Reviews Of What Is In Theaters Now

Recent blog posts

FANTASTIC BEASTS: THE CRIMES OF GRINDEWALD

Rated: PG-13

Release Date: November 16, 2018

Director: David Yates

Stars: Eddie Redmayne, Johnny Depp, Katherine Waterson, Ezra Miller

Plot: The race is on to stop Grindewald from turning thousand of wizards against the muggles and starting an all out war

Trailer

 

Clint Says: Save some money and see a matinee

 

 

This is the tenth film set in the wizarding world created by J.K. Rowling. I have eagerly anticipated all 10 films and have seen all of them on opening night or earlier. I am a huge HARRY POTTER fan, and I consider myself to be close to a Harry Potter expert. I've read all of the books several times, seen all of the movies too many times to count, and own an embarrassingly large amount of Harry Potter swag.

 

This is why I am so shocked that I walked out at the end of this film utterly disappointed.

 

First, let's discuss the good parts of this movie. 1. Eddie Redmayne is absolutely brilliant as Newt Scamander. He has fully embraced this role, made it his own, and has made us all fall in love with Newt. 2. The set designs are spectacular. Almost every second of the film is visually stunning. 3. Johnny Depp does a masterful job as Grindewald, even though he is given very little to do.

 

Now for the bad.

 

This movie is entirely unwatchable haven't seen the first nine films. Nothing is explained. One of the great writing styles is to include a character that doesn't know what is going on so the audience can figure out what is happening as this character learns. This film doesn't have one of these characters so if you aren't already completely immersed in the world and story line you will be thoroughly confused.

 

The mission is never spelled out in a clear fashion. It took me almost half of the movie to figure out what everyone was trying to do. There were several moments that could have been used to help clarify the mission and who was trying to do what, but all of those moments were squandered. This is the sixth Harry Potter wizarding world film that David Yates has directed. Maybe he is too deep into the world to realize he is no longer explaining things properly. (He is also slated to direct the final three films in the FANTASTIC BEASTS series).

 

The cinematography is terrible. It's so sad because the sets are so beautiful, but every time there is an action scene everything gets blurry, shaky, and swoopy. In fact, the camera movements are so quick and fluid that I got sick to my stomach a couple of times.

 

J.K. Rowling breaks her own rules and canon. She wrote the screenplay for this film and there are things that happen throughout the film that didn't happen in the HARRY POTTER series. This is a huge no-no in the written arts community. Once you've created rules and canon for your story you must follow those rules. Now, it is only the second of five films, and things can change, but if the things that happen in this film end up being true then Rowling totally goes against canon.

 

Finally, the story is really thin. I noticed about halfway through the movie that there was a lot of action. To the point where it was too much action and not enough substance. This is annoying on two fronts. One, we had to watch a lot of bad camera work and two, Yates still made a movie that is 2 hours and 15 minutes long. It could have easily been 90 minutes and still accomplished everything it did.

 

If you are a fan of this world I'm still going to recommend you see this on the big screen, only because Eddie Redmayne and the sets deserve it. If you aren't a huge fan, just wait for the digital release, but make sure you've seen the other films first.

Posted by on in Movie Reviews

INSTANT FAMILY

Rated: PG-13

Release Date: November 16, 2018

Director: Sean Anders

Stars: Mark Wahlberg, Rose Byrne, Isabela Moner, Octavia Spencer

Plot: A couple fosters three siblings while they all try to learn how to trust and rely on each other through the ups and downs

Trailer

 

Clint Says: Drop everything and go see this in theaters now

 

 

As the father of two adopted daughters I was immediately intrigued by the premise of this movie. Adoption is rarely portrayed properly in film, and in most cases it is shown in a very negative light. (Just think about all of the times you've seen an older brother yelling "you're adopted" at his younger sibling). INSTANT FAMILY totally nails it.

 

If you are an adoption-friendly family you need to get to the theater immediately and see this movie. It is so dead-on perfect. You will be laughing hysterically one minute, crying the next, and feeling all warm and fuzzy, too. My wife and I found ourselves laughing at several moments that the rest of the audience didn't get. There were also moments where we wanted to stand up and yell "preach!" at the screen.

 

One warning to adoptive families though. You'll also leave this movie wanting to adopt again.

 

The cast is so great. Mark Wahlberg and Rose Byrne have wonderful chemistry and comedic timing. Isabela Moner plays the teen with baggage to absolute perfection. We've seen her in other big-budget movies, but this may end up being her big breakout role.

 

For those of you without adopted or foster kids, this is still a wonderful and hilarious film. It is very much worth your time and money.

Posted by on in Movie Reviews

WIDOWS

Rated: R

Release Date: November 16, 2018

Director: Steve McQueen

Stars: Viola Davis, Michelle Rodriguez, Liam Neeson, Daniel Kaluuya

Plot: The wives of criminals try for a big heist after their husbands are killed and the people the husbands robbed are coming after the women for what was taken

Trailer

 

Clint Says: Save some money and see a matinee

 

 

Heist movies are one of my favorite types of films. If I'm flipping through the TV channels and I see a heist movie on, I stop and watch. That said, I'm probably not ever watching this one again. 

 

It does have some of the elements of a great heist movie, but it leaves a lot of the best elements out. The planning and practicing are minimal, and the bad guys are all one-dimensional characters. It takes nearly 110 minutes before the real action even begins. By that point I was pretty bored with the whole thing. 

 

The best part of the film is the stand out performance of Elizabeth Debicki. She is basically the true hero of the story. She is the only dynamic character in the film, she is the only character that makes her own path rather that simply reacting to situations as they present themselves, and she's a wonderful actor.

 

There are some good and powerful moments in this movie that are worth seeing, but overall it just feels like it is a big waste of a fantastic A-list cast. Don't let this movie steal your money.

Posted by on in Movie Reviews

THE GRINCH

Rated: PG

Release Date: November 9, 2018

Director: Yarrow Cheney, Scott Mosier

Stars: Benedict Cumberbatch, Cameron Seely, Rashida Jones, Kenan Thompson

Plot: A curmudgeonly loner hatches a plan to steal Christmas from a happy town

Trailer

 

Clint Says: Wait until after opening weekend, but see this in theaters

 

 

If you are one of the people who loves the Grinch cartoon from a few decades ago, but thinks it is outdated, and thinks the Jim Carey version is a bit over the top then this is the perfect blend for you. This is a fun, fanciful and exciting film with a lot of laughs and a lot of heart.

 

The animation is outstanding, the music is wonderful, and the story is compelling for both young and old. I never felt like the film was dragging or trying to find its way. It is well-paced all the way through.

 

For fans of the original book, I think you will really enjoy this version. It's much more true to the original story and tone than the live action film was. That's not to say this adaptation doesn't have a lot of slapstick comedy, because it does. Someone is always bonking something.

 

If you have a young child they are going to want to own this movie as soon as it hits store shelves. I was with an audience filled with small children and they all loved it. The laughter and excited chatter was non-stop. 

 

We may not have needed a new version of THE GRINCH, but if we do have to have one I'm glad this is the one we got, because it is well worth watching for the whole family.

Posted by on in Movie Reviews

THE GIRL IN THE SPIDER'S WEB

Rated: R

Release Date: November 9, 2018

Director: Fede Alvarez

Stars: Claire Foy, Sverrir Gudnason, Lakeith Stanfield, Sylvia Hoeks

Plot: A hacker is tasked with destroying a dangerous computer program before it falls into the wrong hands

Trailer

 

Clint Says: Save some money and see a matinee

 

 

I'm not sure why almost all European-based mystery/action films are so slow and deliberate. This one is no exception. That isn't to say that this is a bad movie. On the contrary, this is actually a pretty decent film. It's not going to blow you away, but it will keep you interested for almost the entire length of the film. However, it plods along at a pace that is a bit too slow for most movie-goers.

 

Claire Foy does a fine job taking over the role from Rooney Mara. She portrays the complexity of her character with great skill. Even while you see her have the strength to stand up against a massive foe, you can also see that she feels insecure and alone.

 

The mystery is good despite using several of the same tired tropes we see in so many films like this. (The bad guys are all trying to get their hands on a bunch of nuclear weapons to destroy the world). It could have been outstanding if they had made it a bit more reckless and fun. It is a bit too dark and depressing to be an entertaining movie.

 

For those of you that saw the first film in this series and don't want to see this one because of the graphic nature of several scenes, just know that this one is much tamer. If you liked the first one you should give this one a shot.

 

Posted by on in Movie Reviews

OVERLORD

Rated: R

Release Date: November 9, 2018

Director: Julius Avery

Stars: Jovan Adepo, Wyatt Russell, Mathilde Ollivier

Plot: A small group of US soldiers must fight of Nazis and monsters while trying to fulfill their mission

Trailer

 

Clint Says: Wait for the digital release and make someone else rent it

 

 

This may be one of the strangest movies I have seen in a long time. The first hour is jam-packed with suspense, but it is painfully boring. The second hour has a bunch of great action, but the suspense is nowhere to be found. I almost want to congratulate the film makers for accomplishing something that seems nearly impossible to do. 

 

This film is filled with below average special effects, people making stupid choices, and these zombie/monster creatures that make little sense. It had the potential to be something incredible and exciting, instead it is formulaic and boring.

 

If you were hoping for a film that mimicked the game play of CALL OF DUTY BLACK OPS you will be thoroughly disappointed. The creatures aren't even really zombies. They are more like monsters if anything. It goes from an intense, yet slow moving, war film to a fast-paced, but predictable monster movie at the end. 

 

The film does have a couple of good moments, but not enough to make this one a movie you need to see. Just skip this one, you won't miss it.

 

Posted by on in Movie Reviews

BOY ERASED

Rated: R

Release Date: November 9, 2018

Director: Joel Edgerton

Stars: Lucas Hedges, Nicole Kidman, Russell Crowe, Joel Edgerton

Plot: After a teen tells his parents he is gay they send him to a conversion therapy facility

Trailer

 

Clint Says: Wait for the digital release

 

 

 

 

 

This may not make a lot of sense yet, but I was a bit disappointed that this film was so easy to watch. When I saw the trailer I thought we were going to be in for a tough two-hour journey that would have me uncomfortably squirming in my seat. I wanted to witness the hell this kid went through, I wanted to feel his pain. Instead, there are only a couple of scenes where things start to get intense and then the camera cuts away. This is the kind of film that needs to be bold and make a splash if it is going to get any kind of recognition. Unfortunately, it pulls its punches.

 

Lucas Hedges does a nice job as the tormented teen, but I never really bought him in the role. It just didn't feel right. It isn't his acting skill or lack thereof that cause the issue, he just wasn't a good fit for the role.

 

The first hour of the film is dreadfully slow. I looked at my watch three times. I rarely do that during a movie unless it is just dragging along. Thankfully the last 40 minutes are much better. Once the movie hits its stride everything starts working together to make it the kind of film worth seeing.

 

One of the things that I liked about this movie is that it did not portray religion or the followers of that religion in a bad light. It offers legitimate arguments on all sides. I don't like being preached at by any movie on any subject. I never felt like this one got preachy.

 

If you know anyone that has gone through conversion therapy this is a good film for you. For almost everyone else it is an okay film that does a good job telling a fascinating story, but it could have been so much better.

 

Posted by on in Movie Reviews

NOBODY'S FOOL

Rated: R

Release Date: November 2, 2018

Director: Tyler Perry

Stars: Tiffany Haddish, Tika Sumpter, Whoopi Goldberg, Omari Hardwick

Plot: A girl, just out of prison, tries to help her sister with her love life

Trailer

 

Clint Says: Wait for the digital release

 

 

Thank goodness for Tiffany Haddish. Without her this movie would have been almost completely unwatchable. Fortunately, she is funny and brings some life to an otherwise DOA flick.

 

Tyler Perry is up to his old tricks again. The kind of tricks where he slaps a script together that is formulaic and the characters never learn anything, shoots the whole thing for less than $20 million, shoots it in less than six weeks and doesn't worry about things like reshoots or continuity errors, then he sits back and watches $65-70 Million roll in.

 

Tika Sumpter is a fine actress, but this role is terrible. She is entirely unlikable. Then there are her potential suitors. One is perfect, one is a complete idiot. This is the kind of stuff that drives me crazy about Tyler Perry. It's so much more of a compelling story if she has to choose between two worthy people rather than just take the one that isn't a massive loser once you peel back one layer.

 

It's also thoroughly predictable with one exception, and even that twist turns out to be a waste of time in the long run. 

 

Don't be a fool. Don't waste your money on seeing this in theaters. You won't miss anything by waiting a few months for the digital release. And then you'll be able to turn it off when you get bored.

Posted by on in Movie Reviews

BOHEMIAN RHAPSODY

Rated: PG-13

Release Date: November 2, 2018

Director: Bryan Singer

Stars: Rami Malek, Gwilym Lee, Lucy Boynton, Ben Hardy

Plot: The story of the incredible rise of one of the greatest bands in history

Trailer

 

Clint Says: Save some money and see a matinee

 

 

If you are a fan of Queen this is a must-see film. It is a fascinating peek behind the curtains into the lives of one of the biggest bands of all time, and in particular their eccentric and commanding lead singer Freddie Mercury.

 

Obviously, the music is one of the biggest stars of the film. It is interesting to see the thought and work that went into creating some of the most played  anthems in the last 50 years. Add to that an award-worthy performance by Rami Malek and the recipe is there for an outstanding movie. 

 

Unfortunately, it isn't as amazing as it could have been. 

 

The film needed another round of edits for sure. It is at least 20 minutes too long, and there are a couple of scenes that make no sense even being in the movie. Because of the extra scenes the movie has a pacing problem. There are several times where the film slows down way too much. In fact, I can pinpoint a specific moment where the crowd got to the point where they were bored enough for about 20 people to head off to the bathroom or concession stand all within two minutes of each other.

 

Aside from the editing and pacing issues the movie does do a good job of telling at least part of the story of Mercury and Queen. If you were hoping for more information on the rest of the band, you'll be disappointed. This is much more of a Freddie movie than a four equal parts of Queen movie.

 

One thing you absolutely have to watch for in this film is the meeting with record executive Ray Foster. Foster is played by Mike Myers and he delivers one of the most epic lines in the history of cinema. That scene alone is worth the price of admission. 

 

I don't see this movie being up for a lot of awards, but it is worth seeing even with its flaws. 

Posted by on in Movie Reviews

THE NUTCRACKER AND THE FOUR REALMS

Rated: PG

Release Date: November 2, 2018

Director: Lasse Hallstrom and Joe Johnston

Stars: Mackenzie Foy, Keira Knightley, Jayden Fowora-Knight, Helen Mirren

Plot: A girl discovers a fantastic world that her mother created, but now she has to save that world from war

Trailer

 

Clint Says: Wait until after opening weekend, but see this in theaters

 

 

This movie is a beautiful and fanciful delight from beginning to end. It is filled with spectacular imagery, enchanting characters, and exciting adventure.The scenery is gorgeous, the music will bring you back to your childhood, and the story, while simple enough for a child to understand, is compelling and intriguing for adults, too.

 

Mackenzie Foy fills the lead role like the pro that she is. She does a wonderful job using emotion and determination to drive her character arc. For the most part, her supporting cast members are great as well. There are a couple of notable exceptions that feel like they are out of place in this film, but they have minor roles, so their lack of acting prowess doesn't affect the overall tone of the film too much.

 

This is one of the more beautiful films I have ever seen. I will be shocked if it isn't nominated for the big awards in the categories of Cinematography, Production Design, and Costume Design. For me, it is the front runner for Costume Design.

 

There are a couple of pretty intense scenes for younger children, but if you have kids that are around 8 or older this may be a great introduction into more mature films for them. For those of you that like fantasy and Disneyesque style, go see this movie now. You will love it.

Posted by on in Movie Reviews

JOHNNY ENGLISH STRIKES AGAIN

Rated: PG

Release Date: October 26, 2018

Director: David Kerr

Stars: Rowan Atkinson, Olga Kurylenko, Jake Lacy, Emma Thompson

Plot: A bumbling spy is tasked with saving the world from a technological mad man.

Trailer

 

Clint Says: Save some money and see a matinee

 

 

This is the kind of film that you know exactly what you are getting when you go in. The good news is that this movie delivers on that promise. 

 

Is it a great work of cinematic art? No, but that isn't the point. This is a fun, entertaining, goofy, laugh-out-loud comedy that also has a pretty decent plot. The acting isn't outstanding, but they are really only there to push the plot forward and give us a few good laughs along the way. And they all do a fine job of that.

 

If you are a fan of the other JOHNNY ENGLISH films, MR. BEAN, or British humor in general, you will enjoy this film. It is filled with funny jokes and great physical comedy. 

 

Perhaps the best part of this movie is that it is almost completely family friendly...almost. (It's PG so there is some Parental Guidance necessary). I took my 8 year old daughter to see it and with one exception I didn't feel like it was above her level of innocence. There were a couple of moments we talked through, but in the end she liked it almost as much as I did.

 

If you are looking for a lot of (mostly) clean laughs this is a perfect choice.

Posted by on in Movie Reviews

HUNTER KILLER

Rated: R

Release Date: October 26, 2018

Director: Donovan Marsh

Stars: Gerard Butler, Gary Oldman, Common, Linda Cardellini

Plot: A US submarine crew is tasked with rescuing the Russian President after a coup, but they have to do it without starting a world war

Trailer

 

Clint Says: Wait until after opening weekend, but see this in theaters

 

 

It's been a long time since a great submarine movie has come along. CRIMSON TIDE was almost 25 years ago, and THE HUNT FOR RED OCTOBER came out in 1990. While HUNTER KILLER isn't quite in the same league as those other films, it is close.

 

The action and suspense start immediately and they don't let up for the full two hours. There were several moments where I was holding my breath as the scenes unfolded. 

 

The only downside to this film is that it gets a little far-fetched near the end, and there are a couple of minor plot holes and moments of convenience scattered about, but they aren't so big that they take away from the overall experience. Also, some of the conflict between some of the characters seems to be a bit contrived.

 

If you like action/suspense/war films this one is a must-see. It is compelling and exciting from the opening scene on. You should also try to see it in the biggest theater possible to get the most out of the effects and sounds.

Posted by on in Movie Reviews

MID90'S

Rated: R

Release Date: October 26, 2018

Director: Jonah Hill

Stars: Sunny Suljic, Katherine Waterson, Na-kel Smith, Olan Prenatt

Plot: A young boy discovers a new world of freedom when he starts skateboarding with a new group of friends

Trailer

 

Clint Says: Wait until after opening weekend, but see this in theaters

 

 

Jonah Hill's directorial debut isn't a masterpiece, but it is a fun, nostalgic glimpse back at the time right before cell phones and the internet took over our lives. If you were a kid or a teen during the mid 1990's this movie will speak to your heart...especially if you were a skateboarder and/or you grew up in Southern California.

 

Most of the cast is made up of unknown actors that do an outstanding job. Sunny Suljic has been in several films before, but this has the potential to be his breakout role. His joy is evident and infectious throughout the film. He and his crew are so fun, you'll wish you could go back in time and jump on a board with them.

 

The music alone is enough to give you 90 minutes of memories flooding back, but the visuals really hit home for 90's kids. It wasn't that long ago, but seeing it now you realize how different a time that was from today.

 

This isn't a film that is going to make you jump out of your chair with excitement, it's not a film that will make you feel all of the emotions, but it is a film that is worthy to be seen, and one that has the potential to be a contender for some pretty big awards this year.

 

If you are a child of the 90's you need to see this movie. If you are young and you want to know how we lived without social media and cell phones, see MID90's. It will blow your mind.

Posted by on in Movie Reviews

THE SISTERS BROTHERS

Rated: R

Release Date: October 19, 2018

Director: Jacques Audiard

Stars: Joaquin Phoenix, John C. Reilly, Jake Gyllenhaal

Plot: Two brothers are on the hunt for a man with a secret

Trailer

 

Clint Says: Wait for the digital release and make someone else rent it

 

 

This is one of those, "Oh, what could have been?" movies. It's got an incredible cast and a fantastic plot. Unfortunately, the writing and directing ruined the whole thing. And that isn't an easy thing to do when you are working with the likes of Joaquin Phoenix, John C. Reilly, and Jake Gyllenhaal.

 

First, the pacing is all off. This should be a fast-paced, horses-running chase through the old west. Instead, in most of the scenes someone is too injured or too drunk to do anything but let the horses stroll along while they try not to fall off. Then, when something finally gets going to add excitement into the mix, something else happens to bring the pace back to a screeching halt.

 

Next, the dialogue is stilted and entirely unfunny. The trailer made this movie look like a comedy. The finished product is nothing like a comedy. There are maybe two moments worth even a slight chuckle. The director even turned John C. Reilly into a monotonous puppet. The whole reason you have John C. Reilly in your movie is so he can be John C. Reilly in the movie. (Also, so you can say John C. Reilly a lot).

 

Finally, the story is told all wrong. The big reveal happens way too late in the movie. If it had happened in the first 30 minutes and then the heroes had to deal with the aftermath it would have been a much more exciting and compelling film to watch. Instead, it just drags on until the inevitable reveal and then rushed like mad to an ending that makes almost no sense. 

 

If you like Westerns, pick something else. This one isn't worth your time.

Posted by on in Movie Reviews

FREE SOLO

Rated: PG-13

Release Date: October 19, 2018

Director: Jimmy Chin, Elizabeth Chai Vasarhelyi

Stars: Alex Honnold, Tommy Caldwell, Sanni McCandless

Plot: A film crew follows the one of the best free climbers in the world as he attempts to climb a rock face nobody else has ever attempted

Trailer

 

Clint Says: Wait until after opening weekend, but see this in theaters

 

 

There are two things you need to know about this documentary before you read any further: 

 

1. Do not see this movie if you have a fear of heights. You'll probably fall out of your chair and hurt yourself. 

 

2. If you aren't afraid of heights, see this film on the biggest screen you can find. It will give you a scale that will probably trigger a fear of heights you didn't know you had until this very moment.

 

Moving on...

 

This is easily one of the most intense documentaries I have ever seen. To watch a guy climb up the sides of massive cliffs without the aid of any ropes or harnesses is gut-wrenching. I spent the last 20 minutes barely breathing and gripping the armrests so tight that I'm surprised I didn't leave permanent dents in them.

 

Aside from the incredible climbing, this is a beautiful documentary about love, family, friends, and living your best life no matter how simple or crazy that life may be. If you watch this documentary and aren't wishing by the end that you were a little bit more like Alex with your own life then you either are Alex or you're already living your best life. For the rest of us, this film is highly inspirational. 

Posted by on in Movie Reviews

THE OATH

Rated: R

Release Date: October 19, 2018

Director: Ike Barinholtz

Stars: Ike Barinholtz, Tiffany Haddish

Plot: Thanksgiving with the family becomes a political debate after a controversial decision is made by the Government

Trailer

 

Clint Says: Don't even bother

 

 

Why on earth would anyone want to watch a bunch of people yell at each other about politics for nearly two hours? If that is your jam, then by all means enjoy sitting in the theater all alone for this heap of trash.

 

I was especially disappointed because Ike Barinholtz and Tiffany Haddish are two of the best comedic actors in Hollywood right now. Unfortunately, Ike wrote and directed this like he was really trying to win a political debate with his brother rather than making something that could at least be mistaken for comedy. Tiffany Haddish completely mails it in with her role. It feels like she knew she was in the middle of a terrible situation, but was obligated to finish as a favor for her friend.

 

There were so many pacing problems, out of focus shots, and bad dialogue that this could have easily been mistaken for a high school project that got a C-.

 

This will almost assuredly be a candidate for one of the worst movies of 2018. 

Posted by on in Movie Reviews

HALLOWEEN

Rated: R

Release Date: October 19, 2018

Director: David Gordon Green

Stars: Jamie Lee Curtis, Judy Greer, Andi Matichak, Will Patton

Plot: Michael Myers escapes from prison and continues his killing ways while he hunts down Laurie Strode 40 years after they first fought

Trailer

 

Clint Says: Save some money and see a matinee

 

 

It's been 40 years since the iconic horror flick that began this franchise hit theaters. A lot has changed in 40 years. But there are some things that have stayed the same. 

 

This film offers something new and exciting to the franchise, but it isn't up to par with the rest of the horror genre. I was hoping that we would get a smarter, more empowering HALLOWEEN rather than just another slasher flick. What I saw was a fun slasher flick that should have been titled HALLOWEEN: A SERIES OF STUPID CHOICES. 

 

I love it when a crowd gets into it during horror films and starts yelling advice to the characters on the screen. It makes the movie so much more fun. But when the advice over and over again is, "stop doing the stupid thing you are about to do that no sane person on this planet would do," it gets a bit tiresome. It's also not scary or suspenseful when people do the stupid thing. If they do all of the right stuff and still end up in mortal danger, now you've got me interested...and terrified.

 

I was also hoping the stereotypical cute teenage girl would actually be smart and powerful on her own. Instead, she spends the entire movie running and screaming. It was really disappointing to see that her character did nothing to advance the plot. Everything happened to her and her response was weak.

 

Jamie Lee Curtis does a great job in reprising her role as Laurie Strode, but most of the other characters are pretty flat. A few characters are pretty annoying, but that is a typical trope in horror flicks. We can't like the people too much before they die.

 

For fans of the original HALLOWEEN you'll enjoy some of the throwbacks to the first few films. And fans of slasher flicks will be entertained. But if you were hoping the franchise had grown with the times you'll likely be a bit disappointed with the final product.

 

NOTE: If you have the time, stick around until the end of the credits. There isn't necessarily an additional scene, but there is something that happens that will intrigue you...or make you mad.

Posted by on in Movie Reviews

THE OLD MAN AND THE GUN

Rated: PG-13

Release Date: October 19, 2018

Director: David Lowery

Stars: Robert Redford, Sissy Spacek, Casey Affleck

Plot: Based on the true story of a senior citizen who robbed dozens of banks

Trailer

 

Clint Says: Wait for the digital release

 

 

This is one of those films that is way better in the mind than it is in reality. Who wouldn't want to see a movie about an elderly gentleman escaping from San Quentin, robbing banks all over the place with a smile, baffling police everywhere, and charming the general public? It sounds great...on paper.

 

The harsh reality is, a guy that acts like a complete gentleman, even when he is robbing a bank is really endearing the first time. After that, it gets really boring. There is no action, no excitement. And nothing against senior citizens, but watching an awkward love story between to octogenarians isn't exactly big screen gold.

 

This movie could have easily been made in the 1980's. And by that I mean, it looks like and sounds like it was shot in the 1980's. It has the pacing, editing, camera movements, color, and music of a film that came out during the cold war.

 

It is a fun and charming film, but it isn't exciting or suspenseful at all. In fact the searching for him is downplayed quite a bit. There are a couple of moments were things pick up, but it doesn't last long.

 

This isn't the kind of cops and robbers flick that will bore you to tears, but you aren't going to be excited about it either. Save this one for a slow, rainy day when you are relaxed on your comfy couch. You'll either enjoy a decent film or you'll get a great nap. Either way, you win.

 

Posted by on in Movie Reviews

THE HATE U GIVE

Rated: PG-13

Release Date: October 19, 2018

Director: George Tillman Jr. 

Stars: Amadla Stenberg, Russell Hornsby, Regina Hall, Anthony Mackie

Plot: A girl must learn to stand up for herself and her community after her friend is is tragically killed by a police officer

Trailer

 

Clint Says: Wait until after opening weekend, but see this in theaters

 

 

This was one of the biggest and most powerful books in the Young Adult genre in 2017. It came at a time and covered issues that were, and still are, some of the most important and passionate of the day. Now, 20 months later, it is a powerful and moving film that hits hard on those same issues. 

 

Amandla Stenberg and Russell Hornsby give performances that will shake you to your core. They portray the feelings of hurt, loss, and desperation in beautiful yet painful ways. Their characters are also complex. Nobody is perfect, everyone has flaws and issues that muddle up the situations and give all sides valid arguments.

 

The story itself is emotional and powerful. If you aren't crying at some point during this film you may want to check your pulse. 

 

The movie version is a bit different from the book, but the changes are things that make the story much better visually than in the written word. I don't think that fans of the book are going to be upset with the changes.

 

This is the kind of film everyone should see at some point. To see the issues of race, justice, social justice, and family play out this way is eye-opening. It is the kind of movie that might have the ability to move people out of their comfort zones and look at life through someone else's viewpoint. 

Posted by on in Movie Reviews

FIRST MAN

Rated: PG-13

Release Date: October 12, 2018

Director: Damien Chazelle

Stars: Ryan Gosling, Claire Foy, Jason Clarke

Plot: An intimate look at the first moon landing through the mind of Neil Armstrong

Trailer

 

Clint Says: Wait until after opening weekend, but see this in theaters

 

 

 

 

Every once in a while I will walk into a theater expecting one thing and end up seeing something completely different. FIRST MAN was one of those experiences. I thought it was going to be a spaceship movie filled with exciting scenes of fire, and explosions, and high tension. Instead I was treated to a very personal, emotional, and moving film that carried its power in an unexpected way.

 

That is not to say that there aren't some amazing action scenes in this movie. There are several scenes that will have you gripping the armrests and holding your breath. It is also the kind of movie you should see on the biggest screen with the best sound possible. You'll feel like you are taking off with the crew.

 

For those of you that know anything about Neil Armstrong, he was a man that never wanted to be in the limelight. He was very matter-of-fact in his approach to just about everything. He was soft-spoken, introspective, and a genius worthy of his success.

 

Ryan Gosling gives an award-worthy performance as Neil Armstrong. His quiet but strong and determined demeanor sets the tone for the whole film. Even though everything in his life is on the brink of catastrophic collapse at any moment, he keeps cool under pressure.

 

The whole movie feels like it is resting precariously on top of a pressure cooker about to explode at any second, but just as things look like it is all over Neil comes in and saves the day. Then he goes on about his business as usual.

 

I would also recommend this film to younger audiences (10-12 and up) who are interested in space exploration and history. The movie does deal with death and some very suspenseful moments, but the bad language is minimal, there are no other overt adult themes.

 

Even if you were hoping for an all-out action flick with this one, you should give it a shot anyway. It is a wonderful film that gives a whole new perspective on the space race of the 1960's and the people that made one of the greatest feats in human history happen.