Reviews Of What Is In Theaters Now

Recent blog posts

Posted by on in Movie Reviews

THE SHAPE OF WATER

Rated: R

Release Date: December 15, 2017

Director: Guillermo del Toro

Stars: Sally Hawkins, Michael Shannon, Octavia Spencer

Plot: A mute woman falls in love with a creature being studied at the facility where she works

Trailer

 

Clint Says: Save some money and see a matinee

 

 

I'm not sure the general public wanted a 1950's throwback monster movie, but the Hollywood elite sure did. THE SHAPE OF WATER is getting all sorts of huge award nominations. In fact, it leads the Critics' Choice Awards with 14 nominations. The second place film only has 8. It has also received 7 Golden Globe nominations, and I'm sure there will be several Oscar nods as well. 

 

Personally, I found this film to be rather slow and uninteresting. I can see how certain people are mesmerized by it, and why so many critics have it at the top of their Best of 2017 lists, but I don't think the average movie-goer is going to like it nearly as much as they do. 

 

Sally Hawkins deserves every award she gets. Her performance in this film is a master class in acting. She is fascinating to watch, and the emotion she conveys without using words is nothing short of extraordinary. 

 

Michael Shannon is an actor who, as far as I'm concerned, can just about do no wrong. However, in this movie his character is so one-dimensional that it got rather annoying watching him not learn anything or grow.

 

The thing I think that really misses with this film are the moments where the film goes completely off the rails. There are several moments where I was saying, "wait...what the heck is going on right now?". One minute I'm watching a 1950's monster flick, the next I'm watching a musical from the 1930's. I felt like I was suffering from whiplash.

 

This is a very difficult film to review without giving anything away. It is an odd, but weirdly compelling movie that you will need to see yourself in order to make up your mind as to whether you like it or not. 

Posted by on in Movie Reviews

STAR WARS: THE LAST JEDI

Rated: PG-13

Release Date: December 15, 2017

Director: Rian Johnson

Stars: Daisy Ridley, Adam Driver, Mark Hamill, Oscar Isaac

Plot: The resistance is on the run from the First Order and must use all of their cunning and courage to survive

Trailer


Clint Says: Drop everything and go see this movie now

 

 

I am a huge STAR WARS nerd. A NEW HOPE was the first film I ever saw in theaters. I've been hooked on this franchise since the mid-70s. (With a noticeable lull during the Jar Jar Binks years, a.k.a. The Trilogy That Shall Not Be Named). Needless to say, I've been anticipating the arrival of THE LAST JEDI since the new slate of films was announced.

 

THE FORCE AWAKENS (Episode 7) was so good that I got both really excited for Episode 8, but also very nervous that it wouldn't live up to 7. I spent the better part of the last month trying to use the force to make sure 8 was incredible. Either Director Rian Johnson made an amazing film in THE LAST JEDI or my personal Jedi skills are off the charts! (I'm pretty sure it's the former, but I'm not giving up on my Jedi status just yet).

 

Johnson took on the hardest part of any trilogy, story 2, and not only made a seamless transition from the first story to the third, but he also gave it its own identity. As with any trilogy, story 2 is where we see the hero(s) lose everything down to their last glimmer of hope. Johnson does this with flawless mastery, artistry, and emotion.

 

The best part of this movie are the secondary characters. They have to play a vital role in moving the plot forward. They do it in a way that is genuine, and you care for each one of them. It is very rare to find a film where you only get to know a character for a few minutes over the course of a film, but their presence touches you.

 

This film also demonstrates the internal struggle between good and evil in many of the characters. One of the things that has always made STAR WARS great has been that the characters are flawed. Very few of them are purely evil and very few of them are completely good. They all struggle with opportunity and desire. One of the best examples of this is a new character played, masterfully, by Benicio Del Toro. As you see his character progress you will hate to love him and love to hate him.

 

STAR WARS: THE LAST JEDI will rock you to your core one moment and then have you laughing out loud the next. For fans of the original trilogy, you are going to love the callbacks to THE EMPIRE STRIKES BACK. The imagery and cinematography are spectacular, the effects are first-rate, the sound and score add incredible depth, and the plot will draw you in like a tractor beam.

 

Do whatever it takes to get to the theater right away to see this movie. It's not only one of the best STAR WARS films, it's one of the best films of 2017.

 

NOTE: I highly recommend seeing THE FORCE AWAKENS again before heading into THE LAST JEDI. There is a lot going on in this film that will make a lot more sense if you remember everything about the first one. 

 

NOTE: Make sure you stay through the first part of the credits. There is something that you don't want to miss.

 

Posted by on in Movie Reviews

JUST GETTING STARTED

Rated: PG-13

Release Date: December 8, 2017

Director: Ron Shelton

Stars: Morgan Freeman, Tommy Lee Jones, Rene Russo

Plot: A guy living it up in the witness protection program needs the help of his biggest rival to thwart a mob hit

Trailer

 

Clint Says: Don't even bother

 

 

Morgan Freeman and Tommy Lee Jones are two of my all-time favorite actors. But that is only because I didn't see them in this first.

 

Ladies and gentlemen, this is easily one of the worst films of 2017. You can see that everyone associated with this movie just gave up. (I can't blame the cast and crew entirely...the production company, Broad Green Pictures, did shut down their Production Division during the making of this movie).

 

This film is so bad it should have a restraining order not to get within 500 feet of a movie theater.

 

This film is so bad that every ticket sold should come with a free pillow and blanket.

 

This film is so bad that it should have been named "A 90-MINUTE FORD TRUCK COMMERCIAL", or "CONTINUOUS CONTINUITY ERROR", or "PAYCHECK GRAB".

 

This film is so bad I wish Tommy Lee Jones could zap me with the flashy thing from MEN IN BLACK so I wouldn't remember seeing it.

 

This film is so bad it should be forced to write apology letters to everyone that buys a ticket.

 

It's a slow, boring, plain, annoying, not funny, poorly acted, mind-numbingly stupid movie that doesn't entertain at all and serves zero purpose in being.

 

It's that bad.

 

Posted by on in Movie Reviews

THE DISASTER ARTIST

Rated: R

Release Date: December 8, 2017

Director: James Franco

Stars: James Franco, Dave Franco, Seth Rogen

Plot: A film about the making of one of the worst movies of all time that became a cult classic

Trailer

 

Clint Says: Drop everything and go see this movie now

 

 

This may be one of the gutsiest movies ever made. 

 

It's a Hollywood-level film about one of the worst movies ever made. Essentially, the studio is hoping that enough people have seen or know about THE ROOM, (the terrible movie this film is based on), and are fanatical enough about it to see a good movie about it. That is a huge risk, but one that I am very glad they took, because this movie deserves all sorts or awards and accolades.

 

Although you don't have to have seen THE ROOM for this movie to make sense, it would help a lot in understanding the nuances of the film. THE ROOM is so off-the-wall weird and so epically  horrible that if you don't know anything about it going into THE DISASTER ARTIST it won't be nearly as funny as it could be.

 

James Franco plays the part of Tommy Wiseau and is absolutely perfect in capturing the complete essence of Tommy in every aspect of his life. Tommy is a nut case. Nobody knows where he is from, how old he is, or how he manages to have a seemingly bottomless bank account. He also wrote, directed, edited, produced, funded, and starred in THE ROOM. Franco deserves nominations from all of the major award outlets for Best Actor.

 

The film is incredibly funny...if you are a "fan" of THE ROOM. If you aren't, then this movie will be somewhere on the level of tolerable. It is also heartwarming and inspiring. Personally, this has a very good shot at being one of my top 10 films of the year.

 

While I could never in good conscience recommend seeing THE ROOM, I will say that if you haven't, but you are interested in seeing THE DISASTER ARTIST, you should spend some time on YouTube watching videos of "highlights" of THE ROOM and videos of Tommy Wiseau. It will go a long way in making your viewing of this film that much more enjoyable.

 

NOTE: Be on the lookout for all sorts of high-level cameos all throughout the movie. There are so many you may need to see the movie twice just to catch them all.

THREE BILLBOARDS OUTSIDE EBBING, MISSOURI

Rated: R

Release Date: November 22, 2017

Director: Martin McDonagh

Stars: Frances McDormand, Woody Harrelson, Sam Rockwell

Plot: A woman puts up three controversial billboards demanding the police find the killer of her daughter

Trailer


Clint Says: Drop everything and go see this movie now

 

 

This is a solid contender for Best Picture, Best Female Lead, and Best Supporting Actor. It is also an outstanding film. 

 

Frances McDormand has to be one of the front runners for the awards this year. Her performance is noting short of complete mastery of the art. There are times where she never says a word, yet she conveys all you need to know. It's the kind of performance that they will show in acting schools as to how to do it right.

 

Sam Rockewell is outstanding as well. His character arc is one of the most powerful and interesting arcs I've seen in a long time. The emotions you feel while watching his character range from deep loathing to heartbreak to understanding.

 

This is more of a dark comedy than it is a drama. The subject matter is tragic and depressing, but the nature of the characters leads to several incredibly funny moments. There are many times where you will find yourself laughing even though you don't want to be. 

 

There are also many moments that are emotional and heavy. They will weigh on you long after yo leave the theater. But you will also take with you all of the moments that made you laugh and the ones that were so powerful you could barely breathe. 

 

There are just a couple of minor issues I had with the film that might keep it from being at the very top of my Top 10 list, but at this point I don't see any chance of this movie not being somewhere in my Top 10 films of 2017. It is spectacular and completely worth your time and money. 

Posted by on in Movie Reviews

ROMAN J. ISRAEL, ESQ.

Rated: PG-13

Release Date: November 22, 2017

Director: Dan Gilroy

Stars: Denzel Washington, Colin Farrell, Carmen Ejogo

Plot: An off-beat attorney finds himself out of a job and forced to make some drastic decisions

Trailer

 

Clint Says: Wait for the DVD

 

 

This is one of those times where the trailer makes the movie look a lot more interesting than the final product actually is. I was excited to see, what I thought was going to be a suspenseful game of cat and mouse with a really smart mouse. What I saw was a slow-moving story of a guy who can't quite get his life together and makes a couple of mistakes along the way. 

 

Denzel Washington does a fine job as a savant attorney, but it isn't a performance that I would consider to be one of his best. It always felt lie I was watching Denzel, not Roman. 

 

The pacing of the film is dreadfully slow. I started looking at my watch about 80 minutes in. It felt like it just kept going even though it clocks in just shy of two hours. If it had been cut down to 90 minutes it may have been a much better movie. 

 

But the thing that I really didn't like about this movie were the continuity errors. In the opening lines of the movie he says he's been at the same firm for 26 years. Moments later he tells someone hes been with the firm 36 years. Later on it becomes 40 years. 

 

The story is supposed to take place over a three week period, but at one point we see a time-lapse of an apartment building being built from the ground up. He also talks about how he's been out of work for a long time, but then the three weeks thing comes back into play. It is annoying when things like this happen because they should be easy and obvious fixes. This just tells me that the decision makers on the film didn't care a lot about it so why should I?

 

It isn't a bad movie, but it's not one that will be up for any awards. If you don't expect too much from it you won't be disappointed when you leave the theater.

Posted by on in Movie Reviews

THE MAN WHO INVENTED CHRISTMAS

Rated: PG

Release Date: November 22, 2017

Director: Bharat Nalluri

Stars: Dan Stevens, Christopher Plummer, Jonathan Pryce

Plot: The path that led Charles Dickens to write "A CHRISTMAS CAROL"

Trailer

 

Clint Says: Wait until after opening weekend, but see this in theaters

 

 

This is a unique and fantastic look at a story that we have all heard dozens of times. To see it come to life through the mind of Charles Dickens is truly a joy. I would have never thought that arguments between Charles Dickens and Scrooge would ever even be a thing much less so fully entertaining!

 

The costumes are award-worthy, Christopher Plummer as Scrooge is magnificent, and the story is highly entertaining. There is so much going on with the imagery and the events happening around Dickens that it almost needs a second viewing on order to pick up on all of the interesting details that lead to the final draft of one of the greatest Christmas stories ever told.

 

It is also rated PG, so it's a film that everyone can see. I would recommend a minimum age of about 10 simply because the plot is most likely too complicated for younger children. 

 

I don't know how close to reality this narrative is, but even if it is 90% made up it is still a fantastic way to spend two hours. You will not be disappointed.

 

Posted by on in Movie Reviews

COCO

Rated: PG

Release Date: November 22, 2017

Director: Lee Unkrich, Adrian Molina

Stars: Anthony Gonzalez, Gael Garcia Bernal, Benjamin Bratt

Plot: A young boy finds himself in the land of the dead and must bring his family together before he can return home

Trailer

 

Clint Says: Wait until after opening weekend, but see this in theaters

 

 

It has been several months since we've had an outstanding animated release. Thankfully, Disney/Pixar has come to our rescue with COCO. So, get ready to cheer, laugh, and clap your hands to the beat of this wild, one-of-a-kind tale.

 

This is a beautifully animated, magical tale that is fun, entertaining, and a wonderful cultural learning experience. It has a unique and interesting plot with some good twists and suspense along the way. It is also filled with hilarious physical comedy and beautiful music. 

 

This film is worth the time and money especially if you are looking for something to do with the kids over the Thanksgiving holiday. The great news is, parents will love this movie, too!

 

I would be shocked if COCO isn't a finalist for best animated feature. It's that good. 

Posted by on in Movie Reviews

LAST FLAG FLYING

Rated: R

Release Date: November 22, 2017

Director: Richard Linklater

Stars: Steve Carell, Bryan Cranston, Lawrence Fishburn

Plot: A man recruits two of his old war buddies to help him bury his son killed in battle

Trailer

 

Clint Says: Wait until after opening weekend, but see this in theaters

 

 

This may be the most emotional buddy road trip film ever made. It is a powerful film that will break your heart while your heart fills with pride. It's a complex narrative that demands your attention, but giving your attention isn't difficult because the acting is so impeccable.

 

While this is not an easy film to watch it still has many moments of laughter and joy. But it also has an underlying current of guilt and regret. In true military fashion, a lot goes unsaid, but the message is still conveyed loud and clear. 

 

The only problem I had with this movie is that it is 20 - 30 minutes too long. The second act drags out to the point where I was starting to look at my watch. There were several scenes that could have had the same impact even if they were cut down or cut completely from the finished product. 

 

While all three of the main characters are outstanding in their roles, Bryan Cranston delivers a performance that could win him several awards this year. Steve Carell's portrayal of a calm, but broken man will tear into your soul.

 

If you are ready for an emotional ride, LAST FLAG FLYING will get you there. Just know, you'll be in that place for a while even after the credits roll. 

 

Posted by on in Movie Reviews

JUSTICE LEAGUE

Rated: PG-13

Release Date: November 17, 2017

Director: Zack Snyder

Stars: Ben Affleck, Gal Gadot, Jason Momoa, Ezra Miller

Plot: Batman assembles a crew of superheroes to try to take down a villain intent on destroying the world

Trailer

 

Clint Says: Save some money and see a matinee

 

 

Ugh. DC is back to their old ways of making below-average films. WONDER WOMAN was so good! I thought they might have figured it out and turned the corner, but JUSTICE LEAGUE is two steps backward. 

 

This film takes a while to really get going, and when it does the villain is so ridiculous and the stakes are so cliche that I was just checking off the plot line boxes until the end. 

 

I should have known we were in for a tough slog when, in the opening scene, there is a "flashback" to Superman and he literally has a CGI mouth over his face that doesn't even come close to matching. From the opening moments I was pulled out of the story hard. 

 

Then there are two moments (no spoilers) later in the film that are so spectacularly stupid that I basically checked out for the rest of the film. In one case the villain says and does something so against character that it makes zero sense why he would do it, except for the convenience for how the director wanted the story to go. In the other case one of the good guys is literally able to just walk up to the one thing that the bad guy's army should be protecting and start destroying it. 

 

I must say, thank goodness for The Flash. If he wasn't in this movie it would have to be called No Chemistry League. Without him in it this would have been as bad as BATMAN VS SUPERMAN. Also, two of the heroes serve no purpose in this movie other than to help stall the villain until someone else can show up. DC has no idea what to do with their characters, and until they figure it out we are going to be stuck with junk like this.

 

Compared to WONDER WOMAN and to THOR: RAGNAROK, this flick is nearly unwatchable. If you are in the mood for a fun and entertaining comic book movie stay far away from this one and either go see THOR or get a digital release of WONDER WOMAN. Your weekend will be better for it. 

Posted by on in Movie Reviews

WONDER

Rated: PG

Release Date: November 17, 2017

Director: Stephen Chbosky

Stars: Jacob Tremblay, Owen Wilson, Julia Roberts

Plot: A special needs child deals with the cruelty of middle school while his family tries to help

Trailer

 

Clint Says: Drop everything and go see this movie now

 

 

If the Academy had any sense, they would seriously consider Jacob Tremblay for an Oscar. Unfortunately, they don't have any sense, so that is that. 

 

Moving on. 

 

Good grief, Jacob Tremblay is amazing! He's all of 11 years old and this should be his SECOND Oscar nomination. (He was snubbed during 2015 for his performance in ROOM).

 

Okay, really, I'm done with that now. 

 

This film is very good, then you add in Jacob Tremblay and it becomes something truly special. He owns this movie! Every scene he is in is better because he is in it!

 

I'm really trying to get to other points here...

 

This film is beautiful, heartbreaking, loving, and powerful. It will make you ugly cry and then immediately make you laugh until your stomach hurts. It will also make you see things through different eyes. 

 

This film should be mandatory viewing for all kids 8 and up. It is a helpful tool in showing how people may look different, but their worth is not in their looks. It's a lesson that a lot of adults need as well. 

 

If you are in the mood for a movie that will make you feel, go see WONDER right now. 

Posted by on in Movie Reviews

THE STAR

Rated: PG

Release Date: November 17, 2017

Director: Timothy Reckart

Stars: Steven Yeun, Keegan-Michael Key, Aidy Bryant, Gina Rodriguez, Zachary Levi

Plot: The story of the birth of Jesus told through the eyes of the animals

Trailer

 

Clint Says: Wait for the DVD

 

 

This is a fine film. It tells the story of the birth of Jesus in a unique, but (mostly) accurate way. There are a few creative liberties, but nothing that detracts from the biblical account. 

 

There is really nothing special about the animation or the characters that makes it worth spending the money to see this in theaters. It's not a bad film, it's just not something spectacular. My young daughters saw it with me and they both thought it was "okay". 

 

It has a few funny scenes and a few special moments, but nothing that is really memorable. It just feels like a middle of the road cartoon. 

 

The only thing I didn't like about the film was the music. There were several times where songs started playing and it felt like they had nothing to do with what was happening on screen at the time. And there were times where a song, with lyrics, was playing when it should have been an instrumental. There were several times where the music was distracting. 

 

There are a couple of incredible animated films that are about to hit theaters in the next few weeks. If you are on a movie budget then wait for one of those. If you have the extra cash and your kids really want to go see this film, you won't walk away disappointed, but you aren't going to be excited either. 

Posted by on in Movie Reviews

LADY BIRD

Rated: R

Release Date: November 3, 2017

Director: Greta Gerwig

Stars: Saoirse Ronan, Laurie Metcalf, Lucas Hedges, Tracy Letts

Plot: A high school girl in Sacramento, CA tries to deal with her family and life in general

Trailer

 

Clint Says: Wait for the DVD and make someone else rent it

 

 

About two times a year I find myself on my lonely little movie critic island all by myself. Everyone else in the world is raving about some fantastic work of art that I'm mostly sure is a big pile of steaming crap. Other times, all of the other critics are sure that we have just witnessed the worst movie to ever have the audacity to show its hideous self in a darkened theater, while I find it to be quite enjoyable.

 

This is one of those times. 

 

And this time I'm sure LADY BIRD is a big pile of steaming crap. (Shout out to all of my critic buddies standing at the other side of the candy counter and laughing at me!)

 

I will say that the acting in this movie is outstanding. There may even be some award-worthy roles. But the plot is so plain, so boring, so generic store-brand vanilla that the acting gets swallowed up by the meh. 

 

Seriously, the plot of this movie, (based on the life and horrific first-world, white-girl, middle-class-family tragedies of Greta Gerwig), is about a girl who doesn't quite fit in at school even though she has friends, has arguments with her parents, wants to move away to go to college, has a couple of relationships that end in breakups, and finally realizes her family is pretty okay. 

 

What the actual #$%@!?

 

This is a movie? Ummm, no. It's basically the life story of almost every single American teen ever.

 

Truly, there is nothing in this movie that made me say, "oh, now I get why we are doing this." It is simply a slice of a boring life. 

 

There is no way I could ever recommend anyone ever seeing this movie, but it has a 100% on Rotten Tomatoes as of this writing, so what the heck do I know. Go enjoy it while I bask in the sun on my lonely island watching THE LONE RANGER again. 

Posted by on in Movie Reviews

MURDER ON THE ORIENT EXPRESS

Rated: PG-13

Release Date: November 10, 2017

Director: Kenneth Branagh

Stars: Kenneth Branagh, Daisy Ridley, Johnny Depp, Penelope Cruz

Plot: 13 people are stranded on a train, and somebody is a murderer

Trailer

 

Clint Says: Wait until after opening weekend, but see this in theaters

 

 

This film is almost a throwback to the old days of Hollywood where the movie depended a lot more on dialogue than visuals and effects. 

 

This is a straight murder mystery movie. There is very little action and a whole lot of interrogation. If you like puzzles, you'll love this movie. If you are thinking this is going to be a James Bond-style period piece, you'll be sorely disappointed. 

 

The ensemble cast is star-studded and amazing. The acting makes this film watchable. Without the incredible acting this could have easily been a two-hour long, excruciatingly boring train wreck. And while it isn't fast-paced and action-packed, it is still filled with suspense and intrigue. It will keep you engaged and guessing the whole time.

 

It's been a very long time since we've had a true mystery movie hit theaters. If that is your genre of choice, go enjoy every minute of this mind-twisting ride.

Posted by on in Movie Reviews

DADDY'S HOME 2

Rated: PG-13

Release Date: November 10, 2017

Director: Sean Anders

Stars: Will Ferrell, Mark Wahlberg, Mel Gibson, John Lithgow

Plot: Co-dads try to plan the perfect Christmas, but then their dads show up

Trailer


Clint Says: Save some money and see a matinee

 

 

Rarely is a sequel better than the original, but in this case, the second film is much better than the first one.

 

The addition of Mel Gibson and John Lithgow adds a layer of comedic depth that was severely lacking in the first film in this franchise. Their story lines make the plot more interesting, the jokes funnier, and helped lessen the load on the overly tired Ferrell/Wahlberg combo.

 

This movie has a good share of great physical comedy and snappy one-liners, however it does get to a point where it feels like funny stuff is happening for the sake of being funny rather than pushing the plot forward. The film clocks in at close to two hours and could have done well with one more 20-minute edit.

 

If you are looking for a fun Christmas comedy, this one will help you through the Holidays.

 

NOTE: Believe it or not, as far as I can can tell, the studios that made this film and A BAD MOMS CHRISTMAS are not looking to make a crossover film. Even though both movies are basically identical and all of the grandparents end up running to the same place.

Posted by on in Movie Reviews

THOR: RAGNAROK

Rated: PG-13

Release Date: November 3, 2017

Director: Taika Waititi

Stars: Chris Hemsworth. Tom Hiddleston, Cate Blanchett, Jeff Goldblum, Tessa Thompson

Plot: Thor and Loki must work together to destroy Hela, the goddess of death, before she can destroy all of Asgard

Trailer

 

Clint Says: Drop everything and go see this movie now

 

 

Yes! Yes! A thousand times, yes!

 

Until now, the THOR movies have been okay, but not great. But this third installment is everything! It is funny, action-packed, Loki-filled awesomeness wrapped up in a cuddly blanket made of Chris Hemsworth's smiles and winks, and sprinkled on top with the Jeff Goldblumiest role of Jeff Goldblum's career.

 

Cate Blanchett plays the goddess of death like she was custom made for the role. (That's a good thing). She is fun, creepy, and super-evil all at the same time.

 

It feels like MARVEL has finally figured out the formula for making these "single hero" films as great as the "team" films. And this one is so good you'll most likely be setting your next appointment to see it right after you see it the first time.

 

As will all MARVEL films, be on the lookout for Stan Lee, and stay through the end of the credits.

Posted by on in Movie Reviews

A BAD MOMS CHRISTMAS

Rated: R

Release Date: November 1, 2017

Director: Jon Lucas, Scott Moore

Stars: Mila Kunis, Kristen Bell, Kathryn Hahn

Plot: The bad moms are trying to take back Christmas, but then their moms show up

Trailer

 

Clint Says: Wait until after opening weekend, but see this in theaters

 

 

I have to admit, I never thought this franchise would see the incredible amount of success it has already achieved. When the first film came out I thought it was a good, but not great, film. But it struck a chord with people like very few movies can do. BAD MOMS spent almost 10 weeks in the box office top 10. For those of you that don't follow the box office on a regular basis, 10 weeks in the top 10 in nearly unheard of. A blockbuster may spend 8 weeks there. Most films are in and out of the top 10 in about 4 weeks.

 

So once again, I find myself having enjoyed this movie, but I don't feel like it is anything exceptional. I'm sure the box office will say otherwise.

 

It is a very funny, insanely raunchy, Christmas rebel flick that will have you laughing so hard popcorn might shoot out of your nose. (Sure, it'll hurt, but it will be really funny for all of your friends). It is also formulaic, predictable, and at times it teeters on the line between sweet and smarmy.

 

The motherly additions to the story line are funny, infuriating, and heartwarming...just like almost all of our moms. Throw in a polite stripper with A LOT to offer, and you have a perfect recipe for a naughty Christmas.

 

Grab your girlfriends and get to the theaters now.

Posted by on in Movie Reviews

LBJ

Rated: R

Release Date: November 3, 2017

Director: Rob Reiner

Stars: Woody Harrelson, Jennifer Jason Leigh

Plot: The story of LBJ from just before he becomes Vice President through the death of JFK

Trailer

 

Clint Says: Wait for the DVD

 

 

This is a film that check off a lot of the "award-winning film" boxes. Except it doesn't check off the biggest one. LBJ just isn't that good. 

 

Woody Harrelson is amazing as LBJ, but beyond that everyone else feels either flat or based on stereotype. Also, the music is terrible. There were several times where the score was so not right for the scene that it pulled me out of the movie. 

 

This is basically a documentary with pretty people. It doesn't give us any insight that we don't already know, it isn't earth-shattering in any way. It feels like something you'd see on The History Channel during a President's Day Weekend marathon.

 

There were several times during the movie where I asked myself what I call "The question of death", which is: Why was this movie even made? Typically, it's not a good thing if I'm bored enough for the question to pop into my mind. But for it to happen several times during one movie? Well, that means this one isn't worth your time or money. 

Posted by on in Movie Reviews

GOODBYE, CHRISTOPHER ROBIN

Rated: PG

Release Date: November 3, 2017

Director: Simon Curtis

Stars: Domhnall Gleeson, Margot Robbie, Will Tilston, Kelly Macdonald

Plot: The story of A.A. Milne, his son, Christopher Robin, and the turmoil behind the creation of WINNIE THE POOH

Trailer

 

Clint Says: Drop everything and go see this movie now

 

 

This film is nothing short of spectacular. It is a story that will draw you in, make you fall in love, and then destroy your emotions. And the strange thing is, you'll be completely okay with it.

 

This is a character-driven film, so it can really only be as good as the acting allows. In this case, the acting by all parties involved is award-worthy. Domhnall Gleeson proves once and for all that he is among the elite in Hollywood. Will Tilston (Christopher Robin) will captivate your heart, and the lovable Margot Robbie gives a performance that will make you have feelings about her that you didn't know were possible.

 

The cinematography is gorgeous, the story is beautifully told, and every other aspect of this movie is perfect.

 

You will feel all of the emotions while watching this film. You'll laugh, you'll be angry, you'll fall in love, and you will ugly cry. That goes for the guys, too. I saw this in a room of about 10 people and for several minutes there was a lot of loud sniffing, and a quick glance around the room showed that nobody had dry eyes.

 

If Winnie The Pooh was a part of your childhood this story will mean even more to you, but surprisingly, you don't need to be a fan of the "silly old bear" to be a fan of this film.

Posted by on in Movie Reviews

THE KILLING OF A SACRED DEER

Rated: R

Release Date: November 3, 2017

Director: Yorgos Lanthimos

Stars: Colin Farrell, Nicole Kidman, Barry Keoghan, Raffey Cassidy

Plot: A surgeon must make a horrific sacrifice to appease an evil teen he thought was his friend

Trailer


Clint Says: Wait for the DVD

 

 

If you are the kind of movie-goer that only sees a few movies every year, then you might as well stop reading now and never bother with this movie. This is a film for cinefiles. The average person will find this to be insufferably annoying. For the people that love the art of film, you will find this movie fascinating.

 

This film is weird, quirky, full of juxtaposition, and oddly funny. All of the characters deliver their lines in this strange and monotonous way which creates a weird counterbalance of calm and ordinary while the outside world crashes down around them.

 

By the time the film gets to its climax it is so far beyond ridiculous that, if you are going to enjoy the film at all, you'll just need to let go and roll with it. If you try to overthink what is going on it will make your brain hurt.  

 

I can't recommend this film for everyone, but if you like the weird stuff, this film is right up your alley.