Reviews Of What Is In Theaters Now

Recent blog posts

Posted by on in Movie Reviews

THE LION KING

Rated: PG

Release Date: July 19, 2019

Director: Jon Favreau

Stars: Donald Glover, Beyonce, Chiwetel Ejiofor, James Earl Jones

Plot: A young lion tries to find his way in life in order to be the king he was born to be

Trailer

 

Clint Says: Save some money and see a matinee

 

 

When Disney released the animated version of THE LION KING in 1994 it was a game-changer. It was innovative, beautiful, and an instant classic. Now, 25 years later, in the midst of Disney remaking many of their classics into live-action films, we return to Pride Rock, but it feels like we are Simba returning after Scar messed everything up.

 

This is one of those movies where the studio said, "We can do this!" But they never stopped to think if they should do it. This new version does nothing better than the original. In fact, it does a few things much worse. For example, this version clocks in just shy of 2 hours, so it feels really slow. Next, it adds a new song that is useless, boring, and totally out of place. Then, the love story between Simba and Nala does not play out well and feels rushed. Finally, all of the lions look the same, so it is really difficult to tell them apart in certain scenes.

 

Perhaps the most disappointing aspect of this film is that it is essentially a shot-for-shot remake of the original. There is no updated story line, there are no new and innovative scenes, and the songs feel off because they are sung in a different way than we have been singing them for 25 years.

 

And while I find Donald Glover to be a fantastic actor, this is not a good role for him. He makes Simba feel aloof and meek, even when he is standing his ground to become king. I don't necessarily think that it was his fault, but Director Jon Favreau should have done a better job of making Simba sound more leader like and authoritative. 

 

On the positive side, the movie is beautiful, and the animals are fun to watch, but there is nothing about this movie that makes it better than the original. Save yourself the money and the hassle of going to the theater and just watch the original at home.  

Posted by on in Movie Reviews

STUBER

Rated: R

Release Date: July 12, 2019

Director: Michael Dowse

Stars: Dave Bautista, Kumail Nanjiani, Natalie Morales

Plot: And undercover cop and a timid Uber driver team up to take down the bad guys

Trailer

 

Clint Says: Wait for the digital release

 

 

Dave Bautista is quickly becoming a perfect straight guy in comedies. He proved it in GUARDIANS OF THE GALAXY and he keeps it going in STUBER. Along with the continuous, hilarious one-liners from Kumail Nanjiani, these two have seriously funny on-screen chemistry.

 

The two characters are polar opposites, so we get the entertainment of their constant clashing and total misunderstanding of each other. It makes for several good moments, and allows the characters to grow throughout the story.

 

The film takes a good 30 minutes to really get going. Before that it is pretty slow and boring. But once it kicks in it is a funny ride to the end. Unfortunately, the jokes are just about all this movie has to offer. The story is mediocre, the mystery is too simple, and it feels too long even though it is only 90 minutes.

 

If you are just wanting a few good laughs, this film will hit the spot. If you are hoping for something funny and smart, you'll need to look elsewhere.

Posted by on in Movie Reviews

CRAWL

Rated: R

Release Date: July 12, 2019

Director: Alexandre Aja

Stars: Kaya Scodelario, Barry Pepper

Plot: A father and daughter are trapped in an alligator-infested house during a massive hurricane

Trailer

 

Clint Says: Save some money and see a matinee

 

 

Okay, let's be honest. This is a movie about two people trapped in the basement of a house, surrounded by alligators, during a category 5 hurricane. The whole thing is ridiculous from the word go. But, in this case, that is fine, because this movie knows exactly what it is and it stays in its lane. 

 

CRAWL has no plot to speak of, no character development, no twists and turns. It is simply a film filled with gratuitous alligator violence with a bunch of wind and rain thrown in, plus a few of Hollywood's finest extras for the sole purpose of becoming alligator food. 

 

This movie does a great job of playing on everyone's fear of being trapped in murky waters with a 17 foot monster ready to attack at the slightest provocation. It is filled with suspense for 85 of the 90 minutes. (The first five minutes is a sad attempt to try to create an actual story, but don't worry, that doesn't get in the way of the dinosaurs and their demolition derby).

 

If you want to go into this movie and enjoy it, just try to use the primitive alligator part of your brain. If you use any other part of your brain you'll be severely disappointed.

Posted by on in Movie Reviews

MIDSOMMAR

Rated: R

Release Date: July 3, 2019

Director: Ari Aster

Stars: Florence Pugh, Jack Reynor, William Jackson Harper

Plot: A couple travels to Sweden for a mid-summer festival, but the festivities are much darker than they could have ever imagined

Trailer

 

Clint Says: Wait for the digital release and make someone else rent it

 

 

Two and a half hours. 150 minutes. 10% of an entire day. That is how long this insane horror flick is. Another way to put it is about 60 minutes longer than any horror film should ever be. That isn't to say that this is a bad movie. In some respects it is a masterpiece. But for the average movie-goer, this is a psychotic, weird, waste of time.

 

This film uses light as it's main theme. And just like THE SHINING, this movie is filled with horrific things that you get to see in all of their hellish glory because the lights are always on. Some of the images would be much better off being in the shadows, but there is no such luck for us or the trapped stars of the film.

 

This is a true horror film, meaning that is isn't necessarily a scary movie, but it is filled with horrifying images and moments. From the first minute where the film starts to take a dark turn it never lets you rest until the lights turn on in the theater. The creepiness factor continues to rise throughout the film until it climaxes in a moment of true terror. 

 

This is not a movie for everyone. In fact, it is a movie for very few people. Basically, the only people that are going to "enjoy" (and I put that word in quotes on purpose, because nobody is really going to enjoy this film), are high brow, high art film lovers, and those that really like strange and grotesque horror films over the typical slasher films we see all the time. If you don't fall into one of those two categories, go ahead and skip this movie. You'll just be annoyed later on when you hate it and you are trying to get your money back after walking out a hour into it.

 

As I walked out of the theater I was thinking, "that was a wild movie that I never want to see again." Then I heard a woman talking with her friends and she said, "If anyone is thinking about seeing that movie, they shouldn't. That was awful." I have a feeling there are going to be a lot of conversations just like that all weekend long. 

Posted by on in Movie Reviews

SPIDER-MAN: FAR FROM HOME

Rated: PG-13

Release Date: July 2, 2019

Director: Jon Watts

Stars: Tom Holland, Zendaya, Jake Gyllenhaal, Samuel L. Jackson

Plot: Peter Parker goes on a European school trip, but a new threat emerges and he must take action

Trailer

 

Clint Says: Drop everything and see this in theaters now

 

 

It's been just a couple of months since AVENGERS: ENDGAME emotionally destroyed every comic book nerd on the planet. Now, we get the first story in the timeline after the events in ENDGAME. Tom Holland returns as the best Spider-Man ever and absolutely kills it with his post Tony Stark emotions. 

 

Once again the MARVEL people have done an outstanding job at taking a movie that could have easily been way too serious and made it exciting, fun and thoroughly enjoyable and funny. There wasn't a single note out of place.

 

Jake Gyllenhaal joins the MARVEL Universe as Mysterio, and while he probably won't be a major player in other MARVEL films, his character is exactly what Spider-Man needs to learn more of the valuable lessons Tony Stark was trying to teach him.  

 

This film is filled with fantastic action, fun dialogue, and a highly compelling story. It also has several beautifully awkward moments where Peter Parker tries to get closer to MJ. (And tries to keep Happy from moving in on Peter's aunt). It swings back and forth with the audience cheering for Spider-Man to save the world and then realizing that Spider-Man is just a kid who could really use a hug. 

 

This is easily the best live-action Spider-Man movie ever made. It has all of the elements of a wonderful comic book action film. This is a must-see for anyone that is even slightly interested in comic book movies. It might be the best action flick of the Summer. 

Posted by on in Movie Reviews

YESTERDAY

Rated: PG-13

Release Date: June 28, 2019

Director: Danny Boyle

Stars: Himesh Patel, Lily James, Ed Sheeran, Kate McKinnon

Plot: A man discovers, after a world-wide blackout, that he may be the only person on earth who knows about the band and the music of the Beatles

Trailer

 

Clint Says: Drop everything and go see this in theaters now

 

 

Rom-Coms aren't usually my favorite films to see, but I know a good one when I see it. This one goes far beyond good. It could very well be in my top 10 films of the year when 2019 comes to a close. I thoroughly enjoyed every minute of it. I was completely wrapped up in the story throughout the entire movie.

 

Himesh Patel is incredible in the lead role, but Lily James completely steals the show. As far as I'm concerned, she can do no wrong. Both actors are endearing and lovable within the first few minutes of the film. And better yet, I found myself cheering hard for them through the entire story. Their chemistry surged through the screen and into the theater.

 

I loved the fact that this is a very British film. There are several jokes that require a British sense of humor and the movie is filled with British slang terms. It was fun trying to figure out everything they were discussing.

 

The film is so well done that if there are any pacing issues they are very minor. The story is fun, exciting, funny, heartwarming, tragic, and beautiful. The characters all have their own voice and each brings something special to the story. And of course, this film has one of the best soundtracks of all time. 

 

If you are a Beatles fan, this is a must-see film. If you like Rom-Coms, this is a must-see film. If you love good movies, this is a must-see film. In fact, the only people who wouldn't like this movie are people that hate the Beatles, and I'm guessing that there aren't a lot of those people out there.

Posted by on in Movie Reviews

 

THE LAST BLACK MAN IN SAN FRANCISCO

Rated: R

Release Date: June 28, 2019

Director: Joe Talbot

Stars: Jimmie Fails, Jonathan Majors, Danny Glover

Plot: A young man tries to return to the heart of the city he loves, but it has pushed him out

Trailer

 

Clint Says: Wait until after opening weekend, but see this in theaters

 

 

Every once in a while a small-budget film comes along that has the ability to make a big splash. This might be that movie. While this isn't a mainstream style film, it is a beautiful and powerful snapshot of a city and its people. 

 

Jimmy Fails and Jonathan Majors are fantastic in their respective roles. Their portrayals are moving, heartbreaking, and inspiring. As the story unfolds we get the full essence of who they are, what they stand for, and where they want to go. 

 

The visual elements are stunning and relate perfectly to the tone and pace of the movie. There are several scenes that look like they were pulled right from a Broadway stage, while others look like they sneaked in a quick scene with just the actors, director, and his smart phone. 

 

My only issue with this movie is the continuity. There are several scenes where things are out of place from cut to cut. A perfect example being when several guys are trying to act tough on a street corner. As the scene cuts back and forth on guy is wearing a hood then he's not, then it's back, and so on. Simple things like that drive me crazy in film because they are so easily fixable. But if that is my only issue, then this is an outstanding film worthy of your time and money.

Posted by on in Movie Reviews

ANNABELLE COMES HOME

Rated: R

Release Date: June 26, 2019

Director: Gary Dauberman

Stars: Mckenna Grace, Madison Iseman, Katie Sarife, Vera Farmiga

Plot: A girl unwittingly releases the evils the Warrens have locked away in a room of horrors

Trailer

 

Clint Says: Wait for the digital release

 

 

Since 2013 we have seen half a dozen films hit the theater in the CONJURING universe. The CONJURING films were flat out terrifying. ANNABELLE: CREATION was pretty good and very scary. The rest have been below average to terrible. This one falls in the "below average" category. 

 

One of the things that made the CONJURING films so horrifying is that they were based in the real life accounts of Ed and Lorraine Warren. Now, it seems like the film studio has decided to expand the universe in a much less realistic way, but probably one that is more commercial. 

 

This film essentially takes parts from several of the Warren accounts, puts them all together, and allows one ridiculously stupid teenager to unleash the demons of hell locked within by doing something ridiculous and stupid. 

 

Is this movie scary? Yes...to a degree. It's more of a jump scare movie than anything really terrifying. That said, it does have a couple of moments that are very creepy and done well. 

 

Is this a good movie? Nope...not even close. It's stupid people doing stupid things instead of smart people doing the smart thing and still winding up in trouble. 

 

If you want a couple of scares this movie will satisfy, but this isn't one that is going to be in the top 10 of anyone's horror list. 

 

Posted by on in Movie Reviews

ANNA

Rated: R

Release Date: June 21, 2019

Director: Luc Besson

Stars: Sasha Luss, Helen Mirren, Luke Evans, Cillian Murphy

Plot: A government assassin, doubling as a model, tries to find a way out of her dangerous life

Trailer

 

Clint Says: Wait for the digital release

 

 

 

What do you get when you make an action film starring real supermodels? A very pretty picture with some of the worst acting you've ever seen. It feels like they worked with Sasha Luss for months on her martial arts skills and discussed the art of acting over lunch one day.

 

To be fair, this movie does have several exciting moments, and it almost has a smart plot. Unfortunately, it is done in a way that is both annoying and one where the viewer stands no chance at figuring out the twists. One of the big things that make mystery movies so great is being able to go back and see what you missed that would have let you figure it out before the hero. 

 

Aside from those few good moments this is a pretty bad film. The hero never does anything to endear her to us, so it is difficult to care what happens to her along the way. The timeline jumps around in a clunky way that throws the pacing off completely. And the acting is so bad that I'm not kidding when I say we've all seen better performances in a middle school play. (NOTE: The bad acting in this film does not include Helen Mirren, Luke Evans, or Cillian Murphy. They all do an excellent job with the terrible scripts they were given).

 

This is the kind of film where it can be enjoyable if you check your brain at the door, and know going into it that it's an above average very bad movie. At least then you can laugh at the bad acting rather than be annoyed by it. 

 

Whatever you do though, don't go into this film thinking it is going to be stupid fun like the FAST AND FURIOUS films, because it takes itself too seriously to be fun. Also, don't think that it is going to be another JOHN WICK or JASON BOURNE because it isn't anywhere near as smart or as good as those movies. If you go into it with the mindset of, let's see a supermodel kick the snot out of 50 bad guys, then you will probably be okay with seeing it. If you are expecting anything more you are going to be disappointed. 

Posted by on in Movie Reviews

TOY STORY 4

Rated: PG

Release Date: June 21, 2019

Director: Josh Cooley

Stars: Tom Hanks, Tim Allen, Annie Potts, Tony Hale

Plot: Woody and his friends must do everything they can to find and return Forky, Bonnie's favorite toy, to her

Trailer

 

Clint Says: Drop everything and go see this in theaters now

 

 

It's hard to believe, but it has been nine years since the last TOY STORY film hit the big screen.

 

It was worth the wait.

 

This new film is another classic in what could be considered one of the best kids' movie franchises ever. It's not the best of the four, but it will be for some people.

 

Perhaps the best part of this movie is the addition of the new characters. Of course we have Forky, voiced by the hilarious Tony Hale. He is central to the plot and gives us a fun new take on learning that he is a toy. We also get to meet Duke Caboom, Canadian Stuntman, played by Keanu Reeves. To say that Keanu is on a hot streak right now would be an understatement. And he proves it once again by voicing a bit character that steals every scene he is in. Finally, we are introduced to Ducky and Bunny, voiced by Keegan-Michael Key and Jordan Peele. Their impromptu banter is fantastically funny and steals the whole movie.

 

While the story may seem similar to the other films, (one character gets lost and the rest have to rescue them), this one feels and is different. There is some pretty amazing character development going on for a kids' movie, as well as some pretty deep philosophical thoughts, but it all plays well for the younger crowd.

 

As with the former TOY STORY films this one will have you laughing until your jaw hurts, but it will also have you crying into your bucket of popcorn. And I'm not talking happy little tears during a sentimental moment. No, I'm talking three-tissue, ugly sobbing. So come prepared.

 

If you are looking for something to do with the kids this week, this has to be your #1 choice. You don't want to miss out on one of the best movies of the Summer, and possibly the best animated film of the year. 

Posted by on in Movie Reviews

CHILD'S PLAY (2019)

Rated: R

Release Date: June 21, 2019

Director: Lars Klevberg

Stars: Aubrey Plaza, Mark Hamill, Gabriel Bateman, Brian Tyree Henry

Plot: A mother gives her son a gift, but there is more to the doll than they bargained for

Trailer

 

Clint Says: Wait for the digital release and make someone else rent it

 

 

When the original CHILD'S PLAY came out in 1988 it was new, creative, and unique. It wasn't a great film, but at least it was something we hadn't seen before. Fast forward 31 years and we get a reboot that feels old, unimaginative, and tired. There have been so many possessed doll movies, (including another one that comes out in theaters next week), that the whole concept has become cliche.

 

Even with the modern day updates this isn't a scary movie in any way. It does get a little creepy and a lot gory, but never scary. This is much more of a slasher flick than something that could be considered horror.

 

The only saving grace in the whole movie is Brian Tyree Henry. Without him as the funny detective this movie would be useless. Usually Aubrey Plaza steals the show, but her character was given nothing to work with making me wonder why she was wasted in this role. 

 

If you need to be scared by a doll, wait a week for ANNABELLE COMES HOME, because the only thing scary about CHILD'S PLAY is how much you will pay to see a bad movie. 

 

Posted by on in Movie Reviews

MEN IN BLACK: INTERNATIONAL

Rated: PG-13

Release Date: June 14, 2019

Director: F. Gary Gray

Stars: Tessa Thompson, Chris Hemsworth, Emma Thompson, Liam Neeson

Plot: A woman discovers the existence of MIB and then is tasked with saving the world in her very first mission

Trailer

 

Clint Says: Wait until after opening weekend, but see this in theaters

 

 

 

 

It's hard to believe, but the first MIB film came out 22 years ago. And it is still a classic. I watch it every chance I get. I was really hoping this new installment in the franchise would have me just as excited. And it almost did. 

 

While it may not live up to the popularity of its predecessor, it is still a very good film and one that is perfect for getting out of the Summer heat and enjoying a large bucket of popcorn.

 

Chris Hemsworth is at his Hemsworthian best. (I think they pay him based on the number of half-wink, half-smile faces he makes). He has great banter and chemistry with a lot of the characters including the character played by Tessa Thompson. But we already knew that they were great together on screen because of THOR: RAGNAROK and AVENGERS: ENDGAME.

 

The only thing I didn't like about this film is that I figured out the big twist really early on in the movie. I was hoping I would be wrong, but it ended up being exactly what I thought it was. Aside from that small annoyance, everything else was a lot of fun. The film is filled with fun throwbacks to the original, but it also gives Hemsworth and Thompson room to make this new MIB film their own. 

 

If you are looking for a great Summer flick, you should give this one a chance. You might even want to take the older kids with you, once you've seen it and made sure it isn't too much for them. 

Posted by on in Movie Reviews

LATE NIGHT

Rated: R

Release Date: June 14, 2019

Director: Nisha Ganatra

Stars: Emma Thompson, Mindy Kaling, John Lithgow

Plot: A young, aspiring comedy writer goes to work for a late night talk show host near the end of her career

Trailer

 

Clint Says: Wait for the digital release

 

 

One would think that a film about a late night comedy show would be filled with comedy. One would also think that a movie written by  Mindy Kaling, who wrote several of the best episodes of THE OFFICE, would be smart as well as funny.

 

One would think those things, but one would be wrong.

 

Unfortunately, this film is barely funny and so formulaic that it loses all of its own character. It is also filled with ridiculously flimsy circumstances just so our hero can knock them out of the way with unrealistic ease.

 

Ironically, in a movie about girl power, the best thing is the character played by John Lithgow. He is wonderful, lovable, and dispenses timely and appropriate advice throughout the film. Without him the film would be too harsh.

 

The film is also very slow and has several pacing issues. It felt like we were skipping over important chunks of time and information. Then it felt like we were dragging through every detail of information that didn't matter. I was already checking my watch 40 minutes into the movie.

 

The character arcs were strange as well. It was like everybody stayed the same for the first 3/4 of the film then everyone changed all at once as the end approached. And the main character didn't really change at all.

 

This isn't a terrible film, but if you are expecting a lot of laughs, this movie will not deliver. You may just want to wait for the comfort of your own couch to watch LATE NIGHT...just like most of us do with real late night shows.

 

Posted by on in Movie Reviews

SHAFT

Rated: R

Release Date: June 14, 2019

Director: Tim Story

Stars: Samuel L. Jackson, Regina Hall, Jessie T. Usher, Alexandra Shipp

Plot: The son of Shaft needs the help of his estranged father when his best friend gets into trouble

Trailer

 

Clint Says: Save some money and see a matinee

 

 

If you are old enough to remember the Richard Roundtree SHAFT films from the 70's then you will be happy to know that this movie does a good job of paying homage to them, while still making itself relevant to 2019.

 

I was surprised by the humor throughout. I figured there would be a couple of laughs thrown in to lighten the mood, but this movie is really funny. In fact, there were more jokes in this movie than in some of the comedies that have come out recently.

 

The only thing I didn't like was that the mystery and the solving of the mystery were too straightforward and formulaic. I was hoping for more twists and turns, but instead it's a no-nonsense who-done-it.

 

This film does a fantastic job of using the music to it's advantage. There is one scene where the main action gets interrupted, at that point the music stops dead, the characters deal with the nuisance, and then, as they get back to the point of the scene, the music ramps up again like it's being played on a record player.

 

Overall, this is a fun, funny film with a decent mystery and a little bit of suspense. If you are a fan of Samuel L. Jackson then you have to see this movie. The same goes if you are a fan of the original SHAFT flicks. It's a good summer film where you can relax, be entertained, and not have to use your brain too much for a couple of hours.

Posted by on in Movie Reviews

THE DEAD DON'T DIE

Rated: R

Release Date: June 14, 2019

Director: Jim Jarmusch

Stars: Bill Murray, Adam Driver, Steve Buscemi, Danny Glover

Plot: A small, quiet town turns into the epicenter of the zombie apocalypse

Trailer

 

Clint Says:

 

Wait for the digital release and make someone else rent it

 

 

I am a huge fan of zombie apocalypse flicks. Movies like ZOMBIELAND, SHAUN OF THE DEAD, and ANNA AND THE APOCALYPSE are films that I could just about watch on repeat. Therefore, I was annoyingly excited when I saw the trailer for this movie. The plot, the cast, the music, what could possibly go wrong? I told everybody who was listening to watch the trailer, and when I had YouTube readily available I would make them watch it with me. (Hence the "annoying" part.)

 

Then I saw the movie.

 

*Does THE PRICE IS RIGHT loser sound*

 

Oh, how I wish I could get that time back. Oh, how I wish this movie had been so much better. Oh, how I wish this movie was even slightly good.

 

It's not.

 

The overarching emotion shared by all characters from the opening moment to the end credits was "MEH". There were shockingly few moments where anyone did anything with any sort of passion or energy. The whole thing just rolls along on a very slow, very even path.

 

The whole film is slow and repetitive. One example being three people see the same thing at different times, then they all have the exact same conversation. It has the potential to be funny, but for the most part it is just annoying because it is so slow.

 

Finally, this movie is very meta. If you aren't sure what that means, basically it means that the movie is self aware that it is a movie. (Like the scene in SPACEBALLS where they are watching the VHS version of the movie to see where the Princess is going). If you like that kind of thing, there are a couple of moments that will have you laughing hard. If you hate that kind of humor, be prepared to be severely annoyed.

 

If you want to see an amazing version of this film, just watch the trailer and be happy. If you are unlucky enough to see the full length version, you'll be wishing zombies were real and would eat your brain about 40 minutes in.

Posted by on in Movie Reviews

THE SECRET LIFE OF PETS 2

Rated: PG

Release Date: June 7, 2019

Director: Chris Renaud, Jonathan del Val

Stars: Patton Oswalt, Kevin Hart, Tiffany Haddish, Harrison Ford

Plot: The dogs have a kid in the house now and are doing everything they can to protect him

Trailer

 

Clint Says: Wait until after opening weekend, but see this in theaters

 

 

Here is all you need to know about this movie. My young daughter is a much harsher movie critic than I am. I loved this film and so did she. Therefore this may be one of the greatest movies ever made.

 

Okay, that's taking it too far, but it is a very good movie.

 

There are two greatest things about this film, First, it is laugh out loud funny. There are tons of jokes and sight gags for kids and adults. Several times during the screening I attended the entire crowd was laughing. Even my hard to please child was doubled over with laughter on a couple of occasions.

 

Second, it is mercifully short for parents. The running time is listed at 86 minutes. And because the pacing is fast and even, the time flies by. I never felt like I was bored. The short time also has another benefit. I didn't see a steady stream of parents chasing after their kids on the way to the bathroom. It seems we may have scientifically proven that young children can watch an 86 minute long film without needing a potty break as long as the movie is really good.

 

This sequel was also much less dark than the first one. You may recall the first film had several pretty scary and suspenseful moments for younger kids. This one still has some of that, but overall it is much more lighthearted and fun.

 

If you are looking for a good reason to get the kids out of the house for a couple of hours this is a great way to spend the time. You'll laugh a lot and you won't feel like you've wasted your time or money.

 

Posted by on in Movie Reviews

DARK PHOENIX

Rated: PG-13

Release Date: June 7, 2019

Director: Simon Kinberg

Stars: Sophie Turner, James McAvoy, Michael Fassbender, Jennifer Lawrence

Plot: One of the X-Men gains cosmic powers and turns against her former friends

Trailer

 

Clint Says: Wait for the digital release

 

 

I can't recall being this bored or non-caring about a movie in a long time. It's less than two hours long, but it felt like it lasted so much longer. The plot was terrible, the pacing was off, and there was no chemistry between the characters. 

 

It got so bad at one point that I mentally checked out of the movie for about 10 minutes. I just sat there in a daze not paying attention to anything that happened on the screen. And I have no desire to go back and see what I missed.

 

MARVEL is usually so good at plot, I don't understand why this one got away from them like it did. The only thing that happens in this movie happens at least five different times and none of the characters learn from it. By the second time it happened we should have seen growth from some of the characters and a plan coming from others. Instead, we have to endure the same thing again three more times.

 

The whole film was dreadfully slow as well. When there wasn't action on the screen the time was filled with monotonous conversations where everyone feels like an angsty teen, but refuses to let the emotion take over. 

 

It was also way too serious. I know the content of this particular film made it a much more serious story, but good grief, give us some comic relief. I can recall only one joke in the whole movie, and it was a throw-away line that wasn't very good. AVENGERS: ENDGAME was a very serious movie as well, but it had a lot of comedic moments. It can be done. This movie just chose not to do it, and that was a mistake. 

 

There isn't any way I could recommend seeing this movie, but if you've already seen the others in the series you might as well check this one out, too. For those of you that haven't seen the other X-Men films, just skip this one. 

 

Posted by on in Movie Reviews

GODZILLA: KING OF THE MONSTERS

Rated: PG-13

Release Date: May 31, 2019

Director: Michael Dougherty

Stars: Kyle Chandler, Vera Farmiga, Millie Bobby Brown, Ken Wantanabe

Plot: A vigilante group finds a way to release all of the titans, causing mass destruction all over the world

Trailer

 

Clint Says: If you are a fan of monster movies, see this in theaters. If not, skip it.

 

 

This film can be summed up in one sentence. It is a lot of humans doing colossally stupid things allowing the monsters ample opportunity to destroy everything and fight each other.

 

If you read that sentence and said, "Sounds good to me," then you should go see this movie immediately. If your response was anything short of that, then do anything else.

 

This is a check-your-brain-at-the-door popcorn flick. The plot is so insanely stupid that it really feels like it is in the way of us just being able to enjoy the battles. For those of you that are MMA, boxing, or wrestling fans, the plot in this film is like enduring the 25 minutes of filler between the fights. Sometimes you get a good moment or two, but for the most part it's just annoying and a great opportunity to go to the bathroom.

 

It's sad that they didn't bother to make this movie any smarter. Movies like PACIFIC RIM prove you can make a monster movie that is smart, has great character development, and a compelling plot. This film has none of that.

 

The upside is that the fight scenes are incredible. The sights and sounds are exciting and entertaining, and there are a lot of fights in this movie.  The downside is there are usually several helpless humans below them, (oddly enough, it's almost always the same group of people), and we don't care about any of them because the character development is so bad.

 

I saw this movie with a huge Godzilla fan and a couple of 12 year old boys. You'd think they all would have considered this to be Best Picture material, but all three of them were just okay with it. Even the 12 year olds picked up on how thin the plot was.

 

If you go, just enjoy the monster bash. Do not engage your brain at all. If you do you will be severely disappointed.

 

Posted by on in Movie Reviews

ROCKETMAN

Rated: R

Release Date: May 31, 2019

Director: Dexter Fletcher

Stars: Taron Egerton, Jamie Bell, Richard Madden, Bryce Dallas Howard

Plot: This follows the private life and flamboyant career of Elton John

Trailer

 

Clint Says: Wait until after opening weekend, but see this in theaters

 

 

This is one of the more unique films I've seen in the last several years. It took me a good 30 minutes before I adjusted to the flashback-to-musical-to-narrative style, but once I got used to it I really enjoyed the movie.

 

Taron Egerton proves once again that he is one of the elite actors in Hollywood. He transforms into Elton John, and he delivers a very impressive musical performance as well by singing all of the songs in the movie. As one of my film critic friends said, "If Rami Malek can win a best actor Oscar while lip syncing along to Queen songs and playing Freddie Mercury, then Taron Egerton deserves TWO best actor Oscars for this performance."

 

Perhaps the best aspect of this film is how it plays out just like Elton John. The private life scenes feel very intimate and vulnerable, while the public scenes are over the top and wildly flamboyant. But the real success is that, as the movie goes on, you can see the uncomfortable, introverted Elton john in a massive battle with his public persona, even as he is performing before large audiences.

 

It seems like the director listened to all of the criticisms people had of BOHEMIAN RHAPSODY and fixed them in this movie, but still made it original and compelling.

 

If you are a fan of Elton John this is a must see movie. If you don't know anything about one of the greatest pop artists of all time this film is a great place to start.

Posted by on in Movie Reviews

MA

Rated: R

Release Date: May 31, 2019

Director: Tate Taylor

Stars: Octavia Spencer, Diana Silvers, Juliette Lewis, McKaley Miller

Plot: A single woman allows high schoolers to party at her house, but her plans aren't as innocent as they seem

Trailer

 

Clint Says: Wait for the digital release

 

 

This film is classified as a horror film, but don't let that fool you into thinking this is some ridiculous teen slasher film. It's not. It actually fits more into the original style of horror films where the things that happen are horrific, not necessarily scary. In fact, there are very few scares in this movie, and the ones that are there are forced and useless.

 

I was excited for this movie when I saw the trailer. It looked like it was going to be smart and creepy. It delivers on the creepy, but not so much on the smart. It tries to be smart, but it misses the mark. The pivotal moment, which plays out in flashback throughout the movie so we just get little bits of it until the climax of the film, is terrible, but it isn't something that would cause the mayhem we see in this film.

 

The acting is slightly better than we see in typical horror films, but it isn't anything special. The plot is fine, for the most part, but it could easily have been more compelling and believable. And the pacing is all over the place, causing this 90-minute movie to feel a lot longer.

 

If you are in the mood to be creeped out, this movie will get you there. However, it isn't a movie that you will remember a few months from now. It's one of those films that is okay to see once and then forget about it almost as soon as you finish it.