Reviews Of What Is In Theaters Now

Recent blog posts

Posted by on in Movie Reviews

MARSHALL
Rated: PG-13

Release Date: October 13, 2017

Director: Reginald Hudlin

Stars: Chadwick Boseman, Josh Gad, Kate Hudson, Sterling K. Brown

Plot: The story of the rise of Thurgood Marshall through the Joseph Spell trial

Trailer

 

Clint Says: Drop everything and go see this movie now

 

 

While this film doesn't give you a history lesson on the life and successes of Justice Marshall, it does give you a good sense of the man and his driving forces. The story is powerful and provoking, the direction and editing are masterful, and the acting is incredible. 

 

Boseman controls the screen just as Marshall could control a room. Gad gives, arguably, the best performance of his career. And, while I know it is a long shot, Sterling K. Brown deserves an Oscar nod for his portrayal of Joseph Spell. His work in this film is nothing short of perfection. 

 

This film may or may not stand up well when it gets to awards season. There are still a lot of big contenders waiting to be released. Either way, this is a movie that should not be missed. It is just as entertaining as it is important and educational. 

Posted by on in Movie Reviews

HAPPY DEATH DAY

Rated: PG-13

Release Date: October 13, 2017

Director: Christopher Landon

Stars: Jessica Rothe, Israel Broussard

Plot: A coed must relive the day of her murder over and over until she figures out who killed her

Trailer

 

Clint Says: Wait until after opening weekend, but see this in theaters

 

 

If you like horror films, you'll probably find this one to be fun and somewhat unique. The premise is odd and never explained, but as long as you are willing to just go with it and enjoy the story for what it is, you'll most likely be satisfied. 

 

The best thing I can say for this movie is that I didn't have one single moment where I rolled my eyes at the stupidity on the screen. As campy as it is, the story is actually fairly smart and interesting. 

 

There are some good twists and turns that will keep you engaged. And, for a horror flick, the acting is pretty good. 

 

If you need a couple of good scares, this film will be well worth your time and money. 

Posted by on in Movie Reviews

THE FOREIGNER

Rated: R

Release Date: October 13, 2017

Director: Martin Campbell

Stars: Jackie Chan, Pierce Brosnan

Plot: A father tries to hunt down the terrorists that killed his daughter

Trailer

 

Clint Says: Save some money and see a matinee

 

 

On the surface, this is an intriguing and compelling action movie. Unfortunately, it gets bogged down in the politics of the IRA to the point where it is difficult to figure out who knows what and who did what to whom. 

 

Jackie Chan does a great job in his role as a tormented father. Pierce Brosnan makes an interesting adversary. But the secondary characters are paper thin at best. It's tough to care about the complex story when you don't really care about the characters and their well being.

 

This is the kind of film that is interesting to watch, but you'll forget what it was about in a few weeks. There isn't anything special or powerful that will stick with you. If you need to see an action flick, this one will do, but it isn't going to be one that you will want to own when it is digitally released. 

 

Posted by on in Movie Reviews


MY LITTLE PONY: THE MOVIE

Rated: PG

Release Date: October 6, 2017

Director: Jayson Thiessen

Stars: Emily Blunt, Kristin Chenoweth, Liev Schreiber, Uzo Aduba

Plot: The ponies must band together when an evil pony and the Storm King try to take over Equestria

Trailer

 

Clint Says: Wait until after opening weekend, but see this in theaters

 

 

Here's the deal. You don't need a review for this movie. If you are the parent or guardian of a young girl that likes MY LITTLE PONY, take them to see this movie. They will love it. 

 

You will probably want to scratch your eyes out and jab pointy sticks into your ears, but this isn't about you. 

 

My only reviewish point that I will make is that my 5 year old was a bit frightened at a couple of fairly intense scenes. She is very much on the timid side, so for most kids this won't be an issue, but it should be noted just in case. 

 

There are dreadfully few movies that come out targeted at young girls, so treat them to a fun day at the movies with a film they will really enjoy. 

 

(PRO TIP: Sneak in a flask of whiskey...it'll make the movie soooo much better for you). 

Posted by on in Movie Reviews

BLADE RUNNER 2049

Rated: R

Release Date: October 6, 2017

Director: Denis Villeneuve

Stars: Ryan Gosling, Harrison Ford, Ana De Armas, Jared Leto

Plot: A Blade Runner discovers a secret that may change the course of history, especially if it falls into the wrong hands

Trailer

 

Clint Says: Save some money and see a matinee

 

 

This may be one of the biggest movies of the year. It's big budget, big production, big in scope, big-name actors, big sound, and big expectations. 

 

Unfortunately, the movie itself is medium-sized when it comes to how good it is. I would probably put it in the top 20 films I've seen this year, but it's not even close to the top 10, and we still have a ton of great films to be released this year. 

 

The soundtrack by Hans Zimmer is incredible. It's loud, disturbing, and perfect for the film. I liked it better than the movie. 

 

The rest of the film is a tough pill to swallow. It's 2 1/2 hours long, it's slow, and Ryan Gosling gives a bland performance. There are at least 45 minutes that could have been cut out of this film and it would have been a better film with the same story. 

 

If you are a fan of the original movie, you will enjoy how this one ties into that one, answering several important questions along the way. Other Sci-Fi fans are going to enjoy this movie as well. It is an epic, but not great, movie in the genre. 

 

If you are looking for a fast-paced action flick, this is not a good choice. It is very much a dialogue-driven film with a few moments of action. 

 

The bottom line is: If you want to see something big, go see BLADE RUNNER 2049. If you want to see something great, wait another few weeks for the holiday releases. 

Posted by on in Movie Reviews

THE MOUNTAIN BETWEEN US

Rated: PG-13

Release Date: October 6, 2017

Director: Hany Abu-Assad

Stars: Idris Elba, Kate Winslet

Plot: Two strangers help each other to survive after a plane crash in the wilderness

Trailer

 

Clint Says: Wait for the DVD

 

 

If you've ever watched a movie and had a moment where you see something about to happen in the story and your whole person wants to yell at the screen to tell the actors, "don't do it!", you'll know how I felt for the last half of this film. 

 

The good news is this movie gives you some good suspense and beautiful scenery. Beyond that the film is slow and the story is not worth your theater dollars. The acting is fine, but there isn't a lot of good material for them to work with. 

 

There isn't anything that happens in this film that makes it worth seeing on the big screen. Just wait for the digital release. That way, when you get to the "don't do it!" part you can skip over it. 

Posted by on in Movie Reviews

FLATLINERS

Rated: PG-13

Release Date: September 29, 2017

Director: Niels Arden Oplev

Stars: Ellen Page, Diego Luna, Nina Dobrev

Plot: Five medical students try to find out if there is life after death, but horrors await them

Trailer

 

Clint Says: Wait for the DVD and make someone else rent it

 

 

Well, that was two hours I'll never get back. 

 

Throw on top of it that I'm pretty sure I am dumber for having witnessed this mess, and the conclusion is this is a really bad movie. 

 

It's slow, it doesn't explain anything, it can't decide if it wants to be a suspenseful thriller or a slasher flick, and it gives us some of the worst editing and storytelling we've seen in quite some time. (There was one jump cut that was so bad that I literally said, "what the heck was that?" out loud...to an empty theater).

 

Perhaps the worst part about this film though is that I never once cared about any of the main characters. They are all jerks or worse. They are arrogant. And, to be quite honest, I was pretty annoyed that more of them didn't die. 

 

There are tons of great movies getting ready to hit the theaters, don't waste your money on this junk. 

Posted by on in Movie Reviews

AMERICAN MADE

Rated: R

Release Date: September 29, 2017

Director: Doug Liman

Stars: Tom Cruise, Domhnall Gleeson, Sarah Wright

Plot: The story of a CIA pilot running guns for the Contras in the 1980's and the mayhem that surrounded him

Trailer

 

Clint Says: Wait until after opening weekend, but see this in theaters

 

 

Imagine if Maverick from TOP GUN left the military, joined the CIA and made millions smuggling drugs and guns for the US government. Well, you don't have to imagine it...you can watch Tom Cruise play it out in AMERICAN MADE. (Not the Top Gun part, but hey, it's Tom Cruise flying a plane...I had to go there).

 

If the real story is even half as true as this movie, Barry Seal was an insane genius.

 

From the very beginning of this movie it makes you strap in and hold on for dear life for nearly two hours. There are a couple of moments where you'll be wishing that an oxygen mask would drop out of the ceiling just so you can catch your breath.

 

Tom Cruise is at his Tom-Cruiseiest in this flick. From the slow swagger walk to the innocent half-smile there isn't a moment where he doesn't dominate the screen.

 

The film is funny, exciting, crazy, and fascinating. It isn't one that is going to get the attention of the awards voters, but for those of us that love going to the movies for fun entertainment, this is a near perfect film.

Posted by on in Movie Reviews

BATTLE OF THE SEXES

Rated: PG-13

Release Date: September 29, 2017

Director: Jonathan Dayton, Valerie Faris

Stars: Emma Stone, Steve Carell

Plot: Based on the story of the famous tennis match between Bobby Riggs and Billie Jean King

Trailer


Clint Says: Wait for the DVD

 

 

I was really looking forward to seeing this movie for several reasons. First, the real-life match has lived on in infamy for 40-something years now. Second, Emma Stone and Steve Carell are two of my favorite actors. And finally, who doesn't like a good-natured man versus woman story?

 

Then I saw the movie. (Insert The Price Is Right loser sound here).

 

The trailers made this movie look like it was going to be all about the match and the lead up to the match, instead we get a long slow story about their relationships and the endless fighting BJK had to do for equal pay. (Don't get me wrong, those are interesting and valid story lines, it's just not what we were sold with the trailers).

 

If you ever saw any of the coverage of the press conferences Riggs and BJK had, you know that there is a lot of material there for an interesting story. The film does a really poor job at getting into the rivalry between Billie Jean King and Margaret Court. It touches on it, and it feels like it is a significant part of the film, but it never goes anywhere but a surface rivalry.

 

Stone and Carell are outstanding in their performances. Unfortunately, they were given a bad script with which to work. The rest of the cast is fine, but even the main secondary characters are hardly developed.

 

If you go see this movie, just know going in that it is a slow-moving, relationship-heavy story, rather than the fun, funny, and exciting film we see in the trailers.

Posted by on in Movie Reviews

'TIL DEATH DO US PART

Rated: PG-13

Release Date: September 29, 2017

Director: Chris Stokes

Stars: Annie Ilonzeh, Taye Diggs, Stephen Bishop, Robinne Lee

Plot: A woman tries to escape from her abusive husband

Trailer

 

Clint Says: Save some money and see a matinee

 

 

This is the latest offering in the long line of formulaic, scorned lover films with catchy titles, like WHEN THE BOUGH BREAKS and THE PERFECT GUY.

 

It's not a bad movie, but it isn't great either. It feels a lot like an above average Lifetime movie. The storytelling is jumpy, the pacing is all over the place, the continuity is an afterthought, and the acting is okay at best. 

 

If you are in the mood for a decent thriller this film will be okay. I highly doubt that very many people will come out of this movie thinking it is outstanding. It's just one of those films that will give you something to do for 90 minutes, then you'll go on about your evening. 

 

If you do want to see it, I would recommend waiting until the digital release. There really isn't any reason to see this on the big screen. You'll get the same feelings and emotions from watching it on your computer in your comfy bed as you would in a theater. 

Posted by on in Movie Reviews

WOODSHOCK

Rated: R

Release Date: September 29, 2017

Director: Kate Mulleavy, Laura Mulleavy

Stars: Kirsten Dunst, Joe Cole, Pilou Asbaek

Plot: A drug-using woman loses her mind

Trailer


Clint Says: Don't even bother

 

 

Away! To my made up dictionary we go!


WOODSHOCK - noun - (WUD shawk) - The stiff, comatose, yet painful stinging sensation

of one's body and brain after having to watch a movie made by people with way more

money than sense and are friends with studio people that have the power to make poor

decisions.

In context: Holy crap! I just saw the new Kirsten Dunst film and I am in complete

woodshock.

 

This is a case study in people with a ton of money and influence thinking it is easy to make a movie. The Mulleavy sisters either need to spend some time in film school, or they need to go back to the fashion world. I'm sure they are very nice people, and I would love to see them succeed, but this effort is a complete disaster.

 

If you look at the high points of this film there is actually a really compelling story that would be incredible to watch if it were done right. Unfortunately, the writing and directing is so bad that this movie in its current form is nearly unwatchable.

 

I'm pretty sure that Kirsten Dunst does a good job of acting like a drugged-out person, but then again, shuffling around and barely delivering your lines could also be signs of bad acting.

 

The bottom line is this: There is zero reason for anyone to ever see this film. It's not powerful or enlightening, there isn't a deep, emotional meaning or connection to be made, it's simply a terrible movie.

Posted by on in Movie Reviews

THE LEGO NINJAGO MOVIE

Rated: PG

Release Date: September 22, 2017

Director: Charlie Bean, Paul Fisher

Stars: Dave Franco, Justin Theroux, Jackie Chan, Abbi Jacobson

Plot: A group of young ninjas are trying to save their city from a master of evil

Trailer


Clint Says: Wait until after opening weekend, but see this in theaters

 

 

As far as animated movies go, this one is outstanding. However, in the LEGO universe of movies this one is a distant 3rd when compared to THE LEGO MOVIE and THE LEGO BATMAN MOVIE. It is fun and irreverent like the Lego films before it, but it is quite a bit slower and much less entertaining than its predecessors.

 

If you have kids that love Legos take them to see this movie. They will enjoy it thoroughly. The good news is that there is enough entertainment to keep adults interested as well. (You won't be as excited to see it as your kids, but at least you won't be squirming like a toddler waiting for the pain to end).

 

The story teaches some good lessons for kids, and it does it in a real way. It is a thoughtful story told in a way that makes it worth seeing for 100+ minutes.

 

It's been a pretty lean summer for animated films. This one starts autumn off in strong form.

Posted by on in Movie Reviews

KINGSMAN: THE GOLDEN CIRCLE

Rated: R

Release Date: September 22, 2017

Director: Matthew Vaughn

Stars: Taron Egerton, Mark Strong, Colin Firth, Channing Tatum

Plot: The Kingsmen learn about their American counterparts when they come under attack by a crazy drug lord

Trailer


Clint Says: Save some money and see a matinee

 

 

Ladies and gentlemen, Sir Elton John kicking butt karate-style while wearing a feather suit and diamond-studded high-heel boots. That is all you need to know about the awesomeness of this movie.  Seriously, Elton John completely steals the show.

 

If you didn't see the first KINGSMAN film, you need to do so before jumping into this one. If you haven't seen the first one, this one will make sense, but you will miss out on a lot of character depth and development as well as some continued story lines. Don't worry though, the first film is totally worth watching.

 

For those of you that saw the first one and can't wait for this one, just know that it isn't as good as the first. It's still a really good film, just not the outstanding cinematic brilliance that the first film was.

 

This film has some slow moments and the villain isn't convincing at all, but aside from that it's a fun, entertaining movie that is full of incredible action and cool technology. It won't be your favorite movie you see this year, but you can't go wrong seeing this one in theaters.

Posted by on in Movie Reviews

FRIEND REQUEST

Rated: R

Release Date: September 22, 2017

Director: Simon Verhoeven

Stars: Alycia Debnam-Carey, William Mosley, Connor Paolo

Plot: A girl accepts the friend request of an outcast, but that leads to horrific events in her life

Trailer


Clint Says: Wait for the DVD and make someone else rent it

 

 

Well, this is the one. It's the movie after the movie. The first horror flick released after IT hit theaters. Because of that there is no doubt that the two movies are going to be compared to one another. There is only one problem with that.

 

There is no comparison.

 

Where IT was smart, suspenseful, and had a compelling story, FRIEND REQUEST plays to your base fears, it's not even remotely scary unless you count the "jump out and say boo" moments, and the story is ridiculously lame.

 

It takes forever for this movie to even get going, and once it finally starts going somewhere, the direction it takes is so stupid and unrealistic that even fans of the cheesiest of horror flicks will be rolling their eyes at this one.

 

This film has been on the shelf for almost 2 years now, it probably would have been better if they had just left it there.

 

If you need good scares, go see IT.

Posted by on in Movie Reviews

AMERICAN ASSASSIN

Rated: R

Release Date: September 15, 2017

Director: Michael Cuesta

Stars: Dylan O'Brien, Michael Keaton, Sanaa Lathan

Plot: A man uses the tragedies in his life, and the training he gets to help bring down terrorists all over the world

Trailer

 

Clint Says: Save some money and see a matinee

 

 

 

If you are looking for a decent action flick with a somewhat intriguing plot, this film is a great choice. If you need things like character development, character depth,  or bad guys with a legitimate reason for being bad, you should skip this movie.

 

Dylan O'Brien and Michael Keaton are wonderful in their roles, everyone else plays stereotypical, one-dimensional characters that only serve to move the plot forward in a convenient way.

 

The film does have good action, moments of suspense, and it's fast-paced. It will give you some good thrills and you'll find yourself holding your breath during a few scenes.

 

But, this movie also has poor graphics, predictable plot points, and about 20 minutes of extra scenes that should have been cut from the final draft.

 

It's not a bad film, but it also isn't one that will leave you pumped up or wanting to see it again. Chances are, you'll have a tough time remembering the plot by the time this movie comes out digitally.

Posted by on in Movie Reviews

MOTHER!

Rated: R

Release Date: September 15, 2017

Director: Darren Aronofsky

Stars: Jennifer Lawrence, Javier Bardem, Ed Harris, Michelle Pfeiffer

Plot: A woman tries to be a good wife, but her husband is more interested in his fame and creativity

Trailer

 

Clint Says: Don't even bother

 

 

I just finished seeing this film and I have no idea what I just saw. What I can tell you is that it was ridiculously slow for about 2/3 of the movie, and the other 1/3 was so over-the-top weird that people were walking out of the theater while others spent the whole time laughing...and not in a good way. 

 

Jennifer Lawrence's acting is stiff and plastic. Javier Bardem, one of my favorite actors, is just plain terrible in this flick. The rest of the cast is either creepy in a bad way, or spends all of their time on screen overacting. 

 

This is the kind of film where even the Hollywood elites are going to say, "what on earth was that?" There is nothing in this movie that makes it even remotely worth watching. In fact, a good chunk of the film is repulsive and annoying. 

 

If someone asks you to go see MOTHER! you should kindly steer them in another direction. It will be for the best for both of you. 

 

Posted by on in Movie Reviews

IT

Rated: R

Release Date: September 8, 2017

Director: Andy Mushietti

Stars: Bill Skarsgard, Jaeden Lieberher, Sophia Lillis, Jeremy Ray Taylor

Plot: Several kids set out on a quest to find out what is demonizing their small town

Trailer


Clint Says: Drop everything and go see this movie now

 

 

IT is terrifying.

 

IT is incredible.

 

IT is incredibly terrifying.

 

(As I am writing this review the light in my office has decided that now is the perfect time to flicker. I'm about half a second away from peeing my pants and running from the office while screaming at the top of my lungs.

 

I swear, if I hear laughter or someone say "You'll float, too" right now, you are going to have to peel my dead body off of the ceiling.

 

Now, back to the review).

 

What makes the film incredible isn't the scary stuff, but rather the amazing acting and the well-written script. This is as much a coming-of-age movie as it is a horror flick.

 

Not only is Bill Skarsgard ridiculously creepy as Pennywise the Dancing Clown, but he acts the part in a convincing way. There is even a moment where you start to believe he's just a normal circus clown.

 

The kids in this movie are spectacular as well. The film is set in the mid-1980s and this crew nails it. Their jargon, expressions, even down to the way they carry themselves just screams of the 80s. Also, their characters are all well and deeply developed. There is some serious stuff going on in the lives of these kids aside from the demonic clown that is trying to eat them.

 

As with most horror flicks, this one does have its fair share of plot holes and moments of convenience. It would have been nice if they had taken the time to make the film slightly "smarter," but those are minor issues when compared to the overall greatness of the film.

 

If you like horror films this one has to be on your must see list. If you aren't sure, but you really kind of want to see it, go with a friend that is okay with you jumping into their arms, punching them in the legs, and then still willing to scoop your lifeless body off of the sticky theater floor when the movie ends.

Posted by on in Movie Reviews

HOME AGAIN

Rated: PG-13

Release Date: September 8, 2017

Director: Hallie Meyers-Shyer

Stars: Reese Witherspoon, Pico Alexander, Nat Wolff,  Jon Rudnitsky

Plot: Three young guys move into the home of a newly-separated single mom

Trailer

 

Clint Says:Wait for the DVD

 

 

Apparently, the Rom-Com has died. 

 

This film isn't even really a true, formulaic Romantic Comedy, but it's the closest thing to a Rom-Com that Hollywood has put on the big screen in close to a year. (And that's only if you consider a movie like LA LA LAND to be in the Rom-Com genre). 

 

If you like that style of film, then by all means, go see this one. It's not a film that is going to blow your mind or even one that you will remember for months, but it does have several good moments that make it worth seeing in a world where we don't get a lot of films like this anymore. 

 

If you are just looking for a good movie, you should probably go ahead and skip this one. It's full of contrived emotion because the characters are constantly, and unrealistically, making mountains out of mole hills. It's predictable from beginning to end. And most of the movie is plain and boring. 

 

It's isn't a terrible movie. It's fairly pleasant, but it's nowhere near as good as films like BRIDGET JONES for example. 

 

If you need a Rom-Com fix, this will most likely fit the bill. Otherwise, just skip it. 

Posted by on in Movie Reviews

TULIP FEVER

Rated: R

Release Date: September 1, 2017

Director: Justin Chadwick

Stars: Alicia Vikander, Dane DeHaan, Christoph Waltz, Holliday Grainger

Plot: A young, married woman falls in love with the man commissioned to paint her portrait while everyone around them goes crazy over tulips

Trailer

 

Clint Says: Wait for the DVD and make someone else rent it

 

 

What do you get when you put a bunch of Oscar-winning actors in a period piece that has the feeling that it might have been written by Shakespeare, but in reality the writing is a hot mess?

 

You get TULIP FEVER, a.k.a, a crappy movie. 

 

This is one of those films where you can't blame the actors. They did the absolute best with the junk that they were given. Having to hear Christoph Waltz talk about his "little soldier" in a serious way rather than the smarmy, obnoxious, holier-than-thou, Waltz characters we all know and love is really quite off-putting. 

 

At first I was intrigued by the Shakespearean style with the near misses and tragic misunderstandings, but as the film wore on I began to realize that the writer and director were throwing everything they could into the plot. Things got so complicated that major plot points were never developed or allowed at least to be understood.

 

Watching this film is a lot like watching a tulip grow. It's a long, boring process, but in the end, instead of getting a beautiful bloom we get a dead, withered, useless film.  

 

I would like to know why this movie was shelved for over a year after completion, but honestly, I don't care enough to take ten minutes to figure it out. This film is worth minimal effort at best. 

Posted by on in Movie Reviews

MENASHE

Rated: PG

Release Date: September 1, 2017

Director: Joshua Weinstein

Stars: Menashe Lustig, Yoel Falkowitz, Ruben Niborski

Plot: A widower tries to keep his son, but Jewish rules require the boy to be raised in a home with a woman

Trailer

 

Clint Says: Wait for the DVD

 

 

This is a deep, powerful, and moving film. It gives the viewer insight into a culture about which many of us know very little. 

 

The story is one that will make most people upset, but you also see that all parties involved are only trying to do what their religion requires. It is a powerful moment when the lead character comes to the realization that love and religion don't have to be at odds with one another. 

 

This isn't an exciting or fast-paced film, but the story is beautiful. There is nothing in the film that makes it worth seeing on the big screen, but if you like well done foreign language films you should give MENASHE a try.