, but are interested in giving them a shot, this is a great starting point since it is the first film in chronological order.

 

This is also the first live-action MARVEL film released since the death of MARVEL creator Stan Lee. The tribute to him is moving and appropriate. Thankfully, he was able to film a cameo for this film before his death, so we get to see him one more time.

Posted by on in Movie Reviews

A MADEA FAMILY FUNERAL

Rated: PG-13

Release Date: March 1, 2019

Director: Tyler Perry

Stars: Tyler Perry, Cassi Davis, Patrice Lovely

Plot: The whole family gets together for a funeral, but there is a lot of drama happening behind the scenes

Trailer

 

Clint Says: Wait for the digital release

 

 

I was pleasantly surprised by this film. Typically, Tyler Perry doesn't like to bother with things like plot, or character development, or multiple takes to get a scene right. But he seems to have put a lot more effort into this MADEA film than the last couple. 

 

This film has several funny moments, some compelling drama, characters that the viewer can care about, and I didn't notice a single overdub of dialogue. For the first time in a long time I'm happy to say that this is a Tyler Perry film that is worth seeing. Now, that doesn't mean you should spend theater prices to see it, but when it is released digitally it will be worth the rental. 

 

Perry also discovered the magic of the editing room. Instead of having ad lib scenes that drag on seemingly endlessly, his "entourage" hit with their best jokes and then moved on quickly to something else. It's refreshing to see a MADEA film with good pacing.

 

This may be the best MADEA film since the original. It's not great by any stretch of the imagination, but it is funny enough and entertaining enough to make for a fun evening.

 

As always, stick around through the credits for the outtakes, they are the best part of the movie. 

Posted by on in Movie Reviews

GRETA

Rated: R

Release Date: March 1, 2019

Director: Neil Jordan

Stars: Isabelle Huppert, Chloe Grace Moretz, Maika Monroe

Plot: A seemingly nice, but lonely woman befriends a naive girl, and things take a dark turn

Trailer

 

Clint Says: Save some money and see a matinee

 

 

If you are in need of a lot of crazy in your life, let me introduce you to a movie called GRETA. This 90-minute cinematic dream-turned-nightmare grabs it's freak flag, waves it high and then tries to stab you in the heart with it.

 

The unfortunate thing with this movie though is that the first 45 minutes are dreadfully slow and forced. It feels like things are supposed to be happening, but they aren't. It feels like the movie wants you to think things are suspenseful, but they aren't. It feels like it takes a really long time to set everything up just so we can watch it all fall.

 

But, oh, what a fall.

 

About 10 minutes after you realize that Huppert's character is completely off her rocker, the film shifts into high gear and speeds towards the finish line. The last act is a whirlwind of insanity, gruesome violence and terrifying suspense. It is so intense and psychotic that it almost makes up for the slow, boring start.

 

Almost, but not quite.

 

If you do go see this movie, make sure you plan all of your bathroom breaks for the first half of the movie. Because once it gets going you'll be glued to your seat either in amazement or fear.

 

If you are in the mood for a wild, psychotic, suspenseful thriller, the second half of this movie will more than satisfy, just know that you are pre-paying by enduring the lack of pacing in the first act.

HOW TO TRAIN YOUR DRAGON: THE HIDDEN WORLD

Rated: PG

Release Date: February 22, 2019

Director: Dean DeBlois

Stars: Jay Baruchel, America Ferrera, F. Murray Abraham, Cate Blanchett

Plot: Everything and everyone in Berk is in danger, so Hiccup must become the leader they need and find a place for them to live in peace

Trailer

 

Clint Says: Drop everything and go see this in theaters now

 

 

The first film in this franchise was so spectacular, the animation was so far ahead of it's time, that I never thought they would be able to capture the magic in a sequel. Then they did.

 

And now, they have managed to do it again.

 

Once again, the story is fantastic and compelling, the action is fast-paced and entertaining, the animation is still better than most animated films, and it is emotionally deep while still being a light-hearted kids' film.

 

Very rarely does an animated film evoke a wide range of emotions, but this one will make you feel all sorts of things. It is full of laughs, but if you can make it through the entire film without shedding a tear you might want to check your pulse.

 

The only thing that keeps this movie from being nearly perfect is an annoying plot hole associated with a villain that isn't nearly as well developed as the other characters. The villain is really smart, but his reasoning and execution are flawed.

 

If you saw the first two films in this franchise and liked them, you will be really happy with this third and final installment. If you haven't seen the other films yet, I highly recommend you binge all of them this weekend.

Posted by on in Movie Reviews

FIGHTING WITH MY FAMILY

Rated: PG-13

Release Date: February 22, 2019

Director: Stephen Merchant

Stars: Florence Pugh, Lena Headey, Vince Vaughn, Nick Frost

Plot: A girl from a small English town does whatever it takes to make it to the top of the pro wrestling world

Trailer

 

Clint Says: Wait until after opening weekend, but see this in theaters

 

 

I've never been a fan of pro wrestling, so I went into this movie knowing nothing about the real story. I can't be certain of which way is better to see it, knowing or not knowing, but what I can say is that I was fully entertained and completely engrossed in the story the whole time. I did talk to a couple of big-time fans after the movie, and they both loved it as well.

 

I was surprised that a movie about the WWE could be so full of emotion. It has moments where you will be laughing, some where you will be upset, and others where you will totally feel the pain of the characters on screen.

 

What makes this film so great is that it is a character-driven film, and every character has a unique voice, flaws, a purpose, and an emotional character arc. That is a very difficult task to achieve in any film, especially one that has so many players. It is quite a feat to make the characters all so compelling that the audience feels for each one and is invested in their journey. This movie does just that.

 

This is a wonderful film with lots of emotion, lots of actions, and a lot of laughs. It's a great date night flick.

Posted by on in Movie Reviews

ISN'T IT ROMANTIC

Rated: PG-13

Release Date: February 14, 2019

Director: Todd Strauss-Schulson

Stars: Rebel Wilson, Liam Hemsworth, Adam Devine, Priyanka Chopra

Plot: A woman hits her head and wakes up to find herself in a romantic comedy version of her life

Trailer

 

Clint Says: Save some money and see a matinee

 

 

For those of you that love RomComs, but also find them to be completely formulaic and cliche, this may be the perfect film for you. It has all of the fun and emotion of a RomCom, but it also makes fun of the genre at the same time.

 

Rebel Wilson is okay in the movie. She plays the exact same character that she plays in every other movie she's ever been in, but she does have a few funny moments. Adam Devine completely steals the show. He is funny, charming, and totally likable from beginning to end.

 

Overall, it is a fairly funny film, but it isn't one that is going to leave your jaw hurting from all of the laughter. What it lacks in comedy, it makes up for in charm. It is a feel good film for sure.

 

This may not be a great movie, but it is one that is totally worth a girl's night out. So, grab your friends, get some popcorn and candy, and make a fun night out of this flick.

Posted by on in Movie Reviews

HAPPY DEATH DAY 2U

Rated: PG-13

Release Date: February 14, 2019

Director: Christopher Landon

Stars: Jessica Rothe, Israel Broussard, Phi Vu, Rachel Matthews

Plot: Tree is unwillingly pulled back into the time loop that trapped her before, but this time she knows why and has to figure everything out to end the cycle before she is gone forever

Trailer

 

Clint Says: Drop everything and go see this in theaters now

 

 

 

The first film in this franchise was a thrilling surprise. It's not exactly a horror film in the truest sense of the genre, but it is one of my favorite horror films of all time.

 

And this one is even better.

 

Yes, you read that right. The sequel is better than the original. It is so much fun, and smart, and scientifically nerdtastic all the way through. The characters are great, the acting is way above average for a horror flick, and the story is compelling and exciting enough to keep the viewer engaged.

 

The story is filled with a lot of twists and turns, funny moments, surprising character depth and emotion, and suspense. You can try to figure out the twists, but I'll be surprised if anyone figures it out before the big reveal. (Even though there are plenty of hints).

 

This is much more of a comedy/mystery/suspense film than a true horror flick. So, if you aren't into the horror genre, it's okay, you can still see this one, because it really isn't that scary at all. I do highly recommend seeing the first film in the franchise before you go to this one. There are a lot of inside jokes that will only be funny if you see them in order.

 

For horror fans, and fans of the first film, this is a must see movie.

Posted by on in Movie Reviews

ALITA: BATTLE ANGEL

Rated: PG-13

Release Date: February 14, 2019

Director: Robert Rodriguez

Stars: Rosa Salazar, Christoph Waltz, Keenan Johnson, Mahershala Ali

Plot: A re-built cyborg girl must battle to save her friends, family, and herself, while she tries to find out who she is and where she came from

Trailer

 

Clint Says: Save some money and see a matinee

 

 

 

For some reason Hollywood loves to turn graphic novels into movies, but very rarely does it translate into a successful film. Sure, many of them become cult classics, like SCOTT PILGRIM VS. THE WORLD, but that movie lost more than $13 Million on production budget alone. ALITA has a $200 Million production budget to overcome. That's a lot of manga fans seeing this movie more than once just to get to break even.

 

As for the movie, it is pretty good. It's filled with fast-paced action and incredible fight scenes. The story is interesting, which is a nice surprise because a lot of origin stories are pretty boring. The special effects are fantastic. And the character dynamics are filled with complex issues and conflict.

 

The film is visually amazing. Virtually every scene is filled with fantastic scenery and props. The costumes and characters are equally interesting. There are a couple of times where the pacing of the film is off, but the scenery is enough to keep the viewer engaged.

 

If you like Japanese manga or graphic novels you should give this movie a shot. If you are a fan of action films, this one might be worth your time and money. If you aren't a fan of Sci-Fi and Fantasy, you should probably skip this one. It is good, but it's not good enough to hold the attention of people that tend not to see films of this ilk.

Posted by on in Movie Reviews

THE PRODIGY

Rated: R

Release Date: February 8, 2019

Director: Nicholas McCarthy

Stars: Taylor Schilling, Jackson Robert Scott, Colm Feore

Plot: A young boy shows signs of being a genius, but there is also a dark side to his gift

Trailer

 

Clint Says: Wait for the digital release

 

 

This isn't a great horror flick by any stretch of the imagination. The good news is that it isn't terrible either. If you are in the mood to be scared, this film will satisfy.

 

The best part of this movie is that it doesn't rely on jump scares, the story is creepy enough to tingle your spine. It could stand to be a little bit scarier, but it's better than average when it comes to the creepiness factor.

 

There are two big issues with this movie. The first is that they use a lot of conveniences to get through the story. They introduce a certain sciency plot point, but then they alter the science behind it several times to keep the story moving forward. The second is that the big reveal is so obvious that you'll be pretty annoyed that it takes the hero so long to figure it out. It can't even really be considered a twist because it seems so obvious to everyone except the people in the movie.

 

The good news is these issues can be somewhat ignored and the movie can still be enjoyed on some level. I don't think this movie is worth the price of a theater ticket, but it is one worth seeing on your couch with all of the lights off.

Posted by on in Movie Reviews

THE LEGO MOVIE 2: THE SECOND PART

Rated: PG

Release Date: February 8, 2019

Director: Mike Mitchell

Stars: Chris Pratt, Elizabeth Banks, Will Arnett, Tiffany Haddish

Plot: Emmet must go on a daring adventure to the Sistar System to save his friends from invaders

Trailer

 

Clint Says: Wait until after opening weekend, but see this in theaters

 

 

The Lego movie franchise is easily one of the best movie franchises of all time. So far, every film has been incredible. This one is no exception.

 

THE LEGO MOVIE 2: THE SECOND PART is fantastically funny, irreverent, exciting, and interesting for kids and adults of all ages. Yes, it does feel a little bit too much like the first movie, but there are enough new characters and story lines to make it worth the price of admission.

 

Possibly the best part of this film is how it makes fun of itself and other major movie franchises. If you are a comic book movie fan you will have several opportunities to laugh while your children look at you like you are crazy.

 

If you are a fan of the first Lego film you should put this one on your list of must see films. There aren't a lot of family-friendly movies that are worth theater prices, but this one absolutely is.

Posted by on in Movie Reviews

WHAT MEN WANT

Rated: R

Release Date: February 8, 2019

Director: Adam Shankman

Stars: Taraji P. Henson, Josh Brener, Aldis Hodge, Tracy Morgan

Plot: A driven woman gains the ability to hear men's thoughts and uses that gift to try to better her career

Trailer

 

Clint Says: Wait for the digital release

 

 

It's been 19 years since the Mel Gibson/Helen Hunt snoozefest WHAT WOMEN WANT hit theaters. Now, we have a gender-flipped version of the film that is just as uninteresting as the first.

 

The biggest problem with the movie is how unlikable Taraji P. Henson's character is. She doesn't have a character arc. She has a flat line with a spike in the last 10 minutes. Her character is mean, obnoxious, and stubborn in every aspect of her life. And even though there is plenty of opportunity for her to get it and start to change along the way, she never does until the very end when it all hits at once.

 

I mean, come on, even Scrooge started to realize the error of his ways in the middle of A CHRISTMAS STORY.

 

Josh Brener and Aldis Hodge are fun to watch. They give the movie some much needed warmth and compassion. The rest of the cast does a decent job of moving the story forward, but nobody steals the show.

 

The movie does have a few laughs, but that is about it. Even though it is formulaic, it never hots the emotional tones that is should. This is mainly due to Henson's character being so self-serving. It even got to the point when she was having problems with her boyfriend that I was rooting for the guy to leave her for good.

 

I can't recommend paying money to see this movie. If you really want to see it, just wait until it comes out digitally. There is nothing in the movie that makes it necessary to see it on the big screen, so save yourself a few bucks and see it in a couple of months.

Posted by on in Movie Reviews

COLD PURSUIT

Rated: R

Release Date: February 8, 2019

Director: Hans Petter Moland

Stars: Liam Neeson, Laura Dern, Tom Bateman, Emmy Rossum

Plot: A snow plow driver tries to get to the drug lord that killed his son

Trailer

 

Clint Says: Wait for the digital release and make someone else rent it

 

 

They should have named this movie SLOW PURSUIT. This is easily one of the slowest and boring movies I've seen in a long time. After this film was delivered to the studio, the editor should have been fired and someone else should have come in and cut another 30 minutes out of it.

 

This movie has no idea what it wants to be. It tries to be this tough drug war flick, but at the same time it tries to be a campy comedy. Because of that it fails miserably at both. There were times where I could tell that the director wanted me to laugh, but the content wasn't funny.

 

And then there is the bad guy. Ladies and gentlemen, Tom Bateman should have to write a letter of apology to anyone that pays to see this movie. His acting is so bad that I was literally cringing when he was on the screen.

 

The studio should take all of the copies of this movie and go dump them in a large pile of snow, then run them over with a snowplow, then throw them over a waterfall. (That last one will make sense if you are unlucky enough to have to see this movie). Save yourself the mental frostbite and skip this one.

Posted by on in Movie Reviews

THEY SHALL NOT GROW OLD

Rated: R

Release Date: February 1, 2019

Director: Peter Jackson

Stars: The soldiers of World War I

Plot: A new and technologically innovative look at the British soldiers that fought in the trenches in France during the first World War

Trailer

 

Clint Says: Drop everything and see this movie now

 

 

Very rarely do I see a historical documentary that is so utterly compelling that I want to tell the world they need to see it as soon as possible. This is one of those rare ones. 

 

For lovers of film and filming technique, this may be one of the greatest accomplishments in film of all time. To take 100 year old film and digitally restore, color, and make it 3D is a technological marvel. The painstaking attention to detail is evident in every single frame. If for no other reason, this film should be seen because of the technical aspects.

 

But then there is the story. It is told in such a powerful and emotional way, but at the same time it feels so down-to-earth and ordinary. There are moments throughout the film where I was feeling all kinds of emotions, but then I would realize that the guys telling the stories, the ones that actually lived the truth, were telling these tales in such a matter-of -fact way that it was almost comical at times. They talked about getting shot, losing friends, losing limbs as if they were talking about taking the dog for a walk. These are some of the toughest people to ever walk the earth.

 

It is fascinating to see the soldiers and hear the voices of these brave souls 100 years on. The film lends a new level of respect to what they had to endure and for how long. 

 

The documentary is only 90 minutes long, but there is a 30 minute technical discussion with Director Peter Jackson after the credits that is just as compelling as the documentary. To see some of the film in its original state and then to see what Jackson's team was able to do with it is mind-boggling. 

 

This is not an easy documentary to watch, but it is one that you should see.