Reviews Of What Is In Theaters Now

Recent blog posts

Posted by on in Movie Reviews

ANNABELLE: CREATION

Rated: R

Release Date: August 11, 2017

Director: David F. Sandberg

Stars: Lulu Wilson, Talitha Bateman, Anthony LaPaglia, Stephanie Sigman

Plot: A demonic presence, living in a doll, tries to take the souls of several orphan girls

Trailer

 

Clint Says: Wait until after opening weekend, but see this in theaters

 

 

 

This origin story of the Annabelle franchise is significantly better than the first film in the series. This movie is flat out terrifying. It doesn't take long for the jumps and bumps to get going, and once they do they don't let up. You'll even get a good scare after the end credits are over. 

 

The only thing I didn't like about the scare factor of this movie is that a lot of the scares are set up by the characters doing dumb things that no real person would ever do. This could have been one of the highest ranking horror flicks of the last decade if it had been done a little smarter. 

 

It is also too long. The movie clocks in at just under 2 hours. No horror movie needs to be that long. Ever. 

 

That said, this is still a tremendously scary flick. Every horror film I watch I do a highly unscientific observation. The more people that go to the bathroom during the movie, the scarier it is. Once the scares started in this film it was a steady stream of movie goers heading to anywhere other than inside the theater just to get a quick break. 

 

For those of you that a true horror fans, you'll enjoy the Easter Eggs and the tie-ins to the CONJURING franchise. For those of you looking for a good date movie, this film will give you plenty of opportunities to cuddle. 

Posted by on in Movie Reviews

THE NUT JOB 2

Rated: PG

Release Date: August 11, 2017

Director: Cal Brunker

Stars: Will Arnett, Katherine Heigl, Maya Rudolph, Jackie Chan

Plot: A group of animals try to fight against the humans that want to take over their park

Trailer

 

Clint Says: Don't even bother

 

 

This is a bad sequel to a bad movie. Nobody asked for it, but Hollywood gave it to us anyway. 

 

Like the first film, this one is completely boring for adults and only slightly more entertaining for children. There are very few humorous moments, the characters are cliche and annoying, and even though the movie is less than 90 minutes long it's still about 30 minutes longer than it should be. They had to pad this movie with all sorts of fluff just to get it to a viable feature film length.

 

Aside from the entertainment value, the plot is completely idiotic. The plot hole in this film could possibly be the biggest one ever in animated movie history. (I'm not giving anything away that you can't see in the trailers.) The animals are on a quest to find the biggest, easiest stash of nuts, popcorn, and candy possible. The big, bad humans want to destroy their park and build an amusement park. The animals get mad and fight for their park. Hello!? If the humans build an amusement park you'll have access to all of the nuts, popcorn, and candy you could ever want!

 

Oh, and this film has one of the grossest scenes I've witness in a kid's movie in a long time. I'm sure that it was meant to be funny, but it comes across as completely disgusting. If your child has a weak stomach you may want to sit near the aisle for a quick exit. 

 

Better yet, don't even bother going into the theater to see this flick. It isn't worth your money at all. This is as bad as THE EMOJI MOVIE, and that was terrible. 

Posted by on in Movie Reviews

THE GLASS CASTLE

Rated: R

Release Date: August 11, 2017

Director: Destin Daniel Cretton

Stars: Brie Larson, Woody Harrelson, Naomi Watts

Plot: A family spends much of their life running from the authorities and dealing with their drunk dad with huge dreams

Trailer

 

Clint Says: Save some money and see a matinee

 

 

 

This is one of those films that has an incredible cast doing amazing acting with a mediocre screenplay and poor editing. It could have been something truly special with a tighter edit of the screenplay before filming and then a good 30 minutes chopped out of the final product. 

 

While it is interesting to peek into the lives of this based-on-a-true-story family, the reality is that we never care about them enough to get into the details like the movie does. If the film had been edited to just show us a couple of the important events we would have gotten the point just as well as we did by having the same issues portrayed half a dozen times. By about the fourth or fifth time seeing a similar issue I was saying to myself, "Okay, we get it. He's a jerk when he's drunk. Move on, please."

 

I hate being pulled out of the story because of poor editing. 

 

The film also drags on. Not only is it too long, but some of the pacing is dreadfully slow. It got to the point where even in the powerful scenes I was getting antsy due to the length of the movie. 

 

Don't get me wrong, this movie isn't all bad. In fact, there are several moments that are spectacular. If you have children there are scenes so emotional that you'll want to run out of the theater immediately and go hug your kids. 

 

Woody Harrelson gives a performance that is well worth seeing. Brie Larson is wonderful as well. The emotional roller coaster of their relationship comes through the screen and straight into your heart. Even though this isn't a great film, their performances make is worth seeing.

Posted by on in Movie Reviews

THE DARK TOWER

Rated: PG-13

Release Date: August 4, 2017

Director: Nikolaj Arcel

Stars: Idris Elba, Matthew McConaughey, Nicholas Hamilton

Plot: A young boy has the power to destroy or maintain several worlds depending on whether good or evil can get to him first

Trailer

 

Clint Says: Wait for the DVD

 

 

 

The good news is this movie is a classic tale of good versus evil and the use of an innocent pawn, but the pawn comes to find out he has much more power than he ever though possible. The bad news is, we've seen this story played out dozens of times and this movie adds nothing new to the mix. 

 

Beyond that, there is very little explanation of what is going on and why. Matthew McConaughey plays the bad guy really well. He's creepy for sure, but we have no idea why he is doing what he is doing and there are several other ways that he could go about accomplishing the same thing that wouldn't involve conflict with the only people that can bring him down. 

 

Idris Elba does a fine job as the Gunslinger, but again, we never find out why he can do what he does. Also, he and the boy argue with each other throughout the movie as to whose quest is more important, but they are on the exact same quest. So all of their conflict makes zero sense. 

 

When you throw on top of all of this some truly terrible sound editing and a pathetic soundtrack/score you are left with a movie that is only slightly entertaining, and that is only true if you can manage to check your brain at the door so you don't see all of the massive plot holes. 

 

There is one very cool aspect to this film. It is full of Stephen King Easter Eggs. You'll see references to CUJO, IT, THE SHINING and I'm sure a few others that I missed along the way. 

Posted by on in Movie Reviews


KIDNAP

Rated: R

Release Date: August 4, 2017

Director: Luis Prieto

Stars: Halle Berry, Sage Correa

Plot: A woman chases after the people that kidnapped her son

Trailer

 

Clint Says: Wait for the DVD and make someone else rent it

 

 

This movie is basically Hollywood not even trying. It's not original, it's not compelling, all it does is touch on people's base emotions and instincts to protect their children. 

 

Honestly, I'm amazed that Halle Berry took this role. She already made an almost identical movie on 2013 called THE CALL. The only difference was that she was a 911 operator instead of the mom of the kidnapped person. 

 

The movie does have moments of suspense, and there are times where you'll catch yourself holding your breath, but overall it just feels like we have to get through 80 minutes of the same old stuff in order to get to the important stuff in the last 10 minutes. 

 

This film is full of plot holes that will drive most people crazy. For example, the two cars are chasing each other for what seems like hours, people are crashing all around them and the cops can never manage to find them. There are lots of moments of convenience as well. Every time the hero has a chance to get the upper hand something wild happens to level the playing field again. 

 

There is no reason to see this movie in theaters, and if you do decide to see in on DVD or digital, make sure you use a coupon, because paying anything to see this movie will annoy you. 

Posted by on in Movie Reviews

DETROIT

Rated: R

Release Date: August 4, 2017

Director: Kathryn Bigelow

Stars: John Boyega, Will Poulter, Algee Smith, Jacob Latimore

Plot: During the 1967 Detroit riots a few Detroit police officers go rogue while interrogating several people at the Algiers Motel

Trailer

 

Clint Says: Drop everything and go see this movie now

 

 

This is a moving, difficult to watch, but important to see film. It is intense, claustrophobic, and raw. It will make you angry, embarrassed, sad, and empathetic.

 

Director Katheryn Bigelow brings her story-telling mastery to life in the same gritty way she did with ZERO DARK THIRTY and THE HURT LOCKER. There are moments so intense that you'll wish you could look away, but you can't. There are also many moments portrayed that you wish never happened, because the reality is so devastating.

 

As hard as this film is to watch, it is a very important film at an important time. This is the kind of movie that could really start some meaningful and productive dialogue to move our culture further down the road towards a day where racism is a thing of the past.

 

The only thing I didn't like about this film was the pacing of the last 15 or so minutes. It felt rushed. There were several story lines where Bigelow skipped ahead a few points to bring us resolution. The movie clocks in at 2 hours and 20 minutes, and although I am a huge believer that hardly any film ever should be more than 90 minutes, this one would have been better with an extra 10 minutes giving us more explanation to the ending events.

 

There is nothing happy or entertaining about this film, but it will move you to your core. Not only is it moving, but it is an excellent film. It would surprise me greatly if this film doesn't end up winning all sorts of awards.

 

Posted by on in Movie Reviews

ATOMIC BLONDE

Rated: R

Release Date: July 28, 2017

Director: David Leitch

Stars: Charlize Theron, James McAvoy, John Goodman, Sofia Boutella

Plot: An undercover agent must solve a mystery before she, and all of the other agents are compromised, but there are double agents at every turn

Trailer

 

Clint Says: Save some money and see a matinee

 

 

James Bond, you may have met your match. 

 

While this movie isn't great, it is very good, and it is, hopefully, the beginning of a new international spy thriller franchise. ATOMIC BLONDE has serious potential to be magnificent for decades. 

 

Not only does this film have the potential for a long life, but this could easily become the defining role for Theron. She plays the part of kick-butt heroine so well that there wasn't a single moment where her actions felt forced or sub-par. 

 

This film is smart, captivating, full of twists, turns, and double crosses, and Charlize Theron kills everything in sight. The film also has one of the best soundtracks of the year. It is set in 1980's Berlin so we get the best of the best in 80's music.

 

For the most part this movie is fast-paced and exciting, but it does have a few slow moments, mainly because it is told using the flashback method. So every time it comes to the present it's nothing but people sitting around and talking. 

 

If you like spy flicks run to the theater now. You'll love this movie. For everyone else, it is definitely worth seeing for the action and the soundtrack. 

Posted by on in Movie Reviews

THE EMOJI MOVIE

Rated: PG

Release Date: July 28, 2017

Director: Tony Leondis

Stars: T.J. Miller, James Corden, Anna Faris, Maya Rudolph

Plot: An emoji that is supposed to be a Meh has other emotions that put him the run from the emojis that want to delete him because they see him as a malfunction

Trailer

 

Clint Says: Don't even bother

 

 

Here is how I imagine the studio executives came up with the idea for this film. They were all sitting around a table after a long day of getting nothing accomplished when one of them says, "Let's make a movie that is almost exactly like INSIDE OUT, but instead of making it amazing we'll make it a huge pile of suck."

 

"That's it!", replies another exec excited to have any idea at all. 

 

"Hey!", a third exec interjects, "What if three of the character that talk the most were really boring and monotonous?"

 

"YES!!!", all of the executives shout in unison. 

 

And that is how THE EMOJI MOVIE was born.*

 

Here is my review in emoji form: 

   

 

 

To demonstrate how bad this movie is, I was in a theater full of kids watching this flick. During the entire movie one three year old laughed one time, and I'm only 50% sure he was laughing at the movie. 

 

Seriously, one kid, one laugh. 

 

My seven year old daughter said as we walked out of the theater, "Well, I didn't hate it." Not exactly a ringing endorsement from the dead center of the target audience. my five year old, who loves movies and will talk about them for days turned to me when the movie ended and asked, "What's for dinner?" This film barely fazed her. 

 

When the movie ended everyone filed out in silence like we had just seen SCHINDLER'S LIST. There was literally zero excited chatter among all of the kids. 

 

I know there isn't much in the way of great movies for kids in the theaters right now, but don't let that be an excuse for seeing this nonsense. Save your money for something better. 

 

*This is probably not how THE EMOJI MOVIE was born, but it's got to be more entertaining than the real story. And I know it's more entertaining than the actual movie. 

Posted by on in Movie Reviews

A GHOST STORY

Rated: R

Release Date: July 28, 2017

Director: David Lowery

Stars: Casey Affleck, Rooney Mara

Plot: When a man dies he returns as a ghost only to find out that time has no meaning or barriers

Trailer

 

Clint Says: Don't even bother

 

 

Nine minutes.

 

Do you know how long nine minutes are?

 

Sometimes nine minutes feels like it goes by in a flash, sometimes nine minutes feels like a lifetime.

 

That was probably the point of director David Lowery wanting to show us the undefinable sense of time, but he does it with a NINE MINUTE scene of Rooney Mara eating a pie...aggressively. 

 

Eating a pie. 

 

Nine. Minutes. 

 

Kill me now. 

 

Look, here's the deal. If this movie was condensed to a 10 minute montage of the first hour and the last 30 minutes it would be a spectacular short film. It would even be Oscar-worthy. The third act is incredible. It will rock your world, bend your mind, and have you questioning everything you think you know about time. 

 

But that first hour...oh, how it pains me.

 

It's a perfect example of a film made by and for the Hollywood elite. They are going to love this film and rave on about it for days. They will talk about how deep and ambitious it is, and how brave everyone is for making a film of this magnitude. 

 

But, if you were to get one of them alone and drunk enough, even they would have to admit that the first hour is terrible. 

 

If you are a typical moviegoer, you'll see about 3 or 4 movies in theaters this year. If you walked into A GHOST STORY, I would say that it is a better than 70% chance that you would walk out of the theater and demand your money back in the first 30 minutes. 

 

If you do happen to stick it out, you will be treated to an incredible ending that deserves so much more than the beginning it has. It is an incredibly fascinating finish that will have you dwelling on this film for quite a while. 

 

Unfortunately, there is no way I can recommend anyone seeing this movie. 30 minutes of amazing will never make up for nine minutes of pie. 

VALERIAN AND THE CITY OF A THOUSAND PLANETS

Rated: PG-13

Release Date: July 21, 2017

Director: Luc Besson

Stars: Dane DeHaan, Cara Delevingne, Clive Owen

Plot: A special operations team must discover what evil force is trying to take over their peaceful planet, before it destroys the universe

Trailer


Clint Says: Wait for the DVD and make someone else rent it

 

 

It's still fairly early in the year, but this film has a solid shot at being one of my 10 worst films of the year. The only thing good I can say about this movie is that the visuals are great. Everything else about this flick is terrible. 

 

The worst thing about it is the casting. Valerian, played by Dane DeHaan, is supposed to be a Major in the military, but he looks like he's barely out of high school. Laureline, played by Cara Delevinge, is supposed to be a Sergeant, but she looks like she is still in high school. Throw on top of that Valerian spending the entire movie trying to convince Laureline to marry him and it all just feels weird. 

 

The plot is slightly interesting, but it's not good enough to keep you excited or intrigued the whole time. It has a few moments that are unique, but for the most part it just feels like a formulaic Sci-Fi flick. 

 

The pacing is terrible. In fact there is a 15-20 minute story line that doesn't even need to be a part of the movie, but I guess if you land Rihanna to be a stripper in your movie you keep her in the movie even if it doesn't add anything to the plot at all. 

 

While a movie like JUPITER ASCENDING was so bad that it was good, this movie is just plain bad. You'd be better off just skipping this film.

Posted by on in Movie Reviews


DUNKIRK

Rated: PG-13

Release Date: July 21, 2017

Director: Christopher Nolan

Stars: Mark Rylance, Tom Hardy, Kenneth Branagh, Cillian Murphy, Harry Styles

Plot: British civilians help rescue 400,000 allied forces surrounded by the enemy in Dunkirk, France

Trailer

 

Clint Says: Drop everything and go see this movie now

 

 

This is, without a doubt, a front-runner for being a finalist for several awards including many of the biggest awards. 

 

DUNKIRK is a powerful, moving, and intense film. It is visually stunning, the soundtrack is outstanding, the acting is superb, and the direction is near perfect. When you add to that the fact that this is a film based on one of the most heroic moments of World War II, it is worth being seen by as many people as possible.

 

Director Christopher Nolan did a masterful job in conveying the horrors of war without showing the gory details. You would assume that a movie like this would be R rated, but in fact it got a PG-13 rating. That said, it is severely emotional and, at times, difficult to watch. 

 

While this film is mainly about the story and the visuals, it wouldn't be anything without the incredible acting by an amazing cast. The biggest surprise in the film may be that we get to see what a great actor Harry Styles (One Direction) is. He holds his own in a cast full of well-established actors. 

 

If you like war movies this one will quickly become one of your favorites. 

Posted by on in Movie Reviews

GIRLS TRIP

Rated: R

Release Date: July 21, 2017

Director: Malcolm D. Lee

Stars: Regina Hall, Queen Latifah, Jada Pinkett Smith, Tiffany Haddish

Plot: Things get wild when four friends get together for a vacation in New Orleans

Trailer

 

Clint Says: Wait until after opening weekend, but see this in theaters

 

 

I knew this was going to be a funny movie, what I wasn't expecting was to leave the theater with my stomach and jaw hurting from laughing so hard through the entire movie. There are several scenes where the laughter of the crowd was so loud and lasted so long that we missed the next 30-60 seconds of the movie. 

 

Not only is the movie funny, but this is the breakout film for Tiffany Haddish. She completely steals the show. She is spectacularly funny, but completely real and believable at the same time. The rest of the cast does a fine job, but it feels like they are all there just to support Haddish. She is going to be a huge star. 

 

It is also important to note that this film is incredibly raunchy. There is something going on in just about every scene that will make you blush. And there are a few scenes that are just plain over the top in how ridiculous and raunchy they are. So, if that isn't your thing you may want to skip this movie. 

 

The downside to this movie is that it is formulaic. We've seen a variation of this plot many times before, and while this movie is good it isn't even close to being original. You know where everything is going from the beginning, and the twists along the way are easy to spot.

 

If you are going to see this movie, I highly recommend seeing it in a packed theater. It makes the experience that much better when half of the audience is shouting advice to the main characters like they can hear them and will change their ways. 

 

Not only is GIRLS TRIP one of the best comedies of the summer, but it may be one of the best comedies of the year. Grab your girlfriends and make your own trip to go see this movie soon. 

Posted by on in Movie Reviews

THE BIG SICK

Rated: R

Release Date: July 14, 2017

Director: Michael Showalter

Stars: Kumail Nanjiani, Zoe Kazan, Holly Hunter, Ray Romano

Plot: A couple tries to deal with sickness and cultural differences as their relationship grows

Trailer

 

Clint Says: Save some money and see a matinee

 

 

Just like the classic children's tale about a train, this could very well be one of those little movies that could. It's not some big-budget blockbuster that will amaze all of your senses. It's a simple love story that is quirky, funny, heart-breaking, heart-warming and real. 

 

This film is based on the real life experience of Kumail and his wife Emily. It is a fascinating blend of comedy, cultural tension, family issues, love and sickness. 

 

While this isn't a rom-com that belongs in the upper echelon of cinematic greatness, it is a very good movie worthy of being seen. It takes about 20 minutes before it hits its stride, but once it gets there it is thoroughly enjoyable. 

 

I don't think this film will be a contender during awards season, but it wouldn't surprise me if it was a finalist in a few categories. 

Posted by on in Movie Reviews

WAR FOR THE PLANET OF THE APES

Rated: PG-13

Release Date: July 14, 2017

Director: Matt Reeves

Stars: Andy Serkis, Woody Harrelson, Steve Zahn, Amiah Miller

Plot: Caesar tries to lead the apes away from war with the humans, but war is inevitable 

Trailer

 

Clint Says: Wait until after opening weekend, but see this in theaters

 

 

This franchise has been outstanding from the beginning, and WAR is no exception. 

 

The story is fascinating. It draws you in and keeps you engaged the entire 2 1/2 hours. It is filled with powerful moments of beauty, sympathy, forgiveness, and grace. But it is also filled with the desire for power, revenge, and survival. The irony of this film is that it is the humanity of the apes that makes it so compelling. 

 

Once again the CGI work is second to none. It is truly astonishing that Caesar is not a real ape. There wasn't a single moment where I was pulled out of the story due to poor computer graphics. 

 

This film may be over two hours long, but it doesn't feel like it. The action and suspense keep the plot moving forward and the power of the story makes even the slower spots thoroughly enjoyable. 

 

If you have seen DAWN and RISE, you have to see WAR. For those of you that like action movies, but haven't gotten into this franchise yet, watch the first two this weekend then head to the theater as soon as possible to catch the third installment. 

Posted by on in Movie Reviews

WISH UPON

Rated: PG-13

Release Date: July 14, 2017

Director: John R. Leonetti

Stars: Joey King, Ryan Phillippe, Ki Hong Lee

Plot: A girl makes wishes on a Chinese wishing pot, but there is a terrible price for her desires

Trailer

 

Clint Says: Wait for the DVD

 

 

This is one of those horror flicks that is much more about the horror than it is about trying to scare you out of your seat. There are only a couple of moments of jumps and bumps, but from the very beginning there is a feeling of dread.

 

There really isn't anything new that this movie offers the audience. There is a lot of high school angst and horror movie cliches, but it isn't a bad film. 

 

If you are looking for a movie that will give you some good chills and make you almost drop your popcorn bucket once or twice WISH UPON is a movie that will fit the bill. Just don't expect this to be one of the scariest movies you've ever seen, or something so innovative in the horror genre that it is worth seeing again and again. This is the kind of film you see once and then you'll soon forget what it was all about. 

 

There isn't anything that makes this a movie worth seeing in theaters, but it's also not so terrible that you'll be upset if you pay money to see it. 

 

Posted by on in Movie Reviews

MAUDIE

Rated: PG-13

Release Date: July 14, 2017

Director: Aisling Walsh

Stars: Sally Hawkins, Ethan Hawke

Plot: An arthritic artist and a fish-peddling curmudgeon find unexpected fame through her paintings and love with one another

Trailer

 

Clint Says: Drop everything and go see this movie now

 

 

Just like a Maud Lewis painting, on the surface this film is simple and beautiful. Also like her paintings, as you really start to delve deep into this film you'll realize it is profound and deep. 

 

Sally Hawkins and Ethan Hawke give masterful, award-worthy performances. Their characters are so complex that you truly feel the love they have for one another though it is rarely shown. The chemistry between the two is something special. 

 

This film will fill you with joy, break you with sorrow, and leave you with a spectacular appreciation for this incredible overcomer who was able to see, and create, beauty during a life that most people would only see despair. 

 

MAUDIE is well worth your time and money. 

Posted by on in Movie Reviews

SPIDER-MAN: HOMECOMING

Rated: PG-13

Release Date: July 7, 2017

Director: Jon Watts

Stars: Tom Holland, Michael Keaton, Robert Downey Jr., Jacob Batalon

Plot: Peter Parker tries to figure out where his life is going while he deals with high school and being Spider-Man. Then Tony Stark and a crime lord give him direction.

Trailer

 

Clint Says: Drop everything and go see this movie now

 

 

WooHoo! The summer of 2017 continues to be all sorts of awesome thanks to movies like SPIDER-MAN: HOMECOMING. 

 

I was seriously questioning the sanity of several people in Hollywood when I heard that they were doing yet another reboot of Spidey, but I must say they did it right and it was a good choice. This is an origin story, but it skips all of the beginning stuff we all know and slows down the story. This version jumps right into the action and doesn't let up for the full 2 1/2 hours. 

 

This film is also riotously funny. There were so many times I laughed out loud that by the end of the movie my stomach hurt. When you add that to a great story, and spectacular acting by Tom Holland and the rest of the cast this film is well worth your time and money.

 

The only thing that I didn't like about it was the CGI. Spidey moves too fast and choppy, and it happens a lot. I'm not sure why that is still a thing with special effects, but it is 2017 and it should be fixed by now. 

 

If you are a Spider-Man fan, I think you'll find this to be the best Spider-Man movie yet. For Marvel fans, this is right up there with THE AVENGERS and GUARDIANS OF THE GALAXY. 

 

Grab your friends and go see this right now! 

Posted by on in Movie Reviews

DESPICABLE ME 3

Rated: PG

Release Date: June 30, 2017

Director: Eric Guillon, Kyle Balda

Stars: Steve Carell, Kristen Wiig, Trey Parker

Plot: Gru finds out he has a twin brother who wants to get Gru back into the world of crime

Trailer

 

Clint Says: Drop everything and go see this movie now

 

 

This franchise just keeps on putting out great movies. And not only are they fun for kids, but they are entertaining for adults, too.

 

For those of you that were drawn to the family story of the first film, you'll get that story line again, and it's just as good the second time. Also, there may not be a cuter character in movie history than Agnes. Dying from the cute is a strong possibility while viewing this film.

 

Once again, the animation is superb, the minions are hilarious, the story is entertaining, and the pacing is near perfect. I took my 7 and 5 year old daughters and neither of them were squirmy for the full 90+ minutes. It's quite a movie that can pull off that feat.

 

I will say there were a few scenes that the 5 year old found to be too intense, but the 7 year old loved every minute of it.

 

If you are looking for a fun outing with the family, look no further than the theater. DESPICABLE ME 3 is well worth your entertainment dollars and time.

Posted by on in Movie Reviews

THE HOUSE

Rated: R

Release Date: June 30, 2017

Director: Andrew Jay Cohen

Stars: Will Ferrell, Amy Phoehler, Jason Mantzoukas, Ryan Simpkins

Plot: A couple turns their house into a casino to try to raise the money for their daughter's college tuition

Trailer

 

Clint Says: Wait for the DVD and make someone else rent it

 

 

Don't let the trailer fool you. This film has an incredible premise, but the execution is terrible. Almost every funny moment in the movie was crammed into the trailer. 

 

Neither Ferrell nor Poehler are even remotely close to being at the top of their game in this film. Their chemistry is awful, and their jokes are old and tired. If it wasn't for some of the secondary characters this movie would be entirely unwatchable. 

 

The film clocks in just shy of 90 minutes, but it feels like it's over 2 hours long. About halfway through the movie I was begging for it to end. 

 

If you are really wanting to see a good comedy in the theaters you are pretty much out of luck. Either go see DESPICABLE ME 3 or stream a classic. But whatever you do, don't bet on THE HOUSE being worth your money. 

Posted by on in Movie Reviews

BABY DRIVER

Rated: R

Release Date: June 28, 2017

Director: Edgar Wright

Stars: Ansel Elgort, Kevin Spacey, Lily James, Jon Hamm

Plot: A young getaway driver is forced to work with a criminal mastermind, but he just wants to leave with the girl he loves

Trailer

 

Clint Says: Drop everything and go see this movie now

 

 

Yes! Yes! Yes!

 

We have a true contender for best film of the year! Not only that, but it has one of the best soundtracks of any movie in the last decade.

 

This movie will have you on the edge of your seat, grabbing the armrests, and holding your breath all at the same time. It is intense, fun, funny, exciting, and marvelously acted. Kevin Spacey plays a role that I picture in my mind as President Underwood when he's taking a few days off from running the country. (HOUSE OF CARDS reference). Ansel Elgort and Lily James have incredible chemistry. And Jon Hamm is a wondrously, villainous bad guy.

 

The plot is interesting, and the story unfolds with enough twists and turns to keep you wondering what could possibly happen next. It is also fast-paced. It's almost 2 hours long, but it doesn't feel anywhere near that. In fact, it's over before you want it to end.

 

If you like fast cars, well-planned heists, exciting and quirky characters, and high-stakes tension then you need to see this film. It is outstanding from beginning to end.