Reviews Of What Is In Theaters Now

Recent blog posts

Posted by on in Movie Reviews

ALADDIN

Rated: PG

Release Date: May 24, 2019

Director: Guy Ritchie

Stars: Naomi Scott, Mena Massoud, Will Smith

Plot: A boy from the streets falls for the princess and a genie helps him find out who he really is

Trailer

 

Clint Says: Wait until after opening weekend, but see this in theaters

 

 

The 1992 animated film will always have a special place in my heart. It is the film my wife and I saw on our very first date. Therefore, I was really nervous when they announced this live-action reboot. But now that I have seen the movie, I can say that it is just as great and fun as the original.

 

This film is a visual feast. The colors, the costumes, the sets, and the scenery are all amazing. It wouldn't surprise me at all to see this up for a couple of Oscars for costumes, cinematography, and/or production design.

 

The only thing I didn't like about the movie is the same thing I don't like about most movies from director Guy Ritchie. He loves to get super artistic and quirky with some of the shots, which pulls people out of the story and forces them to notice the oddity of the shot. This time he does it by slowing down or speeding up the action during several of the musical numbers. I am a firm believer that the job of the director is to keep the viewer in the story, not to show off the new thing they like to do.

 

It is important to note that this is a slightly different story than the original. Also, since it is a live-action movie we get a lot less from Rajah the tiger and Iago the parrot. But we do get a much more ruthless and cunning Jafar. We also get a much more competent Sultan, and a hilarious handmaid to the princess.

 

The main actors do a wonderful job as Aladdin and Jasmine, and Will Smith is great as the genie. I commend him for taking on this role and dealing with all of the blow-back over the last several months. Robin Williams's genie is one of the most iconic characters in movie history. To try to be the guy after the guy is a daunting task that is rarely successful. Smith does a great job of making the character his own, while still paying homage to his predecessor.

 

Overall, this is a wonderful film. It stays close to the classic, but it feels updated for today. Especially with the new song added for Jasmine's character. If you are a fan of the original, you should give this one a shot. And for those of you with young kids, this would be a wonderful film to introduce them to the incredible magic of Disney movies. 

Posted by on in Movie Reviews

BRIGHTBURN

Rated: R

Release Date: May 24, 2019

Director: David Yarovesky

Stars: Jackson Dunn, Elizabeth Banks, David Denman

Plot: A boy from another world discovers he has incredible superpowers, and decides to use them for evil purposes

Trailer

 

Clint Says: Wait for the digital release

 

 

We've all been in someone's life as they are going through puberty. Whether it was our own awkward change, or the metamorphosis of one of our children, puberty is a mess. 

 

This movie is essentially about a kid with the worst puberty rage ever. 

 

I was really looking forward to this movie because the trailer made it look unique and smart. Unfortunately, it falls in line with the formula of most horror flicks, and it never tells us what happened and why. 

 

It almost feels like the studio is trying to set us up for a series of films about anti-heroes...like the Avengers, only on opposite day. Unfortunately, this movie was so blah that I don't even care to do the research to see if more are going to be made. 

 

The film does have some good suspense, and some scary moments. It is also filled with very gory scenes, so if you have a weak stomach you should stay away from this one. 

 

There isn't anything in this movie that is exciting or compelling enough for me to recommend you see it. It's basically a poorly told, half-horror, half comic-book film that will be forgotten in a few weeks.

Posted by on in Movie Reviews

BOOKSMART

Rated: R

Release Date: May 24, 2019

Director: Olivia Wilde

Stars: Kaitlyn Dever, Beanie Feldstein, Jason Sudeikis

Plot: Two girls that spent their entire school careers studying, decide to party hard on the last night of high school

Trailer

 

Clint Says: Drop everything and go see this movie now

 

 

It seems like every year we get one or two coming of age movies, and most of them are average at best. This one may be one of the best coming of age movies in the last 20 years. Just like John Hughes used to do 30 years ago, director Olivia Wilde manages to catch the true essence of teen life in the current era. This film doesn't go as deep as Hughes's films went, but it does get deeper than just the surface emotions.

 

It is also a very funny, very raunchy film that will have you laughing constantly and cringing at the embarrassing moments. There are several times where you will be doing both at the same time. The great news is that the film also goes through several other emotional moments that will make you really feel for the characters.

 

The acting is spot on from the lead actors. Some of the minor players leave a little to be desired, but none are so bad that it pulls you out of the story.

 

My only issue with this film is with first-time director Olivia Wilde missing "the" shot in a few of the scenes. For example, without giving anything away, there is one scene that had a perfect physical comedy moment set up. Wilde gives us the before and after, but we don't see the actual moment happen. This occurs four or five times throughout the film.

 

Aside from that, this is a fantastic film that is perfect for today's climate, but it will also take you back to your fond memories of high school life. If you can handle the raunchiness, you should absolutely take the time to see this movie as soon as possible.

JOHN WICK CHAPTER 3: PARABELLUM

Rated: R

Release Date: May 17, 2019

Director: Chad Stahelski

Stars: Keanu Reeves, Halle Berry, Ian McShane, Laurence Fishburne

Plot: John Wick has become excommunicated, and now everyone is trying to claim the $14 Million price on his head

Trailer

 

Clint Says: Drop everything and go see this in theaters now

 

 

It is confirmed. This is the best action movie franchise in the history of film. It's better than DIE HARD, it's better than the BOURNE films, it's better than all of them.

 

Never have I seen a row full of movie critics all jump back in their seats, look at each other in amazement, and then clap and cheer like a bunch of kids at an amusement park. And that happened TWICE in the first ten minutes of the movie!

 

Just about 90 minutes into the film a fellow critic leaned over to me and whispered, "I'm going to see this movie infinity times." To which my reply was, "I know, right!?"

 

If you have not seen the first two films in this series it is essential that you do before seeing this one. This movie doesn't bother with silly things like resetting the world, the characters, or what the heck is going on. It just picks up right where the last one left off and sprints towards the finish line. 

 

This is the kind of movie where you have to suspend your disbelief. If you can do that, you'll stand a great chance of loving this movie. If you can't, you shouldn't even bother. Just about everything that happens in the JOHN WICK films are impossible and ridiculous. But that is what makes them so great.

 

For those of you that are not familiar with this franchise, you need to know that it is filled with brutal violence, and oh-I-really-don't-want-to-look-but-I-have-to moments from beginning to end. If you can handle all of that then you should watch the first two film immediately and then head straight to the theater to see this one.

 

Posted by on in Movie Reviews

A DOG'S JOURNEY

Rated: PG

Release Date: May 17, 2019

Director: Gail Mancuso

Stars: Josh Gad, Dennis Quaid, Kathryn Prescott, Marg Helgenberger

Plot: A grandpa asks his old dog to come back as a puppy and help watch over his estranged granddaughter

Trailer

 

Clint Says: Wait for the digital release

 

 

Here is the good news...this movie is so much better than 2017's A DOG'S PURPOSE. The bad news...That movie was terrible, so this one is just barely average.

 

Thankfully, they stayed away from all of the tragic and traumatic dog death this time and tried to stick with the sweet and funny side of dogs.

 

The story is okay. It isn't anywhere near an exciting and compelling tale, but it does have enough conflict and twists to make it somewhat interesting.

 

Josh Gad plays the voice of all of the dogs. He's the best part of the movie delivering several funny lines. The rest of the actors are passable at best.

 

If you have young children that are interested in seeing this movie, you should probably see it first without them just to make sure they can handle it. In fact, it is probably better to just wait for the film to come out on a digital platform before you see it. That way you can pause it and answer some of the tough questions that will inevitably arise while watching this film.

Posted by on in Movie Reviews

THE SUN IS ALSO A STAR

Rated: PG-13

Release Date: May 17, 2019

Director: Ry Russo-Young

Stars: Yara Shahidi, Charles Melton

Plot: A guy tries to get a girl he just met to fall in love with him on her last day in New York City

Trailer

 

Clint Says: Wait for the digital release and make someone else rent it

 

 

I admit that I am a total sucker for a good first love story. Unfortunately, this film is nowhere near a good first love story. In fact, it is a lot closer to terribly boring than it is to good. 

 

The premise is okay, but the execution is so incredibly non-realistic that it gets to the point of laughable. I found myself checking my watch and letting my mind wander several times while waiting for something at least semi-exciting to happen. Perhaps a better title for this movie would be A BORING, SLOW WALK AROUND NEW YORK CITY.

 

Worse yet, there is no chemistry between the main characters. He comes on way to creepy and forceful and she is going against every natural thing she would be doing on her last day in the city she loves. Not once did I root them on to get together, because they never got me to care about them or their relationship. 

 

Then the movie falls off the rails completely in the third act. There are so many things that make no sense, and so many coincidences that happen that you can't help but sit in disbelief and roll your eyes.

 

On the plus side, if you are a fan of New York, this film is a great guide to a lot of the cool landmarks in the city. It almost feels like this was a really long, poorly written, ad for the New York Tourism Board. 

 

In the end, this movie asks one basic question. What would you do if you only had one day? My answer would absolutely include skipping this movie. 

Posted by on in Movie Reviews

POKEMON: DETECTIVE PIKACHU

Rated: PG

Release Date: May 10, 2019

Director: Rob Letterman

Stars: Ryan Reynolds, Justice Smith, Kathryn Newton

Plot: A young man connects with a Pokemon and both work together to solve the mystery of his missing father

Trailer

 

Clint Says: Save some money and see a matinee

 

 

Over the many years that I have been a professional film critic I have seen some truly nerdtastic crowds. The level of nerddom for this film absolutely destroys the nerdiness of all other films. It leaves a trail of taped up broken glasses, geek speak, and dorky laughs in its wake. I have never seen a group of 20-something guys in awkward attire so excited for a little, fuzzy, yellow, teddy bear.

 

As a complete non-participant in the Pokemon craze, I was thoroughly at a loss for most of the movie. I got the general plot enough to understand the quest, but there were people laughing all around me at things that I still don't understand why they were funny. There were also several oohs and ahhs that went over my head.

 

Thankfully, I made sure to see this movie with a couple of serious Pokemon fans. One of them a young girl, and the other a 21 year old guy. The bottom line: Both of them loved it.

 

Critically speaking, this movie felt slow and a bit too simple, the acting isn't great, and the special effects looked dated, but I don't think these are issues that will deter the true Pokemon fans.

 

If you are a Pokemon fan, this is a must-see movie. If you aren't a fan then go ahead and skip this film. There is nothing in it for you.

Posted by on in Movie Reviews

THE HUSTLE

Rated: PG-13

Release Date: May 10, 2019

Director: Chris Addison

Stars: Anne Hathaway, Rebel Wilson

Plot: Two con artists team up to scam men

Trailer

 

Clint Says: Wait for the digital release

 

 

Oh, look. Another movie in which Rebel Wilson plays the exact same character she is in every movie she's in. I'm starting to think that she has zero ability to act and what we see on the screen is how she is in real life. Thank goodness Anne Hathaway is there to make this film somewhat tolerable and amusing. 

 

For a film about con artists, the cons are overly simplistic and easy. There are a couple of good twists, but those do more to set up another movie than to do anything to help this one be better.  It would have been nice if the women were as smart as the men are stupid. 

 

It is a comedy, and there are a few laughs, but not enough to make this a movie you'll want to see more than once. And only a couple of times are the comedic moments worthy of a big laugh.

 

There are plenty of great con flicks and comedies to choose from. Save your money by skipping this movie and watch one of the really good ones on your TV or computer. 

Posted by on in Movie Reviews

POMS

Rated: PG-13

Release Date: May 10, 2019

Director: Zara Hayes

Stars: Diane Keaton, Jacki Weaver, Pam Grier, Rhea Perlman

Plot: A group of women at a retirement home start a competition cheerleading squad

Trailer

 

Clint Says: Save some money and see a matinee

 

 

Just like a group of octogenarian cheerleaders, it's very difficult to expect too much out of a movie like POMS. The good news is that the film over delivers on the fun and the funny.

 

This group of sassy grannies will have you laughing until parts of you that normally don't hurt start hurting. There are several laugh out loud moments, most of which are delivered between the stars and their High School rivals.

 

The movie is just sweet enough. Only occasionally does it feel like it drops into the land of forced sweetness. And thankfully, those scenes are short.

 

Critically speaking, this film leaves a lot to be desired in the areas of acting, using cliched tropes, and continuity. There is one chase scene where they literally use the same shot 15 seconds apart. And the whole film fits perfectly into the 90-minute comedy formula.

 

Aside from those small negatives, this is a fun film that will be a great night out for you and your girlfriends. It might even surprise a few people by doing very well at the box office for several weeks. It's not a great film, but it is one worth seeing.

 

Posted by on in Movie Reviews

TOLKIEN

Rated: PG-13

Release Date: May 10, 2019

Director: Dome Karukoski

Stars: Nicholas Hoult, Lily Collins

Plot: This film explores the younger years of the acclaimed fantasy author and how his experiences shaped his stories

Trailer

 

Clint Says: Drop everything and go see this in theaters now

 

 

As a fan of the works of JRR Tolkien, I was intrigued by the premise of this film. I wanted to see the moments in his life that shaped his writings and especially the works we all know so well like THE HOBBIT and THE LORD OF THE RINGS.

 

Not only did I get what I wanted, but I got so much more. This movie is outstanding. It is a work of art unto its own. It almost feels like the second coming of DEAD POETS SOCIETY, which, to me, is one of the greatest films of the last 40 years.

 

The acting is near perfect, the cinematography is mesmerizing, the story is well-paced, and the imagery is intense, meaningful, and exciting to see. There are so many Easter eggs in this film for fans of The Hobbit and LOTR. You probably need to see it a couple of times to catch them all.

 

Nicolas Hoult and Lily Collins have beautiful chemistry, making the love story just as enjoyable as the story about his early life and friends.  They make this movie significantly better with their skills.

 

Unfortunately, for most fans of Tolkien's works, they will never even know this film exists. The marketing for this movie has been minimal at best, and that is a true disservice to a wonderful film. If you know someone who is a fan, please let them know that this movie is in theaters now. It deserves a good audience.

Posted by on in Movie Reviews

LONG SHOT

Rated: R

Release Date: May 3, 2019

Director: Jonathan Levine

Stars: Charlize Theron, Seth Rogen

Plot: Two childhood friends that have taken very different life paths, meet up again and begin working with one another

Trailer

 

Clint Says: Wait until after opening weekend, but see this in theaters

 

 

If you ever told me that Charlize Theron and Seth Rogen would be love interests in a RomCom, I would have said you were crazy. If you followed that up by saying the RomCom would be really good, I would have just laughed at you and walked away. 

 

Who knew that all of this time you were right? Congratulations!

 

After seeing this film I'm still not quite sure how it all worked as well as it did, but it did, and it is a fantastic movie. Theron and Rogen have incredible chemistry that has you rooting for them from beginning to end. Their conversations and interactions are fun and entertaining.

 

The film is filled with laugh out loud moments, most of which help the movie race towards its R-rating. The jokes are almost all raunchy, and so is a lot of the physical comedy. If you are okay with that kind of humor, you will laugh until it hurts while watching this one. 

 

The movie also has a great, though not fully based in reality, story that is compelling and keeps you interested throughout. It does take several liberties with the way certain events would happen in the real world in order to keep the story rolling or to give us another laugh, but those rule-breaking moments are minor compared to the entertainment that would have been lost if they stuck to a more realistic scenario. 

 

Perhaps the most interesting aspect of this movie is that Rogen manages to become a heartwarming, lovable teddy bear, rather than just his typical stoner portrayal. And Theron seamlessly slides into the roll of party animal with surprising ease. Both of them play roles that are never their style, yet they pull it off very well. 

 

Before I saw this I would have told you that it was a LONG SHOT to be any good. Now, that I've seen it, I am happy to say that it is a front runner for best comedy of the year.

Posted by on in Movie Reviews

UGLYDOLLS

Rated: PG

Release Date: May 3, 2019

Director: Kelly Asbury

Stars: Kelly Clarkson, Blake Shelton, Nick Jonas, Janelle Monae

Plot: Several misfit toys go on an adventure to find children to love them, but the perfect toys are trying to keep the misfits from being found

Trailer

 

Clint Says: Save some money and see a matinee

 

 

What do you get when you put together a huge list of A-list actors and musicians, a unique animation style, and a bunch of factory-reject fuzzy dolls? You get an okay movie with some great songs.

 

Kelly Clarkson leads the way as the rejected doll that refuses to give up hope that she will, one day, be held in the arms of a child that needs her. She, along with her band of misfits, set out to make her dream a reality. 

 

The film is targeted to children about 6-8 years old, and it does very little to try to keep the adults entertained. Throughout the entire movie I heard kids laughing, but very few adults were reacting to it. So, if you are planning on taking your kids to see this, you might want to have something else to do for yourself.

 

The animation is interesting, it isn't complicated or groundbreaking, but it is eye-catching because the scenery is made out of quilt work and cardboard. It almost feels like you are watching a young child build an imaginary world out of the things they have in their room. It gives the film a simple and innocent feel. 

 

The best part of the movie is the music. Almost every song is super catchy and fun. And since they are sung by people like Kelly Clarkson, Janelle Monae, and Nick Jonas they sound amazing. The one time Blake Shelton sings leaves a lot to be desired, thankfully his part is short.

 

This is not a great animated movie by any standard, but it will entertain the younger kids for 90 minutes. You won't be mad that you spent the money to see it in theaters, but you'll be a lot happier with the savings if you wait for the digital release.

Posted by on in Movie Reviews

THE INTRUDER

Rated: PG-13

Release Date: May 3, 2019

Director: Deon Taylor

Stars: Dennis Quaid, Megan Good, Michael Ealy

Plot: A couple buys their dream home, but the former owner isn't ready to let the place go

Trailer

 

Clint Says: Don't even bother

 

 

Very few times in my life have I rooted for the bad guy in a movie, but in this case I was cheering him on with full gusto. About 30 minutes into the film I realized that both of his victims were so colossally stupid that they deserved everything that was going to happen to them.

 

Here are just a couple of the, (slightly spoilery, but it really doesn't matter), stupid things they did: 1. They both are the worst cell phone users ever. 2. They never bother to call the cops. 3. The woman has zero sense when it comes to self-preservation. 4. The bad guy keeps coming to their house and  the guy victim sends his wife back home ALONE to spend the night ALONE. 5. Bad things keep happening at the house and zero cops show up.

 

And those are just a few of the eye-rolling moments...I left out all of the really bad ones. And there are plenty.

 

Oh, and to make matters worse, hardly anything exciting happens in the first hour. They had to throw in a fake action/dramatic scene to try and trick us into thinking the movie was actually going somewhere.

 

This movie is so bad that strangers were talking to each other as we left the theater commiserating with one another about how bad the flick was. I had one guy come up to me and say, "if that were my wife and she was that stupid, we would have had a come-to-Jesus way early in that movie." He's not wrong.

 

A tell-tale sign that a movie isn't great is when the studio releases one trailer, and puts it on the front of every possible movie for a good six months leading up to its release. Which is exactly what the studio did for this film. Going in, I knew there was a chance that it wasn't going to be good, but I went in with an open mind. Silly me. The actual movie ended up being even worse than I had imagined it could be.

 

This movie could have been so smart and scary. Instead it was thoroughly boring and stupid. Don't even bother with this one. It will just disappoint you.

 

Posted by on in Movie Reviews

AVENGERS: ENDGAME

Rated: PG-13

Release Date: April 26, 2019

Director: Anthony Russo and Joe Russo

Stars: Robert Downey Jr., Chris Evans, Chris Hemsworth, Scarlett Johansson

Plot: The Avengers that are left alive reassemble with the hope of defeating Thanos and restoring the universe to the way it was before Thanos's devastation

Trailer

 

Clint Says: Drop everything and go see this in theaters now

 

 

Wow. Where to begin? All of the thoughts and feels....

 

Let's start with the questions everyone has been asking me:

 

1. Does this movie answer all of the questions? Well, sort of...there are some things that you'll still be questioning after seeing it. 

 

2. Is it really 3 hours long? Yes, but it doesn't feel like it at all.

 

3. Are all those people really dead? Why on earth would I tell you the answer to that question? Go see it for yourself!

 

4. Is it worth the hype? ABSOLUTELY! This movie is everything I hoped it would be and more.

 

Since 2008 when IRON MAN hit the big screen we have been working our way towards this moment 22 films in the making. Not only did we get to see some incredible films along the way, but we became friends with the characters like never before. And we came together as one united nerdom the world over to support our favorite superheroes.

 

Like this other films this one is full of fantastic dialogue, laugh out loud moments, wild action, and deeply emotional moments that bore into your soul. This movie also gives us satisfaction. It is a great ending to a wonderful series. (Yes, there will there be other movies in this Universe, but this can still be considered a good end point).

 

There are a couple of moments where the movie starts to drag just a little bit, but those moments are made up for by some fantastic moments during the final act. I saw this in a completely full theater and the cheers near the end of the film were almost deafening.

 

When all of the movies are finally ranked best to worst, this one won't end up on top, but it will most assuredly be in the top 5. It is that good.

 

When you go to the theater to see this movie, go ahead and buy yourself another ticket for another showing because you will want to see this one at least a second time. Probably more. Especially, if you have invested as much of your life into this Universe as many of us nerds have.

 

Avenger fans, assemble! (At the theater).

Posted by on in Movie Reviews

HIGH LIFE

Rated: R

Release Date: April 26, 2019

Director: Claire Denis

Stars: Robert Pattinson, Juliette Binoche, Mia Goth, Andre Benjamin

Plot: A small group of people try to survive in deep space while they work on different science experiments

Trailer

 

Clint Says: Wait for the digital release

 

 

Robert Pattinson may be best known for playing the role of Edward in TWILIGHT, but that is tragic. He has made several indie films since then that may not be well know, but he has been truly outstanding in all of them. You may not like the overall movies, but watching him act in films like THE ROVER and GOOD TIME will make you wonder why he isn't an Oscar winner. 

 

The same can be said for HIGH LIFE. Pattinson is out of this world, (both literally and figuratively), in this space drama. His performance is powerful enough to carry a film that most people would consider too slow to be entertaining. Without him, this movie wouldn't be nearly as good as it is. 

 

This is not a film for everyone. It is dark, slow, and filled with long scenes of artsy imagery and things that elite art critics would call poignant and important. It is also a disturbing film. For much of the movie things just happen at the slow speed of space, but when things go bad, they go horrifically bad insanely fast. I remember the moment well, because all of us that were watching it started looking at each other and saying things like, "Wow, that went South so fast!"

 

This is a very artsy/fartsy, high brow, indie flick that will turn most people off, but if you are into dark and weird sci-fi films you have to give this one a chance. You may walk away from it with a new favorite film. 

Posted by on in Movie Reviews

THE CURSE OF LA LLORONA

Rated: R

Release Date: April 19, 2019

Director: Michael Chaves

Stars: Linda Cardellini, Marisol Ramirez, Raymond Cruz

Plot: Several families are terrorized by an evil ghost that craves children

Trailer

 

Clint Says: Wait for the digital release

 

 

The trailers for this film looked terrifying, and when I found out it was tangentially related to the CONJURING world ,and done by the same people, I was eagerly anticipating it.

 

Then I saw it.

 

Does it have a few scares and jumps and bumps? Yes. Will it terrify you to the point that you don't want to sleep alone? Not even close.

 

The scariest thing about this movie may be the clothes, because the whole thing is set in 1973. And we all know how horrifying 70's fashion was.

 

The film is only 90 minutes long, but because it is filled with tired cliches, drawn out scenes trying to build tension, and creepy people in creepy churches telling ghost stories that go on forever, it feels like this movie is more like 2 1/2 hours long.

 

Once you throw on top of that all of the insanely stupid things the characters do that nobody in real life would do, you end up with a pretty lame movie.

 

One good thing though is that the kid actors are great. The exorcist...not so much. He sounds like a Spanish-speaking Keanu Reeves.  It is very odd to watch.

 

This flick will give you a couple of good scares, but that's about it. The other 87 minutes are pretty much a waste of your time and money.

 

Posted by on in Movie Reviews

TEEN SPIRIT

Rated: PG-13

Release Date: April 19, 2019

Director: Max Minghella

Stars: Elle Fanning, Zlatko Buric, Agnieszka Grochowska

Plot: A poor farm girl tries for fame and freedom by auditioning for a major singing competition

Trailer

 

Clint Says: Save some money and see a matinee

 

 

While this isn't a bad film at all, it feels like it missed it's production window by about eight years. I know that singing competitions are still popular, but they are nothing now compared to a few years ago when they were just about the only thing people talked about when it came to TV.

 

Elle Fanning is incredible in this role. She pulls off a foreign accent, a foreign language, and she even sings all of the songs herself. For an actor to do any one of those things is pretty good, but to nail all three is exceptional.

 

The thing that bothered me most about this film is the tone. It's about a girl going to a massive singing competition, it should feel exciting and overwhelming, but instead the whole thing is toned down like we are on a morphine drip during our own birthday party.

 

I think this film could have been great if it was just a little more up and fast-paced. It is worth seeing just because of Fanning, but the story may leave you wanting more.

 

Posted by on in Movie Reviews

BREAKTHROUGH

Rated: PG

Release Date: April 17, 2019

Director: Roxann Dawson

Stars: Chrissy Metz, Topher Grace, Josh Lucas, Marcel Ruiz

Plot: A mother turns to God to help save her son after he suffers a tragic accident

Trailer

 

Clint Says: Save some money and see a matinee

 

 

About five minutes into this movie I was done. I'm sure Chrissy Metz is a wonderful person, but her acting in this movie was so bad I could barely handle to watch any more of it. Thankfully, I endured the painful start and was treated to a very good...not great....movie.

 

Fair warming to all of you that see this movie, bring a lot of tissues. You will be ugly crying at least three times and probably more. It is a highly emotional film that is willing to take you to the breaking point.

 

The story is told well, and the pacing is fine, but the only issue with the film is Metz. I was shocked at how bad her acting was. I've never seen THIS IS US, but I assumed she would be great since the show is such a hit. On the contrary, her acting would have been laughably bad had the subject matter of the film been less serious. That said, it's almost laughably bad anyway.

 

The rest of the cast does a fine job, and the emotional story is powerful and moving. This isn't a great film, but for a low budget movie they did a very fine job.

 

If you are ready to ugly cry, you may want to give this film a chance.

Posted by on in Movie Reviews

DISNEYNATURE PENGUINS

Rated: G

Release Date: April 17, 2019

Director: Alastair Fothergill, Jeff Wilson

Stars: Ed Helms

Plot: Camera crews follow a Penguin named Steve around the Antarctic while he searches for friendship and a mate

Trailer

 

Clint Says: Wait until after opening weekend, but see this in theaters

 

 

It's hard to believe, but this is the 10th DisneyNature film release. We've gone all over the globe with the team and now we get to see the incredible scenery of the Antarctic in PENGUINS.

 

The film follows the antics of a klutzy but adorable penguin named Steve. It shows his journeys, looking for a mate, and trying to raise a couple of kids in the world's harshest environment.

 

As with all of these movies, the cinematography is the true star. They are all beautifully shot, making the whole film a visual treat.

 

This film is fun, exciting, somewhat suspenseful, and great for the whole family. There are a couple of scenes that you may need to cuddle your more sensitive little ones, but most kids will be fine experiencing this film.

 

Make sure you stick around for the credits. To me this is always the best part of the movie. They show bloopers and how the penguins were filmed. It is a lot of fun and interesting to see how hard it is to get the shots that make these films so wonderful.

 

Posted by on in Movie Reviews

AFTER

Rated: PG-13

Release Date: April 12, 2019

Director: Jenny Gage

Stars: Josephine Langford, Hero Fiennes Tiffin

Plot: A sheltered girl heads to college and soon meets a bad boy that changes her world

Trailer

 

Clint Says: Wait for the digital release and make someone else rent it

 

 

Don't let the cover fool you, ladies and gentlemen. Once you get past the, "oh, that looks hot and steamy," you'll come to the realization that it is nothing more than just another in a long line of movie posters and book covers with two white people almost kissing. 

 

9 times out of 10 that means the content is going to be stupidly formulaic, poorly written, and dull. This film is all three of those things. 

 

There is zero chemistry between the lead characters, the dialogue is cringe-worthy, and the plot is so magnificently unbelievable that I spent most of the time looking at the person next to me and saying, "did they really just do THAT?"  The rest of the time was spent staring at my watch, begging it to go faster so I could escape this current misery.

 

There is barely anything in this movie that makes it worth seeing digitally, much less paying to see it in theaters.